We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Cher Du Monde to your Saves list
Le Cher Du Monde
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good value and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My hubby and I just got back from 9 nights staying here and we were very happy. Biggest Pro was the location, right in the middle of the main strip with the beach at one end and Marina at the other. Was mostly quiet except for a few nights when the backpackers nearby were being noisy. We stayed in room 28 on the upper balcony overlooking the pool. We personally didnt find the pool very inviting, so we didnt use it. I did however use the spa bath a couple of times, very nice! Room was very clean, but its a studio where you need to close the louvered doors to separate the bedroom from the rest of the apartment. Also, i didnt realise until i got there that there was no oven, only a stove and microwave. Rae at reception booked us our Wavelength reef trip and organised a change of towels/bedding half way thu our stay. Overall i recommend this accomodation if you are wanting clean and simple close to everything!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    75
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
181
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Beautiful location, very central in port douglas. Gorgeous apartment overlooking the pool,great spa bath, very spacious apartment, Rea the owner was very helpful, sorted out all our day trips, wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We've been to Port Douglas many times, this time we decided to stay in the heart of the Port, metres either direction, to the Port, wharf or beach. We picked Le Cher for its location. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Rae and shown to our apartment. In a low rise our apartment was surrounded by tropical plants, it was private, very clean, modern, fresh and delightful open plan. A delightful stay, with a flexible late check out for a very small charge. We'll be back. Thanks rae.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in room 22 last weekend and I was very impressed with the standard and cleanliness of the room. We had a fantastic view of the pool from this second floor room (best in the hotel!) and the room itself was large with a huge king size bed and a lovely balcony with table and chairs. The bathroom was great as well with good water pressure in the shower/bath. The room was fairly quiet although you could hear people talking if they were in the corridor (although it wasn't that loud). The pool was quite small but very nice with sun chairs to sit on and was never busy (no more than 6 people were seen at any one time).

It is right in the centre of Port Douglas and Rae on reception was very helpful with advice on what to do and helped to organise a return transfer back to the airport. The only thing that I noticed was that there didn't always seem to be someone on reception and it was often closed or unattended whenever I walked past, especially in the afternoons.

Overall, I would definitey recommend it as a clean, quiet and spacious hotel which is very central and in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

From the street I thought, Oh No, But wow we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room which overlooked the swimming pool and BBQ area. The rooms are well set out and although not plush, very comfortable. Great value for money and as said before Location is great. Rae and Gordon are the best hosts that you could wish for, very obliging and good for a bit of a chat about what to do in the area, bookings through the Cher Du Monde is no problem at all. I would Highly reccomend to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We booked using WOTIF a few days before our stay and immediately decided on booking an extra night when we got there. Very clean, comfortable accomodation which appeared to have been recently decorated. Situated on the main street of Port Douglas with the beach and bars on the doorstep but with no disturbing noise. Would definately book again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Le Cher Du Monde is like a Mediterranean paradise in the centre of Port Douglas. I am a travel agent and usually stay in 5* modern hotels but decided to stay at Le Cher Du Monde due to previous reviews and its location and I am not in anyway disappointed!
When we first arrived we were greeted by Rae & Gordon who explained a little about the local area and then showed us to our room.
We had an apartment on the top floor (only 2 floors high) overlooking the pool. The apartment was great, the bathroom had a spa bath, our bedroom had a comfortable king bed and air conditioning and then we had a massive living room with a nice balcony overlooking the pool.
The pool area is amazing, it is an oasis and you would never think you are in the middle of Port Douglas and at night it lights up and is the perfect place to have a bbq.
The location is the best you can get, right in the middle of the main shopping area and within walking distanct to both the marina and the beach. I aggree with another traveller that after you go on tours and see how far out some other hotels are, you truly appreciate how good this location is.
This is definitely the place to stay and is one of the most memorable places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cher Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.