We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many restaurants within walking distance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Cher Du Monde to your Saves list
Le Cher Du Monde
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Many restaurants within walking distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Every thing was there in the kitchen and we enjoyed cooking breakfast in the morning and sitting out on the balcony chilling out. The rooms were ultra clean.Nice king size bed and large bathroom with spa bath. Car parking under the building was free and also out of the sun. Many restaurants and hotels all within walking distance.Tours could be arranged at front reception with pick up. No need to drive anywhere. Would stay again at this venue again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    75
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
183
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me & my husband stayed at Le Cher in May 2013 for 7 nights. We went for my husbands birthday & our anniversary & we had a very enjoyable experience. We were very central to all amenities & a short walk to four mile beach or the marina. Would definitely stay there again & highly recommend it. Rae was very helpful & happily booked our excursions for us nothing was too much trouble for her. Can't wait to go back there soon.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which is very quiet & we had no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just finished a 3 night stay. Very nice unit and even though we were in a room facing the road no street noise got into the room. Can't say the same for the bloody birds, screeching away morning and night.
The unit is spacious and has everything you need and is located right in the heart of Macrossan St with easy access to pubs, shops and restaurants.
Undercover parking is also supplied. No free wifi.
PS, BYO toilet paper, you only get one roll. No replacements. And you have to take out your own trash when you leave.
Would still defo stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuboporsche, Manager at Le Cher Du Monde, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for the review,glad you enjoyed your stay,the apartments are self catering,but a spare toilet roll is always supplied and kept in the vanity drawer, we apologize if this was missing in your unit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at Le Cher again earlier this month (May 2013). Love it everytime we come here. Wish we had been able to stay longer. Port Douglas is a great location and Le Cher is in the perfect position to enjoy it - right in the heart of the restaurants and shops, easy walk to the Marina, 4 mile beach, and the inlet.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed again recently at Le Cher Du Monde and as usual it was an enjoyable stay. Just love the place and the location. Right in the centre of town this facility is fantastic. can't wait to visit again

Room Tip: All good, maybe at th eback is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Le Cher Du Monde - the couple that manage the building were always friendly and easy to deal with. Our room looked onto the well maintained pool - it was quiet, clean and had air conditioning. Because we had a nicely equipped little kitchen, we bought groceries at the store across the street to help with costs on our trip. We commented that we liked staying on the main street because we could head out anytime to wander without being too far to walk like some of the other larger resorts in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice place with convenient off street underground parking. Second floor room which was spacious and nice bathroom. Our room faced onto the main road but thanks to the double glazing it was soundproof. Nice pool area ideal for cooling off on a hot day. Location is ideal for all Port Douglas attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cher Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.