We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay after a shaky start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Cher Du Monde to your Saves list
Le Cher Du Monde
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A good stay after a shaky start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

A late flight meant a late arrival so no one to meet us. It's not easy to find even though it's on the main street and we struggled to find our key then room. Initially we found all the rules and regulations very off putting but after a while realised that they didn't inconvenience us much and meant that standards are maintained. The room had everything we needed and we were perfectly located for shops, bars and restaurants. Nice pool area although we didn't make much use of it during our 5 days. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    64
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
151
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Right in the heart of Port Dougas, Le Cher Du Monde was everything we had hoped for. The apartment was self contained with living area,kitchenette and shuttered off bedroom/bathroom. We had a delightful balcony with a short flight of steps to the pool - like our own private retreat. The owners, Bob and Rae, were very welcoming and helpful. Bliss!

Room Tip: Overlooking the private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My Partner and I just returned from a three night stay at Le Cher Du Monde for the Australia Day weekend and found it great. We got a great deal and were a bit worried about what we had gotten ourselves into as this was on the cheaper side of accommodation. We were however very happy with what we arrived to. We arrived late after reception had closed but on ringing the hotel from the airport my partner spoke to one of the owners that directed us on how to get into the apartment which was not a drama at all. The apartment was private and had everything we need including a well running aircon (thank goodness) as the humidity was crazy. The lady at reception was extremely friendly also. I do agree that maybe if you are elderly with a lot of luggage you may have a little trouble with getting up the stairs but we are a young couple so this didn't affect us at all. As for the extra towels and toilet paper you need to pay for I don't think that is a biggy considering how reasonably priced the well sized apartments are. All in all the positives well outweighed any negatives. Oh and like the other reviews have said you can't beat the location. We have already spoken about returning with maybe a group to stay again. Thanks Le Cher Du Monde.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Just had a nice stay for three nights. Quiet, great location, friendly staff and a good value. You can walk to Coles, 4-mile beach, restaurants, and all the shops. And it was getting refurbished when I left, so it will be a bit nicer. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Right in the centre of Port Douglas, this property was not only convenient for walking everywhere, it was clean, quiet and cooled from the air-conditioning. Lovely tropical pool with our balcony overlooking. Kitchen facilities were very handy, as were the restaurants. There was a KIng bed in an en suited room that closes off with a pully wall if you need it, and a couch that folds out to a double bed. We were a couple with a small baby in a cot, and my mother in law on the couch, It was perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently stayed at Le Cher and would have to say it is excellent value for money.Clean well maintained rooms,great owners,central to everything.The rooms are self catering with their own kitchen facilities and good air conditioning for the warm climate.Very desirable location if you want to walk to the resturants and activities available in Port Douglas.We would stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If your elderly or have a bad back this is not the apartment for you. Le Cher Du Monde has no lift and as a result getting your bags to the apartment is hard work.
The rubbish has to be taken out by the tenant to the basement and they request that all rubbish is cleared from the apartment and dishes done before you check out.
The apartment is only serviced once a week and then it is only the towels and linen that are replaced, if you want more than the one roll of toilet paper or soap supplied replaced you have to pay for it.
The apartments are clean and basically furnished, the bed lacks support and if your partner moves during the night you are awakened.
The apartment is well located and within walking distances to all the shopping and attractions Port Douglas has to offer. The Courthouse hotel offers dinner specials from Monday to Wednesday at $15.90 for a main course, the Iron Bar also has early dining specials prior to 6:30pm.

My best for eating
The Tin Shed at the Combined Services Club, breakfast $8.90 or the big breakfast $12.90, on the waterfront dinning
The Yacht Club, Seafood basket $18.90, on the waterfront dinning.
The Surf Lifesaving Club, Salt and Pepper calamari $17 main course, on the beach dinning
The Courthouse Hotel, T- bone Steak Tuesday night $15.90 opposite the park.

Things we did,
Aquarius Reef snorkelling, great catamaran, good service and food, $233 person.
Norseman reef fishing, great fishing, variety of large fish caught by everyone on board, $215 per person including lunch, drinks at bar prices.
Mossman Gorge, approx. 20 Kms from Port Douglas, drive to the Mossman Gorge Information Centre and then pay $4:80 per person for a bus transfer to the Gorge walkway which doesn't require you to be an athlete to complete, it's about a 20 to 30 minute walk.

Car hire, Apex Car Hire Cairns $42 per day all inclusive,Hyundai i20 , good clean and modern cars. The drive to Port Douglas from Cairns Airport is about 65 kms along a lovely scenic road.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor apartments near the pool gates due to the noise of people returning to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cher Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.