We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to look any further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Freestyle Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No need to look any further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Looking for a clean, comfortable hotel/apartment in a central location in Port Douglas? You don't need to look any further than Freestyle! My family (husband and 2 kids) spent a week in this wonderful apartment-styled hotel in mid July 2014 and enjoyed our experience greatly. We had a 2-bedroom apartment that overlooked the pool, and was way above expectations in terms of style and layout. Host Anne Moore said the buildings had just been refurbished and it showed! Anne couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, giving us lots of suggestions and recommendations in terms of restaurants and activities and service providers, and helping us book different activities. Freestyle is a 5 minute walk from Four Mile Beach and a few more minutes to the central street of shops and restaurants (Macrossan Street) and was a great base for us to visit Daintree and surrounds. The only suggestion I would make is to perhaps heat the pool....it was very cold and as a result, we didn't spend a lot of time poolside....given that we were so close to the beach, we spent a lot more time there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    102
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
154
249
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Freestyle and were delighted with the experience. Our apartment was extremely comfortable, clean and quiet. The location was perfect, with an easy walk to town, beach or marina. The owners, Anne and Jason couldn't have been more helpful and provided us with great advice on things to do. If we are lucky enough to return to Port Douglas, Freestyle Resort will be the first place I try to book.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were originally hoping to stay at the Pullman Sea Temple on my Accor card for this special occasion, but being school holidays, unfortunately it was all booked out. My partner had visited Freestyle a couple times before and suggested that although it was in a different class, it was probably the next best thing in Port Douglas. He wasn’t wrong. Freestyle is the perfect boutique Resort for a quiet, clean and comfortable getaway. It’s location is better too - within perfect walking distance to Macrossant Street and the Marina - just lovely to enjoy the warm evening walks at this time of year, after a big meal. You will also appreciate not having to pay $5 each-way and suffer the long waits from those other places that are a little out of town, although the bus stop is just across the road and convenient when you do need it.

Architecturally, Freestyle is charming with an authentic tropical resort-styling. Co-designed and built by owners Jason and Anne, it’s hard to explain, except to say that each space I found myself in, felt REALLY comfortable …and you will lack nothing as Anne arranges everything from airport transfers to and from Cairns, flight details, even bookings for events, attractions and restaurants. Both are very knowledgeable on the local scene thrilling us with the extra details so often needed to fully organise, understand and appreciate the services and activities in any new town.

Thank you both again for taking all the stress and guesswork out of our itinerary …
Happily, this resort is uber-clean. The rooms are really just like a home away from home. The beds are firm and the apartments well-sized with all the mod-cons; foxtel, wi-fi, air-conditioning, iron, hairdryer and a host of thoughtful little extra’s like a clothing rack on the balcony for those wet towels, bathing costumes and wet suits.

There is a free internet computer for guest use in the Island-style open-air lobby, it’s a little slow but just enough to upload a holiday snap or two and/or to check an email, but not enough to keep you there all day.

The grounds are spectacular, immaculate and lush with a very relaxed tropical atmosphere all around the resort and cared for weekly by a dedicated team … very well balanced like a spa resort. The pool design is gorgeous, inviting and again … distinctive. I must comment on the rooms … ours was designed in a way that is hard to explain with the wooden-louvered sliding-door concealing the bedroom in a way that means no light in the morning, ensuring a long sleep in. Delightful! The furniture is well appointed and modern and the two story apartments are brilliant for families or small groups.

Anne and Jason are remarkable caretakers and hosts and Freestyle resort is one of the most relaxing places we have visited. We really enjoyed our three-night stay. We would highly recommend it to anyone who prefers a quiet non-over commercialised resort (like the Mirage or Sea Temple) as the best in its class for value, comfort and laid-back atmosphere. We will be back.

Room Tip: Wi-fi may be faster than the free internet computer in reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I just spent five nights with my twelve year old twins at Freestyle and we had a wonderful stay. Anne and Jay are great, helpful hosts and the loft apartment was brilliantly appointed with two bathrooms and plenty of space. Will definitely return

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We took three grandchildren to Port Douglas for 6 days. Freestyle ticked all the boxes for us. Lovely well appointed apartment easy to live in for the 5 of us. Kids loved the pool. Anne was very welcoming and knowledgeable in planning the trips for us. In the end it was all about location location location. Just perfect for a stroll into town or to the beach. A very memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94022
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

BAD STUFFS FIRST:
* The toilet seems to leak a little bit but we did not ask for it to repair since we were quite busy exploring the rain forest and the reef.
* We found one dead roach in the living room. We just figured a lot of bugs are in the rainforest so we did not report to the hotel.
* Spa is nice but not heated, so it is not very useful at all. Too bad.


Location: Walking distance to town (restaurants, shops) and Four Miles Beach (2 blocks).

Room: We got a 2 bedroom apartment. Super clean. Kitchen is well equipped so we prepared breakfast ourselves. TV, shower, everything works fine.

The hotel ground: Nice. Small. A few nice lily ponds that my kids fnd tiny frogs and fishes, and other insects.

Service: The very helpful and very nice lady (Anne) at the hotel help us to get oriented when we arrived and gave us a lot of very helpful suggestions. She also helped us to book the reef tour. But this is mostly a self-service apartment, so don't expect a lot of service.

Others: Pool is nice but it was not heated (that's OK). We used the laundry/dryer facility next to the parking lot. Laundry is AUS$4 and dryer is AUS$4. If the hotel is busy, then there is not enough parking in the garage.

Room Tip: They have BBQ area next to the pool. I think someone actually caught a fish and was cooking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Port Douglas at the Freestyle and found it to be very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and well kept; and Jason and Anne were terrific hosts.
The location was close to downtown Port Douglas which was a real bonus - Port Douglas was a real highpoint on our trip and I would return to Australia just to visit Port Douglas!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
5.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#1 of 45 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.