We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place in Port Douglas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Freestyle Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AUTUMN TROPICAL BONUS
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
ARMONK, NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Place in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at Freestyle for four nights. The place was clean and very charming. Ann the resident was extremely helpful in booking tours and with suggestions as to excellent restaurants and interesting things to see and do. Ann showed great interest in making sure we were comfortable and satisfied with our stay at Freestyle; and we were.
Freestyle is located only a ten minute walk from Port Douglas which has very good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    93
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
139
237
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The apartments have recently been refurbished and look fresh, nice and clean and are spacious. Rooms have a balcony with table, four chakra and fan (also useful against mosquitos). The kitchen has everything you need for a meal, like two electrical stoves, kitchen utensils, pans, cutlery, plates, cups, glasses, toaster, water boiler etc. very handy is the combo-microwave and a small dishwashing machine. Tea/coffee and dishwashing powder, -brush and -soap are provided. The living room has a fan and airco, TV with some free movie channels. The bedroom has no airco and fan only, but the one in the living room is sufficient to cool the bedroom as well (which is even more comfortable not having the airco blowing at your face while sleeping. Rooms have free wifi up to 1000mb per device. The rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis, but you can get fresh supplies of towels and coffee etc. at the reception (open till 6pm in low season). Swimming pool is nice and clean and has sunny and shady places to sit on a beach chair. Pool towels provided free of charge. Downtown Port Douglas is about 10-15 minutes. The owner is very friendly and helpful. It was one of our best stays during out trip around Australia.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you MarkyM of Amsterdam for your valued review.

Anne & I are delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished apartments. You have very accurately outlined our offering in the Freestyle Resort apartments and we are grateful for your positive comments. We look forward to your company when you may next get to visit our little piece of Paradise, Port Douglas, the closest departure point to the Great Barrier Reef.

Please let your friends know that they can use your stay here as a referral to Anne or I, for our best available rates deals for return guests .

BREAKING NEWS FOR FEBRUARY.

We are half way through a refurbishment project, comprising a complete replacement of all furniture & many beds, internal whitegoods, electrical equipment & fittings. We have been really busy pushing out this Project during February, with a plan to complete the makeover by early March. Although we are only 31 apartments in our property, there has been over $500,000 Dollars spent in this internal apartment refurbishment.

We are delighted that Freestyle's refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the apartments. And wanted to mention that it has been executed by professional Hotel interior Designers from Noble House Design, a Company owned by Gerry Harvey, of Harvey Norman Stores. By engaging their expertise, we have had avenues to source best quality commercial standard products for the transformation. And we are delighted with the outcomes.

To all our tripadvisor Community and followers- please wait on our photographer to do her photo shoot in early March. We shall post new images to our tripadvisor page. If you would like some high resolution images please email me and I shall send them on to you.

We try hard, because we care for you and increasingly, due to Shipping Channel Dredging risks in Cairns,The Great Barrier Reef and the rest of "Our World" that we can influence.

Jason & Anne Moore, your Hosts at Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Jason Moore
Managing Director
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This motel was an excellent, value for money choice for our three night stay. We were allocated accommodation on an upper floor with a view of the pool. We had a separate bedroom and a comfortable lounge and kitchen area. There was also a balcony with a table and chairs. The accommodation was spotless and well-equipped. Anne, who manages the property, was very informative, answering questions before our arrival and offering to book transfers and excursions. In fact, we booked our own but, on our arrival, she offered to confirm our bookings and generally was very helpful. The motel is an easy walk from the main street with all its shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This resort is a lovely resort with very clean, modern and spacious rooms that have air con and all the desired facilities. The staff are welcoming and couldn't be more helpful advising on the local area. The pool area was clean and lovley with a warm pool that was big enough for a miniture swim and comfy sun beds to relax on in the late afternoon. The resort is a short walk from the town which makes a nice stroll to do some shopping. Overall a very very pleasing stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had 3 nights here visiting port Douglas. Ann could not do enough for us helping with trips, pool towels, late check outs etc. real personal care. Pool is lovely, rooms well equipped. Perfect location to get into the restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Freestyle Resort. It is impossible to find fault with this remarkably good (self-catering) accommodation. Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. The personal efforts Anne puts into ensuring her guests have a good stay have been commented on in many other reviews: she is indefatigable in making her guests feel welcome and in arranging tours and providing dependable advice on places to visit, eat and shop.
The resort is conveniently located a short walk from the main business streets of Port Douglas. It offers free wifi, free towels for use on barrier reef outings or with the swimming pool, and free "starter" sets of toiletries and hot drink ingredients so you don't suffer before you get a chance to visit the supermarket in town.
Thank you, Anne and Jason, for giving us such a fine place to stay for our visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just had an amazing 7 nights stay at Freestyle Port Douglas. I was guided by the trip advisor comments when deciding my accommodation. Freestyle didn't disappoint it was exactly what we were after. Lovely quiet smaller Boutique style resort. Very very clean, home away from home. Gorgeous pool and tropical gardens. We stayed in the 2 BR loft style apartment with the kids bedroom upstairs. The stairs wouldn't suit small children too steep but our 13 yo and 10 yo fine. Ann and Jason are fantastic and very helpful if you have younger kids they have adjoining apartments with no stairs. It's not too far from Macrossan st probably about a 10 min walk. Cars are pretty cheap to hire so we had a car for the week. We self catered for breakfast and lunch and ate out at night. We ate alot at the Hogs Breath Cafe on the marina wharfe as the kids dine there when at home. We can't wait to go back to Freestyle which we will be soon. As if the place couldn't get any better Ann and Jason were upgrading with new beds and furniture just as we left. Can't wait to go back and try out the new beds. Ann has a tour desk and will book your tours for you and guide you to the best ones. Thanks Ann and Jason for a lovely Holiday !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.