We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Freestyle Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WI-FI & POOL TOWELS
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had 3 nights here visiting port Douglas. Ann could not do enough for us helping with trips, pool towels, late check outs etc. real personal care. Pool is lovely, rooms well equipped. Perfect location to get into the restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    78
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
130
213
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Freestyle Resort. It is impossible to find fault with this remarkably good (self-catering) accommodation. Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. The personal efforts Anne puts into ensuring her guests have a good stay have been commented on in many other reviews: she is indefatigable in making her guests feel welcome and in arranging tours and providing dependable advice on places to visit, eat and shop.
The resort is conveniently located a short walk from the main business streets of Port Douglas. It offers free wifi, free towels for use on barrier reef outings or with the swimming pool, and free "starter" sets of toiletries and hot drink ingredients so you don't suffer before you get a chance to visit the supermarket in town.
Thank you, Anne and Jason, for giving us such a fine place to stay for our visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Just had an amazing 7 nights stay at Freestyle Port Douglas. I was guided by the trip advisor comments when deciding my accommodation. Freestyle didn't disappoint it was exactly what we were after. Lovely quiet smaller Boutique style resort. Very very clean, home away from home. Gorgeous pool and tropical gardens. We stayed in the 2 BR loft style apartment with the kids bedroom upstairs. The stairs wouldn't suit small children too steep but our 13 yo and 10 yo fine. Ann and Jason are fantastic and very helpful if you have younger kids they have adjoining apartments with no stairs. It's not too far from Macrossan st probably about a 10 min walk. Cars are pretty cheap to hire so we had a car for the week. We self catered for breakfast and lunch and ate out at night. We ate alot at the Hogs Breath Cafe on the marina wharfe as the kids dine there when at home. We can't wait to go back to Freestyle which we will be soon. As if the place couldn't get any better Ann and Jason were upgrading with new beds and furniture just as we left. Can't wait to go back and try out the new beds. Ann has a tour desk and will book your tours for you and guide you to the best ones. Thanks Ann and Jason for a lovely Holiday !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have stayed at Freestyle Resort quite a few times now and every single time, we are received with real genuine friendliness, not to mention a lot of help with arranging any activities and assistance with dining venues. Shops, restaurants, marina are all within a short walk. We sometimes purchase fresh local seafood and cook on the freestyle bbq, so convenient. The rooms in the resort are always spotless as is the whole resort. Freestyle is a very intimate resort allowing for plenty of private quiet time, or socializing with other guests. The cooking facilities in the rooms are all that is needed for a relaxing holiday, not to mention the wonderful balconies, an ideal spot to sit and relax with a glass of wine to finish off the day. We will go back to Freestyle over and over again. Such a friendly intimate atmosphere and environment, not a large commercial style resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed 8 nights at Freestyle and enjoyed every minute. Anne welcomed us warmly and took us straight to our room at 10.30, much earlier than most hotels would. She gave us great advice on booking trips and where to go in the nearby town centre. We received a welcome pack of teas, coffee and milk to help us get started plus a delicious platter of fruit.
We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean and comfortable. the free WIFI was quick and reliable which helped us keep in touch. The pool and spa were clean and most welcome, especially in the warm evenings. We always look forward to holidays in new places but accept that there may be some minor disappointments, this was not the case at Freestyle.
If not for the fact that we live in England we would go back soon. In the meantime we have recommended it to family and friends in Australia.

Room Tip: Not all rooms will have a view that you prefer so be specific if you want to say overlook the pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in a two-bedroom duplex for 2 nights. I loved Anne's warm and informative welcoming and right away got a few ideas of where to eat and what to do. It was no issue to check in early. The room was obviously way to big for only 2 adults, but so convenient to each have a bathroom when getting ready in the morning. The apartment comes with a very well equipped kitchenette, a balcony overlooking the saltwater (?) pool as well as a small family room with flat screen tv and all the channels you could wish for in a hotel room. There is a paying washing machine and dryer on site as well, which we gladly used. I will definitively come back to Freestyle should I come back to Port Douglas.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

.My 2 daughters and I stayed at Freestyle for 8 nights over Christmas. The room was very clean and spacious, the pool and bbq area was in a very lovely setting, The apartments was just a short walk away from the beach, marina and shops. Free wifi was a godsend to my daughters. Anne was a wonderful host she would organise anything for you. Even on her day off Christmas Day she came and chatted to her guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning swimming pool is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.