We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freestyle Resort EXCELLENT with Anne and Jason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Freestyle Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE WI FI & BEACH TOWELS
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Freestyle Resort EXCELLENT with Anne and Jason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Freestyle 2years ago with another couple and fell in love with Port Douglas.
After having a baby 9 months ago we both decided that we needed a relaxing first family holiday, and what better place to visit but Freestyle Resort Port Douglas.

We did not even bother looking for other accommodation in Port Douglas, because we were just so happy with the service last time, from the owners Anne and Jason.
Not only is the service fast, helpful and sincerely caring- but Freestyle is located only a short stroll to the shops and four mile beach.

Freestyle was fantastic and gave us a ground floor room to accommodate our baby and his pram. We hired a very good condition high chair from Freestyle as well. The kitchen in our room had everything we needed and when my husband caught fish, Anne was quick to leave extra chopping boards on our doorstep along with a printout instructions on how to cook the fish the correct way. The bedroom, bathroom, tv room etc are all as described on their web page.

The pool is regularly cleaned and maintained, BBQ facilities are also clean with everything that you need to cook with.

I also enjoyed waking up to the birds and seeing the numerous green tree frogs located in the lily pond around the pool.

Basically to sum it up WE LOVE FREESTYLE!!! WE LOVE ANNE AND JASON

Thanks for making our holiday so special!!!

Love Phil, Vanessa and Matthew (Who loved the NZ Kiwi toy!!)

Anne easily booked us into Quicksilver great Barrier reef tours

Room Tip: If you have a pram ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    89
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
135
227
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had 9 days at Freestyle in January. Our host Anne helped with the transportation from Cairns and made contact before we left, giving us some preparatory information. She was also helpful on day one. We have a lovely apartment overlooking the landscaped pool area - see photo. The kitchenette had everything we needed and the rest of the apartment was quite well appointed. It was the perfect under 10 minutes distance to the main street for our walks to town and to the beach, while being away from any noise the main street may generate. I would recommend Freestyle for a holiday in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The first thing I would say is that my husband and I didn't have a choice in staying here, it was part of a package for a family wedding we were attending.
We had just come from a beautiful resort in Palm Cove (about 30/40 min drive away) to this. The place looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. The entrance was down some dodgy looking steps to an office that looked like it was an over flow from the laundry room, with bundels of towels and sheets on the floor, not saying anything about the state of all the paperwork all over the place.
The entrance to the corridors, that looked like prison corridors, was through a dark, dank under floor car park. When we first looked at the place, we were 30 seconds away from turning in the other direction and we should have.
The room smelt musty, the bed was damp and we ended up putting our towels around the pillows to try to stop smelling this dank smell. The air conditioning unit had rust around it, the bathroom door didn't fit, and when we told the manager we were told it would be fixed - it wasn't. If you took too long in the shower then the drain in the middle of the floor had suds coming back up into it. I have stopped in places that have been basic, this wasn't just basic it was dirty, with cobwebs in many corners, and the material in the seats threadbare.
Quite bizarely there weren't any drawers or shelves in the room, meaning you had no where to store anything. The dishwasher was filthy, and if you wanted to wash anything, then it was down to the laundry room next to the car park, with a charge applied.
The position of it, a long 20 minute walk to any shops or bars, or you can try getting over the main road, through a park, down through the trees to the beach.......terrible.
We were lucky enough to stay in some gorgeous places during our stay in both Australia and Singapore, this was truely awful.
Never, ever again.

Room Tip: My tip to help choose a good room - stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFreestyle, Owner at Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I am so glad that your review is as you have portrayed it because it demonstrates that it is unbelievable. What is believable about Freestyle Resort is our hands on resident management of the Resort. We live on site and that has enormous advantages for our guests as we are available to deal with issues at any time of the day or night, unlike many other accommodation properties in Port Douglas.

We would like our prospective Guests to know that other members of your Family wedding party (ten couples) who stayed with us at Freestyle in December enjoyed our facilities and the bride subsequently wrote to us saying:

“Hope your well, i just wanted to say a Big Thank you for all you did for us last week in port douglas. We were so happy with everything while we were there. We wish we could have stayed abit longer. Everyone really enjoyed there stay in Freestyles. See you again in the near future.”

Hmmm, do we have a problem here? You are most welcome to contact me to discuss this further."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essendon, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arrived in Port Douglas very jaded after a long year and stayed for Christmas and the New Year. Had a beautiful apartment overlooking the pool. Everything was clean, and hosts Jason and Anne were the perfect hosts and very helpful.

I liked the smaller size of the resort as I did not feel that I was part of a sausage machine.

Bed was comfy and kitchen well stocked with cooking equipment, unlike most that I have encountered.

Will be returning when next in Port!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at this resort, just what we wanted. 5 minute (400 metres or so) walk to the main street in Port Douglas or 10 minutes to the marina, which was good, close enough to walk to everything and far enough away so you don't hear any of the noise from the Main drag.
Had a 2Br apartment which was nice and comfortable (air con in both rooms and the lounge room) Both bedrooms had bathroom facilities and showers. Loved having breakfast on the balcony. The room was neat and tidy. The pool and spa were good to lounge around in and we enjoyed cooking our dinner on the BBQ near the pool, also had cooking facilities in the room. If your looking for somewhere relaxing and quiet to take the family away where you can cook your own meals occasionally or go out to a restaurant to eat and be able to walk home I would recommend this place.
I will be back again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in early December. Having just arrived from London we were a bit jet-lagged so it was delightful to be able to sit on our beautiful balcony at any time of the day or night and enjoy the lush vegetation, the colourful birds, and the gorgeous warm air. We'd expected rain as it was the beginning of the wet season but we had spectacular weather and were sad to leave. Port Douglas is a brilliant base from which to explore the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. If you're wondering whether to choose between Port Douglas and Cairns, I'd recommend PD (unless you want lots of night life). The owners are almost too helpful wanting to share all their recommendations for everything the minute you arrive!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well appointed apartment with Anne a perfect hostess. All you need for selfcatering. Excellent knowledge of the excursions available. We wish we had booked longer in Port Douglas with only four nights here we could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning swimming pool is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.