We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Freestyle Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We travelled to Port Douglas from New Zealand for a 8 night getaway. We're a young couple and this was our first holiday away together, so we weren't really sure what we were after when we were looking at places - but Freestyle definitely hit the spot. Our room was amazing, the perfect size with a lounge and large tv, small but decent kitchen and nice bedroom. Freestyle is nice and close to the town centre. The first couple of days we hired bikes and it took us about 4 mins max to bike to the main street, and less than 10 minutes to walk. Anne was lovely, so accommodating and caring. I would definitely recommend Freestyle to people of all ages.

Room Tip: Our room on the bottom floor by the car park was awesome, right by the pool and easy to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    89
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
135
227
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Freestyle Resort & every time we come back we are never disappointed. Anne & Jason are the most helpful, friendly couple - wonderful hosts. We feel like this could be our second home- we love it here. Perfect pool, Perfect location within walking distance to the Marina, the Beach, Macrossan Street shops & restaurants- who needs a car just walk , Perfect just Perfect!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment which had all amenities we needed.
These included fox tv channels, in-room safe, ironing board and iron and everything else you would expect.

The pool area is nice with comfortable sunbeds, plenty of sunshine throughout the day and there is a barbeque area next to the pool that is free for guests to use.
Also there's plenty of poolside furniture and covered car parking on site.

The owner was very accommodating and provided us with beach towels as well as lots of information on the local area, such as good restaurants and places to drink.

It's also a short walk to the beach and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast QLD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Freestyle Resort at Port Douglas. Anne and Jason (management) were very welcoming, helpful, and friendly during our stay. The room was immaculately clean and we enjoyed it. We were in the tropics so we enjoyed the outdoor dining option. We loved the pool and the spa although we only used it once. The location for us was excellent. We enjoyed the 5 minute stroll the main street, and on the way home it gave us time to eat ice cream. I would recommend this place to my friends and family and we plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are return visitors many times and always stay at this resort. Still the best accommodation in Port Douglas, especially the cordial and caring management of Anne & Jason. All we need is provided, with a beautiful pool and great bbq, so handy for cooking etc.
Freestyle is most handy to the beach and the main street, a short walk to both, with easy access to the trips in the region. Weather the best in Australia at that time of the year. So relaxing as always.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. We were escorted to our room which overlooked the lovely pool area and given maps and information to help us find our way around Port Douglas. The kitchen is small but suited our needs perfectly and with a dishwasher just the right size. We were provided with all the dishwashing powder, toilet paper, coffee, washing machine liquid, etc as we needed and when we requested. No other resort we have stayed at has ever been so generous.
Anne was always very friendly with a hello or wave of acknowledgement and was more than happy to help us with booking tours, etc.
The resort is beautifully kept with clean rooms and bedding. There are ceiling fans and also an air conditioning unit to help keep you cool. The gardens are gorgeous with lovely trees for shade if you want shade and also open areas if you want sun. The flowers are stunning. Look for the tiny brown/black frogs in the lily ponds. The pool is clean and warm with a cool spa pool attached as well. There are shallow areas for children and also noodles and other swim things for the less confident swimmer.
The bbq area is well maintained and there is cooking oil, tools and cleaning agents provided. At the back of the bbq area is a shower room and toilet to save you going back to your room should you feel the urge.
Town is only a short walk away with a good supermarket and a lot of restaurants to choose from.
The Habitat Zoo is a must visit as is a trip out to the reef. This time we chose Sailaway and enjoyed the trip thoroughly especially because we could sit on the deck of the yacht and it is limited to only 28 people.
We enjoyed our holiday very much and absolutely recommend this resort as a place to stay. The setting of the pool gives everyone the opportunity to be very social with the other guests if you so wish or if you want to hide behind a book that is also great.
Congratulations Anne and Jason for putting your heart and soul into your resort, it shows. Nothing is too much trouble and you made all the difference to our much needed holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

freestyle perfect place to stay in Port Douglas. Rooms cool clean and have everything you need. Only 8 mins walk to main town shops, supermarket and restaurants. Pool in lovely setting with beautiful tropical plants around. Would recommend and stay again on our next trip to Port Douglas.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning swimming pool is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.