We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Freestyle Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Freestyle Resort & every time we come back we are never disappointed. Anne & Jason are the most helpful, friendly couple - wonderful hosts. We feel like this could be our second home- we love it here. Perfect pool, Perfect location within walking distance to the Marina, the Beach, Macrossan Street shops & restaurants- who needs a car just walk , Perfect just Perfect!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    100
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
150
246
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment which had all amenities we needed.
These included fox tv channels, in-room safe, ironing board and iron and everything else you would expect.

The pool area is nice with comfortable sunbeds, plenty of sunshine throughout the day and there is a barbeque area next to the pool that is free for guests to use.
Also there's plenty of poolside furniture and covered car parking on site.

The owner was very accommodating and provided us with beach towels as well as lots of information on the local area, such as good restaurants and places to drink.

It's also a short walk to the beach and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast QLD
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Freestyle Resort at Port Douglas. Anne and Jason (management) were very welcoming, helpful, and friendly during our stay. The room was immaculately clean and we enjoyed it. We were in the tropics so we enjoyed the outdoor dining option. We loved the pool and the spa although we only used it once. The location for us was excellent. We enjoyed the 5 minute stroll the main street, and on the way home it gave us time to eat ice cream. I would recommend this place to my friends and family and we plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are return visitors many times and always stay at this resort. Still the best accommodation in Port Douglas, especially the cordial and caring management of Anne & Jason. All we need is provided, with a beautiful pool and great bbq, so handy for cooking etc.
Freestyle is most handy to the beach and the main street, a short walk to both, with easy access to the trips in the region. Weather the best in Australia at that time of the year. So relaxing as always.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. We were escorted to our room which overlooked the lovely pool area and given maps and information to help us find our way around Port Douglas. The kitchen is small but suited our needs perfectly and with a dishwasher just the right size. We were provided with all the dishwashing powder, toilet paper, coffee, washing machine liquid, etc as we needed and when we requested. No other resort we have stayed at has ever been so generous.
Anne was always very friendly with a hello or wave of acknowledgement and was more than happy to help us with booking tours, etc.
The resort is beautifully kept with clean rooms and bedding. There are ceiling fans and also an air conditioning unit to help keep you cool. The gardens are gorgeous with lovely trees for shade if you want shade and also open areas if you want sun. The flowers are stunning. Look for the tiny brown/black frogs in the lily ponds. The pool is clean and warm with a cool spa pool attached as well. There are shallow areas for children and also noodles and other swim things for the less confident swimmer.
The bbq area is well maintained and there is cooking oil, tools and cleaning agents provided. At the back of the bbq area is a shower room and toilet to save you going back to your room should you feel the urge.
Town is only a short walk away with a good supermarket and a lot of restaurants to choose from.
The Habitat Zoo is a must visit as is a trip out to the reef. This time we chose Sailaway and enjoyed the trip thoroughly especially because we could sit on the deck of the yacht and it is limited to only 28 people.
We enjoyed our holiday very much and absolutely recommend this resort as a place to stay. The setting of the pool gives everyone the opportunity to be very social with the other guests if you so wish or if you want to hide behind a book that is also great.
Congratulations Anne and Jason for putting your heart and soul into your resort, it shows. Nothing is too much trouble and you made all the difference to our much needed holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

freestyle perfect place to stay in Port Douglas. Rooms cool clean and have everything you need. Only 8 mins walk to main town shops, supermarket and restaurants. Pool in lovely setting with beautiful tropical plants around. Would recommend and stay again on our next trip to Port Douglas.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If Port Douglas is paradise, Freestyle is Paradise Headquarters. Freestyle is within walking distance of all Port Douglas facilities and attractions. Rooms are clean, a good size with all amenities needed to enjoy a relaxing tropical holiday. The pool and spa are magnificent and the poolside barbeque facilities are an added extra. We have enjoyed several wonderful holidays at Freestyle. Anne and Jason, the managers, are a wealth of local knowledge, spare no effort looking after guests and are always friendly and attentive. It's great that guests have the choice of rooms overlooking the pool or the unique option of a natural tropical garden outlook.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
5.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#1 of 45 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#10 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.