We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reflections of Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Reflections of Port Douglas to your Saves list
Reflections of Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
west chester, pa.
1 review
“You have to stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Really impressed with everything Reflections had to offer. Spacious apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a washer/dryer. Steps from the beach and the main part of town. We would stay here again if we ever get back to Port Douglas. Carmel, the person who runs the place, was so nice. She was always willing to help us. Carmel, thank you again.
Bob and Laura

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed at Reflections for 4 nights during December 2008. In a nutshell, the accommodation is high quality, very clean and darn close to the beach.

I chose Reflections based on its location, value and positive comments on TripAdvisor. It is located at the beach end of Macrossan Street, which is the main shopping street that runs through the town. It is only a few steps to the beach, quite close to the Stinger Nets (which are required at this time of year due to the Marine Stingers that inhabit the water). Everything here is within walking distance, unless you want to head out of the township.

Reflections is a 3-level apartment block with 9 units. We stayed in Unit 9, which is at the back of the top floor. It has two bedrooms - one with a King bed and ensuite and the other with two Single beds, with separate bathroom. There's also a large lounge, kitchen and an ‘indoor balcony’ with shutters that can block out the sun (or the rain at this time of year!) or let in all the sun and heat – your choice! The apartment has excellent ducted air conditioning, or you can use the ceiling fans to keep the air moving (very useful during warm summer nights).

There is a partially covered swimming pool on the lower level which is apparently heated during winter. We figure it was around 26 degrees Celsius during our stay (although the in-pool thermometer always said it was 30). Regardless, the kids enjoyed the pool to escape from the humid temperature.

The apartment block is run by Carmel and John who are very friendly and always happy to help. Wireless Internet is available for $10 per stay, but the reception is limited. If you want to use a lot of Internet, let them know during booking so that you get a lower-level unit near the wireless hub. In my case, I had to take a laptop to the pool area to get reception.

The apartment is fully tiled, has copious cupboard space, all necessary equipment in the kitchen (except, strangely, a drying rack but there is a dishwasher, microwave, oven, toaster, etc). The lounge room featured plenty of couches and chairs, an enormous HD TV with DVD player and an extra TV in the main bedroom. My only complaint would be the bath-shower combinations, that aren’t very comfortable for showering.

They claim the apartments are 4.5-star, which is pretty accurate given the quality of furniture, fixtures and facilities. There’s even an in-room safe for storage of valuables and undercover parking. Some bottles of water and Coffee Bags are provided in-room for sale, and the prices are as good as you would get in a supermarket, or better, which is a refreshing difference from the traditional mini-bar rip-off.

I’d have no qualms recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

My girlfriend and I have just spent a fantastic week in Port Douglas in April with a friend of ours who visited us from overseas. Having been to Port Douglas before we decided to stay closer to the beach and town centre. Reflections turned out to be the perfect choice. We had a 2-bedroom apartment which was spacious, quiet, clean, functional and had a well equipped kitchen. Special thanks go out to Carmel who was very welcoming and helpful in booking excursions and restaurants. Next time we will definitely be staying at Reflections again. Highly recommendable for a great stay in fantastic Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit which were spacy and clean.
The kitchen was fully equiped and the family room had a plasma TV.
It is located on the quiet end near the beach of the main shopping street, so it is a short walk to the the shops & restuarants. Due to the stingers in the water, you cannot swim just anywhere but there is a netted area close by. The hostess was more than happy to help in any way, make bookings for tours, suggest places to eat etc. The weather has warm, shorts and tshirt weather, heavy bursts of rain but 95% of the time it was at night.
Tours were slightly cheaper because this was not peak time. Tours are not cheap when the family has teenage children, family ticket are for children aged 14 or less.
web site: www.reflectionsofpd.com.au
email: [--]

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

From the very first phone call I made from Canada to make the reservation, I know this was going to be an exceptional experience. The personal attention we received from Carmel for airport transfers, tour information, and supplying us with forgotten items (beach towels, please) made our stay one to remember. Reflections is comfortably spacious, well kept and appointed. Although wonderfully quiet, the beach and downtown are just a few steps away. A great holiday get-away with no worries.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucesterghire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

First and foremost the recommendations and help received from Carmel, the manager, were invaluable. She really gave us some excellent advice as to where to go, which tour operators to use and good suggestions on where to eat. The apartment was well equipped and comfortable and in an ideal position away from but near enough to the main part of town.
We really liked PD, a beautiful setting, lots to do and friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

i can only agree with other reviewers on this site,we have just stayed for two weeks and had a fantastic time.we have stayed at quite a few propertys in port and this would have to be one of best for value and location. we only tried reflections because of the reviews on this site but from now on we will always return to reflections.P.S thanks carmel for seeing us of. Mick&Jo.

  • Liked — large screen tv
  • Disliked — noisey air con
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reflections of Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflections of Port Douglas

Address: 70 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reflections of Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If position is everything, Reflections of Port Douglas's elegant serviced apartments have it all. Right on popular Macrossan Street, 60 meters to the pure sands of Four Mile Beach. There are just eight boutique fully self contained apartments, giving Reflections an intimate, exclusive ambiance. Explore the natural wonders of the Great Barrier Reef & World Heritage Tropical Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reflections of Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reflections Port Douglas
Reflections Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reflections of Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.