We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place very tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to your Saves list
Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Torquay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place very tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff were very helpful. area was beautiful and well maintained.
The only down fall was the mosquitos but that was due to the time of year we visited. if you went in the wet season - october - february you would find no mosquitos.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    75
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. The location is ideal as it is central to beach, Macrossan street and Marina. The resort has a very relaxed feel with lovely gardens and the two pools to choose from. The pool bean bags are fantastic. The resort is rated at 4.5 star but I don't believe it is at that level. The apartments are a bit dated but comfortable. Breakfast was included in our package and consisted of muesli, toast, fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt. Hot drinks made to order. It was ideal and most enjoyable having breakfast by the pool each morning. We also had a massage at the Spa and it was a very professional, well set up facility. Staff were lovely and one of the best massages I've ever had! Overall it was a relaxing, enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Our room was on the side along the road and it was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I wanted to stay at this resort but it was fully booked when I was looking a few months ago, but I did manage to book some spa appointments. And the spa treatments were amazing. The overall experience was amazing! The ambiance was lovely as were the staff. The staff were professional. The treatment rooms were clean and beautiful. The price for the treatments were reasonable. An overall relaxing experience with no complaints!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed as part of a Luxury Escapes deal which included dinner at a local restaurant, a massage, sailing and breakfast. My wife adored the massage (did an hour long instead of two 30min) which was great. Breakfast and the staff overall were fantastic and very obliging. More importantly everything within the package was delivered (great as this was our first Luxury Escape deal). Interested in a return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrawonga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have just returned from a family holiday at Hibiscus gardens spa resort, it is the best resort I have stayed in at Port Douglas great location, friendly staff, walking distance to the beach and the main street, lovely pool. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days here. Excellent front office staff and a very welcoming breakfast smile each morning. We had a ground floor apartment close to the front pool. The room was very comfortable and ideal for a couple. Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent with a variety of fruit, muesli and breads. The apartment was in easy walking distance to the shopping precinct, beach and marina.It was a pleasant surprise to receive a vintage champagne in our package and the room wine list was very competitively priced with some wines cheaper than those at the local bottleshops. We plan to come back again next year.

Room Tip: lower levels near the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 5 nights here with our friends who had an apartment next door which was great. The breakfast was what I had expected although the area was a bit small when there were more than 4 couples. The lady running the breakfast area was excellent, very happy & friendly. The massage was great. We found the staff on arrival very helpful with where to go & what to do. The resort was in a great position easy walk to everything. The resort was well looked after, gardens were beautiful & all areas very clean. The rooms although not serviced were fine although a top up with soap & toilet paper would not have gone astray. With the special that we bought everything was what was expected except for the dinner at the hatted restaurant, the deal should have said that the meal was from a limited menu. This was a bit of a let down. The food was very good, no complaints there just would have been happier to know about the menu. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Address: 22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located... just 100 metres from the main shopping area in Port Douglas Village, and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the lively marina. Port Douglas Australia has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks.Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the award winning Port Douglas Accommodation, Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Inspiring holiday accommodation.Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools, cooled in summer and heated in winter. Unwind and refresh in our award winning Li'Tya Spa Dreaming Day Spa. Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort has a special charm that stimulates the sixth sense, the sense of pleasure.The perfectly located Port Douglas Accommodation in Tropical Australia is waiting for you. You'll never forget your stay in Port Douglas Australia or Hibiscus Resort and Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.