We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be coming back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to your Saves list
Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Woodend, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will be coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days here. Excellent front office staff and a very welcoming breakfast smile each morning. We had a ground floor apartment close to the front pool. The room was very comfortable and ideal for a couple. Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent with a variety of fruit, muesli and breads. The apartment was in easy walking distance to the shopping precinct, beach and marina.It was a pleasant surprise to receive a vintage champagne in our package and the room wine list was very competitively priced with some wines cheaper than those at the local bottleshops. We plan to come back again next year.

Room Tip: lower levels near the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    83
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
133
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 5 nights here with our friends who had an apartment next door which was great. The breakfast was what I had expected although the area was a bit small when there were more than 4 couples. The lady running the breakfast area was excellent, very happy & friendly. The massage was great. We found the staff on arrival very helpful with where to go & what to do. The resort was in a great position easy walk to everything. The resort was well looked after, gardens were beautiful & all areas very clean. The rooms although not serviced were fine although a top up with soap & toilet paper would not have gone astray. With the special that we bought everything was what was expected except for the dinner at the hatted restaurant, the deal should have said that the meal was from a limited menu. This was a bit of a let down. The food was very good, no complaints there just would have been happier to know about the menu. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hibiscus Resort is wonderful relaxed accommodation in a Balinese style, surrounded by beautiful gardens. It has 2 pools both with jet spas and complimentary breakfasts of cereals, fruits and beverages was part of our package.
The tiled rooms are very comfortable and the kitchens have sufficient cooking equipment.
The staff are very helpful and Post Douglas 'CBD' is one street away with everything in walking distance. We stayed for 10 days in March 2014 and had 1 wet day.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the central pool. It was quiet and private with huge palms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, compact resort only a short walk from the Main Street, marina and beach. No worries with over crowding here. The pool was heated and breakfast by the pool was very serene. The rooms were ideal for our family of 4 with interconnecting rooms giving us 2 of everything. The only negative is trying to have breakfast at peak time. The buffet area is very small and cramped but who cares when you are on holidays.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This property is not the 5 star property that I was expecting when I purchased through Luxury Escapes. After saying that the property was perfect for us. We had 2 apartments side by side on the lower level which overlooked the pool and the lush gardens. The location of the resort was in easy walking distance to everything the area has to offer. The rooms were not serviced or towels changed but you could arrange for servicing I believe for an additional cost. The resort did provide pool towels which you could use for day trips if necessary. The apartment is one bedroom with a 2 way bathroom, small kitchen and living area. The breakfast provided around the back pool was basic but was enough to see you through to lunch. If there were more than a couple of people serving themselves breakfast at one time you had to be very patient. The woman who was on breakfast duty was amazing.... she was bright and chirpy and nothing was too much trouble. The massages that were included in the package were great. I also visited the spa for a facial that Scott? The Spa Manager was my therapist and it was a truly amazing experience. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is my third trip here. Our family books in for two months because it's clean, comfortable, quiet, handy walking distance to shops, comfy beds, everything necessary for a relaxing stay and charming staff. I recommend Hibiscus to all my friends and I will certainly keep coming back! It's a Non Pretentious Zone - just what I want.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have just spent five days at this Resort as part of a package deal through Luxury Escapes. Property listed as four and half stars. I normally do not write these types of reviews but feel as though someone has to know about this property.
I do not know whether we were unlucky or not but these were the things wrong with our unit (5)
No Foxtel for four of the five days.(TV was replaced after speaking to reception)
Drainage problems with bath. Water was not going down drain when showering. (fixed by a plumber)
Front door did not lock. Could be pushed open even when locked
Unit was dusty and smelly
Unable to use lounges around pool as though were hosed off each morning and didn't dry all day.
Ironically there were messages in unit to save water
Towels were not changed even though we stayed five days.
Overall very disappointed in this resort and will not be staying there again. Only saving grace were the staff who assisted when requested.
Certainly not four and half stars, desperately in need of a make over.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Address: 22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located... just 100 metres from the main shopping area in Port Douglas Village, and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the lively marina. Port Douglas Australia has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks.Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the award winning Port Douglas Accommodation, Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Inspiring holiday accommodation.Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools, cooled in summer and heated in winter. Unwind and refresh in our award winning Li'Tya Spa Dreaming Day Spa. Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort has a special charm that stimulates the sixth sense, the sense of pleasure.The perfectly located Port Douglas Accommodation in Tropical Australia is waiting for you. You'll never forget your stay in Port Douglas Australia or Hibiscus Resort and Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.