We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Escapes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to your Saves list
Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury Escapes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 5 nights here with our friends who had an apartment next door which was great. The breakfast was what I had expected although the area was a bit small when there were more than 4 couples. The lady running the breakfast area was excellent, very happy & friendly. The massage was great. We found the staff on arrival very helpful with where to go & what to do. The resort was in a great position easy walk to everything. The resort was well looked after, gardens were beautiful & all areas very clean. The rooms although not serviced were fine although a top up with soap & toilet paper would not have gone astray. With the special that we bought everything was what was expected except for the dinner at the hatted restaurant, the deal should have said that the meal was from a limited menu. This was a bit of a let down. The food was very good, no complaints there just would have been happier to know about the menu. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    92
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
143
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hibiscus Resort is wonderful relaxed accommodation in a Balinese style, surrounded by beautiful gardens. It has 2 pools both with jet spas and complimentary breakfasts of cereals, fruits and beverages was part of our package.
The tiled rooms are very comfortable and the kitchens have sufficient cooking equipment.
The staff are very helpful and Post Douglas 'CBD' is one street away with everything in walking distance. We stayed for 10 days in March 2014 and had 1 wet day.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the central pool. It was quiet and private with huge palms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, compact resort only a short walk from the Main Street, marina and beach. No worries with over crowding here. The pool was heated and breakfast by the pool was very serene. The rooms were ideal for our family of 4 with interconnecting rooms giving us 2 of everything. The only negative is trying to have breakfast at peak time. The buffet area is very small and cramped but who cares when you are on holidays.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This property is not the 5 star property that I was expecting when I purchased through Luxury Escapes. After saying that the property was perfect for us. We had 2 apartments side by side on the lower level which overlooked the pool and the lush gardens. The location of the resort was in easy walking distance to everything the area has to offer. The rooms were not serviced or towels changed but you could arrange for servicing I believe for an additional cost. The resort did provide pool towels which you could use for day trips if necessary. The apartment is one bedroom with a 2 way bathroom, small kitchen and living area. The breakfast provided around the back pool was basic but was enough to see you through to lunch. If there were more than a couple of people serving themselves breakfast at one time you had to be very patient. The woman who was on breakfast duty was amazing.... she was bright and chirpy and nothing was too much trouble. The massages that were included in the package were great. I also visited the spa for a facial that Scott? The Spa Manager was my therapist and it was a truly amazing experience. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is my third trip here. Our family books in for two months because it's clean, comfortable, quiet, handy walking distance to shops, comfy beds, everything necessary for a relaxing stay and charming staff. I recommend Hibiscus to all my friends and I will certainly keep coming back! It's a Non Pretentious Zone - just what I want.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have just spent five days at this Resort as part of a package deal through Luxury Escapes. Property listed as four and half stars. I normally do not write these types of reviews but feel as though someone has to know about this property.
I do not know whether we were unlucky or not but these were the things wrong with our unit (5)
No Foxtel for four of the five days.(TV was replaced after speaking to reception)
Drainage problems with bath. Water was not going down drain when showering. (fixed by a plumber)
Front door did not lock. Could be pushed open even when locked
Unit was dusty and smelly
Unable to use lounges around pool as though were hosed off each morning and didn't dry all day.
Ironically there were messages in unit to save water
Towels were not changed even though we stayed five days.
Overall very disappointed in this resort and will not be staying there again. Only saving grace were the staff who assisted when requested.
Certainly not four and half stars, desperately in need of a make over.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The location of Hibidcus is great, no need for a car or bus, walk everywhere but just away from the noise of Macrossan st. The apartment we had was a one bedroom, plenty of room and excellent balcony area. The rooms were becoming a little tired and the shower area has to be updated, the small bath and shower arm that would not stay up was well past its used by date. The breakfast is continental, so anyone wanting bacon eggs etc, will have to walk up the street, but ceral fruit coffee toast were all there and more than adequate for us, all served with a smile.The front desk staff were excellent nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: first or second floor, more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#30 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#10 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Address: 22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located... just 100 metres from the main shopping area in Port Douglas Village, and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the lively marina. Port Douglas Australia has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks.Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the award winning Port Douglas Accommodation, Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Inspiring holiday accommodation.Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools, cooled in summer and heated in winter. Unwind and refresh in our award winning Li'Tya Spa Dreaming Day Spa. Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort has a special charm that stimulates the sixth sense, the sense of pleasure.The perfectly located Port Douglas Accommodation in Tropical Australia is waiting for you. You'll never forget your stay in Port Douglas Australia or Hibiscus Resort and Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.