We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shame about the attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to your Saves list
Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, shame about the attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently stayed her for a week – we got a 1 bedroom unit which was simple but had all the things we needed. The location is definitely its highlight – located a block back from the main strip and in the middle of the beach and marina made it perfect for walking around. However, we would not stay here again or recommend to others. Our TV did not work the entire time, not that we wanted to use it much, but trying to get it fixed was a nightmare, not to dwell on it but the service and communication was very poor. What topped it off was how we were treated by the manager when we checked out and confronted him with this issue – rude is an understatement (and after reading other reviews here it seems to be a common theme). Not once did he apologise for the inconvenience himself. One of the girls on reception during the week was lovely, but apart from her I felt like we were a hassle for the management.

To be honest, I have never been treated so badly by somewhere we were paying to stay – we are not fussy people but were made to feel bad.

My recommendation is if you want a place just to sleep, then it is fine, but if you have any questions or problems don’t expect a friendly resolution. There are plenty of places to stay in Port Douglas and we won’t be choosing here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
127
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Let me start by saying I have not stayed at this resort and never will based on my phone conversation today. I received an email advising of a Cudo offer at the Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort. I was interested in booking two vouchers. As the offer did not advise what room type was on offer for the 2-bed (2-bed 1 bath or 2-bed 2 bath) I rang to clarify. I was also curious to know if the offer included daily room service. A nice lady helped me initially saying it was a 2-bed - 2 bath offer. When I enquired about the daily room service she put me through to the manager. The manager wasn't at all friendly when he came on the line. When I explained what I was enquiring about he said that the lady had clarified that it was 2-bed 2 bath. I asked if it included daily room service and he said it didn't. I then said that I was keen to know what the offer value ($2705) was based on. Looking at the rates I thought it must be the highest rate ($395 with daily room service - however this only adds up to $1980). This is when he started to get very rude. I said I couldn't work out the value and that I was keen to know what I was getting if I was going to purchase a voucher. He proceeded to get very rude and told me not to come and stay if I didn't like the offer. Well quite frankly why on earth would I want to stay when the MANAGER is rude, rude, rude? Anyone else considering this offer do the maths. It doesn't add up and I'll be letting Cudo know that they haven't included enough small print in this offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hibiscus Gardens has the promise of it all. 2 pools which are usually empty except for 1 or 2 other guests so that it is great to swim and read in peace; a spa that has excellent massage therapists; and breakfast under Balinese type gazebos next to the pool.

It's very peaceful whether on your balcony, in the pool areas or at the spa.

The room needs a little work though. The fridge didn't keep the drinks cold so a cold crisp wine was hard to create; the pipes in the toilet groaned every time you flushed and the bed was rock hard.

Despite this the setting is fantastic, it is close to Macrossan and if there was just a few updates to the rooms, especially the fridge, I would be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from our 5 night cudo voucher deal and overall was a fantastic resort, although we wont be back as the bed was simply shocking was like sleeping on the floor, the breakfast buffet is not user friendly it was a nightmare each day just to get simple breakfast. that while it seems small the bed issue is massive. ouch!!! location fantastic and very clean resort, the front desk were nice

Room Tip: all over looked the pool very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Resort rooms were nice,clean and suited us. However we ran out of toilet paper, garbage bags and had to use the same towels for the week. Shower door was also broken. Both managers need to learn to smile and treat their clients with respect & some manners. Our 'complimentry' transfers from cairns airport were a debacle. As my partner and i arrived separately, we had seperate transfers. my name was not on bus drivers list, so I was extremely happy he had one vacant seat at 5am and agreed to take me, only that I had proof of an email confirming transport from resort managers. My partners flight, however, was 15 mins late, so they didn't wait for him, leaving him to arrange his own transport!! Managers did not want to discuss matter with us, hanging up on the phone & walking away when I tried talking to them. We were told loudly ' if you don't like it, pack your bags and leave!!' they were rude, unhelpful and disrespectful. We were not the only ones there complaining either, we chatted to 2 other families who were unhappy with level of service.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter. Triple confirm all bookings made with managers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I loved this resort because being 2 single ladies it is often hard to get separate rooms let alone separate bathrooms! We were able to relax in the sitting room or on the balcony which was like a private dining room and then get ready for the evenings without getting in each others way in the bathrooms. It is in easy walking distance of the shops and beaches. The Staff were great and the pool private and relaxing. It has a real Bali feel to the whole place. Lovely dark timber is a feature along with the gardens.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review if you need 2 beds get the 2 bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

After reading Trip Adviser reviews we were nervous about staying in a studio apartment because of comments about the view of a wall. So we booked a one bedroom apartment. It had a lovely view of the pool and lots of palm trees and other greenery. The owners and staff were lovely and we had a very nice time during our stay. The location was perfect, as it was only a block or so from the main street. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort

Address: 22 Owens St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located... just 100 metres from the main shopping area in Port Douglas Village, and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the lively marina. Port Douglas Australia has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks.Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the award winning Port Douglas Accommodation, Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Inspiring holiday accommodation.Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools, cooled in summer and heated in winter. Unwind and refresh in our award winning Li'Tya Spa Dreaming Day Spa. Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort has a special charm that stimulates the sixth sense, the sense of pleasure.The perfectly located Port Douglas Accommodation in Tropical Australia is waiting for you. You'll never forget your stay in Port Douglas Australia or Hibiscus Resort and Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.