We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Save Saved
You added Verandahs Boutique Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic holiday! Verandahs is perfectly located for all the amenities Port Douglas has to offer and the accommodation itself is very nice. Sue and Greg were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful. The pool is great and my two daughters would simply have swam in it all day! I would highly recommend and we will be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    38
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Me and my 3 year old sister and my parents had a wonderful stay. Service couldn't have been better. Sue and Greg were really helpful and friendly, and we got to borrow sand toys and keep them on our balcony for the week. The swimming pool was great and we had lots of fun in it. It is very close to the beach and the village so we could have an ice-cream everyday. Great family holiday place. We had a very nice room. These are some describing words for Verandahs: fantastic, great, awesome, any good words you can think of. (Lewis, 7 years old)

Room Tip: If you have children ask Sue to borrow sand toys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Verandahs. The hospitality started when we booked. Kathryn sent us an email to confirm our booking. Our transfers were organised by them so getting from the airport in Cairns was easy. Sue could not have been any more friendly and helpful. She was able to book the trips we wanted to, organise bikes and make great suggestions throughout the week. Nothing was to much trouble. It was nice to have it all charged to the room and pay once at the end. The unit we had was light and bright. Kids had their own room and beds, there is a kitchen, dining and lounge and a master bedroom with ensure. Importantly there was also a small laundry in the room and big balcony. All on all very pleasant. The kids loved the pool area which was like an oasis watering hole. Not too big and not too small. We were a 2 min walk from the main drag. A bakery is 1min away, beach 5 min. A wonderful place to stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We just completed a week stay with our son,daughter-in-law and 15 month old grand baby. We rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit from Sue. It was perfect!! We could walk 2 blocks to the beach and Into town for shops & restaurants. The unit was very comfortable and all of Sue's recommendations were excellent! This is a beautiful spot and we would stay here again! Perfect for families! The extra effort and hospitality from Sue made our stay incredible!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in October 2012 as the second stop of our Honeymoon! We were treated exceptionally well by Sue, the Manager, who allocated us a lovely apartment in the main reception building overlooking the pool. It was a fantastic space, with everything you could need! The living space was beautifully furnished, and ensured a very comfortable stay. Having the washing machine and dryer made a world of difference, as our 3 week journey meant washing clothes was essential!

The apartments are fantastically located for both the main shopping and eating street in Port Douglas, less than a 2 minute walk away to everything you could possibly need, and a 2 minute walk to the famous 4 mile beach! It was perfectly located as it was near enough everything without any of the noise reaching us!

Sue was also fantastic. She went out of her way giving advice and helping us whenever we needed information etc. She arranged our trip to the Great Barrier Reef which was fantastic, she even checked the weather and sea forecasts to make sure we chose a good day for the trip! She also treated us to a drink from freshly cut coconuts from one of the poolside trees! The staff really couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

The pool was lovely, very refreshing after a hot day! Although not the biggest pool around, it was everything we wanted, clean water, palm trees, lovely lounge beds, and all very well maintained.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Verandahs and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Port Douglas. The independence gained from having your own fully functioning apartment was wonderful.

Thank you to Sue for such a wonderful and memorable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Vernandahs earlier this year and had the most wonderful stay. A perfect location so close to the main street and all the coffee shops and restaurants.
Our apartment was wonderfu more than big enough for four adults and 3 children. The pool is heated so we spent so much time there. The reception staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. When booking everything was handled for us we were travelling with someone with a disability and everything was organised with perfect organisation and made our holiday a complete success. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: The ground floor was great for us as stairs would have posed a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely room in a pleasant complex. Up one flight of stairs, 2x2 apartment was clean bright & spacious overlooking the pool. Very close to the main street. Breakfast on the balcony is accompanied by a wide variety of birdlife in the lovely grounds, quite charming.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verandahs Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Address: 7 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verandahs Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Boutique Apartments - beautiful tropical style holiday apartments set in lush tropical gardens and ideally located a mere 50 metres from the heart of Macrossan Street's Cafes, Bars & Boutique Shops & only 150 metres to the famous 4 Mile Beach. Blending luxurious comfort with impressive facilities, Verandahs Boutique Apartments offer 4.5 Star facilities perfectly designed to take in the ambiance of the tropical climate whilst combining all the comforts and convenience of home ~Book Direct~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Verandahs Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Boutique Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verandahs Boutique Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.