We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verandahs - a tropical treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Verandahs Boutique Apartments to your Saves list
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northants UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Verandahs - a tropical treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

Verandahs, run by the friendly and charming Sue and Greg, was one of the highlights of our trip down under over Christmas 2007. It is 5 minutes walk from Macrossan Street and the town's shops, restaurants and bars, and 5 minutes in the other direction is Four Mile Beach. The apartments are spacious, clean and wonderfully comfortable, and the hotel owners could not be more helpful. They did everything possible to make our stay memorable, advised us on trips and taxis, and even leant us boogie boards for the beach! The hotel has a lovely swimming pool surrounded by palm trees, which was perfect for a dip after a day out exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
134
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Stayed in the Verandahs early Jan 2008. Had a great time in PD. The problem with PD is that there can be too much to do in the time you stay there and many of the trips are too similar in price/itinery to choose from. However, with the enthusiastic hosts, Greg and Sue, you've got a wealth of inside knowledge of which trips to do and which to leave out. Sue helped us with our tight schedule and we had an amazing stay.

The hotel is great too. All the things you'd need including a/c which is an absolute must have. The rooms are large and well equiped and ours had a great pool view (as did many others). The pool was safe and clean and the patio area had enough sunbeds for anyone who wanted one. There was also a BBQ by the pool area that guests could use.The centre of PD is just a 2 minute walk away too.

  • Liked — Locaton and hotel hosts local knowledge
  • Disliked — No Lifts (for suitcases)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

We recently stayed at Verandahs on a trip to Port Douglas and had a great experience. The apartment was clean, modern and in a great location just a minute walk from the town centre. The owner and her daughter we very helpful, they listened to what type of tour we wanted and advised us on what they thought was the best us, booked the tours, putting the costs on our accommodation bill and were eager for feedback on our return. They really helped us make the most of our stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Victoria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

I have just returned from my second holiday at Verandahs Boutique Apartments. May I congratulate the management of this fantastic holiday retreat! I highly recommend Verandahs to anyone from families to couples and individuals seeking relaxing comfortable, stylish affordable accommodation right in the heart of Port Douglas. Verandahs is within walking distance to Macrossan Street (about 50 metres) and provides ample parking although a vehicle is not required in this unique Boutique location. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

A co-worker recommended we stay here, and they were right! Sue and Greg helped us with planning activities from the first phone call until we checked-out. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and large bedrooms. We have kids aged 11, 9 and 3, and they all sleep in one bedroom, with the 3 year old in a cot (pack-n-play) that was waiting for us when we arrived. The in-room washer and seperate dryer were great, so was the full size kitchen. The pool area was great, and well gated to keep the 3 year old safe. Wi-fi internet ($5/day) worked great in lobby/porch area, although it would have been nice to have in the room...which is in their plans. If you have small kids or elderly, try and get a unit on the lower level to reduce the number of steps to climb. Everything is walking distance, groceries, rental car, beach, great resturants, even the marina. The location is also near the part of the beach that has public life guards, bathrooms, water toy rentals and beach chair/umbrella rentals. Considering the beach is 4 miles long, it was good to be close to these conviences with a small child.

  • Liked — Large clean rooms, close to the village.
  • Disliked — Lack of view from the windows.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Location-wise the Verandahs is ideally situated in Port Douglas, on Davidson St literally round the corner from Macrossan St, the town's main street where all the restaurants and shops are situated and less than a 3 minute walk to 4 Mile Beach, but is far enough away to be really peaceful at night.

My wife, two children (ages 7 and 4) and myself stayed at the Verandahs apartments in August 07 for 5 nights. Our apartment was first class, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms (with bath), spacious living area and first-class kitchen. We also had a patio area complete with bbq, table and chairs, and there was a washing machine and tumble dryer (essential for my wife), iron and ironing board within the apartment. We have stayed in many hotels and apartments and it really is A class, spacious, luxurious and finished to a very high standard. There's also a small but lovely pool in a private courtyard/oasis area at the Verandahs and our boys really enjoyed it.

The apartment itself was as clean as a new pin, and on arrival we were welcomed by Sue the owner who was extremely nice and very knowledgeable about the area, making suggestions about trips we could take and what was good for the children. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and little things like giving the kids buckets and spades for the beach and loaning us body boards when we said we were going there really made the difference to us.

Sue suggested that because we had young children, and one was a non swimmer, we used a particular Great Barrier Reef tour operator (Quicksilver) as we wanted to experience this while in Port Douglas and she booked everything for us: true to form the experience was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and her husband and they were very family-friendly, sometimes kids can shout and yell but Sue always had time to chat to the kids. The day we were leaving she arranged for us to checkout later in the afternoon as she understood when you have to go it can be a bit fraught to swim/beach etc. with nowhere to get changed and we really appreciated it. We were in Australia for over 3 weeks and travelled around and our best accommodation experience was definately the Verandahs. I would recommend it to anyone. It was value for money and more.

  • Liked — High standard of furnishings, size of Apt and 2 bathrooms, and washing machine
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Verandahs is a fairly small and very welcoming apartment hotel. The manager, Sue, made us feel really at home and nothing was too much trouble. She booked trips to the reef, bugy jumping, taxi to airport and made reservations for dinner!
The apartments were roomy and well appointed with modern clean looking interiors. Our two children loved the pool and it was very handy to walk down from the apartment to the poolside in a couple of minutes.
These apartments are equally convenient for the beach and the shops and restaurants.
I highly reccomend this hotel and hope you enjoy your stay as we did.

  • Liked — The Friendly service
  • Disliked — laundry not changed daily
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verandahs Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Address: 7 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verandahs Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Boutique Apartments - beautiful tropical style holiday apartments set in lush tropical gardens and ideally located a mere 50 metres from the heart of Macrossan Street's Cafes, Bars & Boutique Shops & only 150 metres to the famous 4 Mile Beach. Blending luxurious comfort with impressive facilities, Verandahs Boutique Apartments offer 4.5 Star facilities perfectly designed to take in the ambiance of the tropical climate whilst combining all the comforts and convenience of home ~Book Direct~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Verandahs Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Boutique Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verandahs Boutique Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.