We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terraces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terraces to your Saves list
Beach Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Escape the Winter!!
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We are a family of 5, with three kids under 11 years. We stayed at The Beach Terraces for a week in July. We had a two bedroom apartment with a rollaway bed for our third child. The apartment was spacious and clean. There are three pools for the kids, plenty of information available for reef cruises etc. The Beach Terraces are only a few minutes walk from beautiful Four Mile Beach and about 5 minutes from Macrossan Street in the centre of Port Douglas. It was our first time visiting Port Douglas and the owners were very helpful with advice on what to do. It was great to be able to hire beach towels too. Our Quiksilver bus picked us up outside our door. It was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday are were sorry we weren't staying longer. We'll be back!

  • Liked — The convenience of the location
  • Disliked — Pools not heated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    53
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We spent 7 nights at Beach Terraces after looking it up on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The position is great - close to beach and Macrossan Street. The bus stop is seconds away and there is also a bus that comes past the front on a regular basis ( for wider travels). Unfortunately the weather was not ideal, although it was warm it was windy, and the beach was shut for a few days. The owners/managers were very friendly and helpful. If you have young children I would ask for a ground floor apartment as there are no elevators, we were lucky enough to have unit 1 which looked out onto the street and also over the pool at the back. There are 3 pools - two out the front one of which is a paddling pool (these seem to be in the shade most of the time) and one out the back. It was very quiet and we would definately recommend it.

  • Liked — position
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed in the beachfront terraces for 6 nights. The location is fabulous with ocean views and 2 minutes across the very quiet road to the 4 mile beach. The property is in 2 parts with the terraces being the older, the other section is know merely as Beaches. The apartment was huge. We had a 2 bedroomed, with 2 bathrooms. The property is over 2 floors. The downstairs is open plan with fully fitted kitchen and utility with washing machine and dryer (washing powder supplied). The kitchen is fully equipped with cleaning materials and cleaners, also washing up liquid supplied. There is a dining area and living area with TV, DVD, video and radio. The apartment is fully airconditioned. There are 3 terraces one off the living area, and one off each of the bedrooms. The rear one is huge with loungers and table and chairs. The front one has the best ocean views. The apartment is within easy walking distance of the the main street. Port Douglas is not very big and easy to get around. The property also has 2 pools. There was also a supply of tea, coffee and milk. There was also a dishwasher. This was a great location and an extremely well equipped apartment. Very spacious and comfortable. Also great value for money at only 190 australian dollars a night. I would thoroughly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

After 2 weeks of going around in Goldcoast and sunshine coast, it was a welcome relive to stay at the beach terraces for 10 days.

The apartment was airy and spacious, we had a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was huge for us with only a child.The apartment are clean and tidy. The resort manager George and Treveen were so helpful that they booked all our tours.

We enjoyed the daily walk to the beach (3 Mins)and to the village which is only a 10 mins walk away. There are 2 pools at the terraces.
Eating out is expensive does we did most of the cooking at the apartment, but on our last day we found a restuarant near the wharfs called the community club where the locals go for their dinners/drinks. The setting is excellent facing the wharfs, as you sit down to have your dinner, you could watch the boats go by. The price is also reasonable Regretted not finding it earlier.

  • Liked — Vicinity to the beach and to the village
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Have dinner at the community club
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Beach Terraces. We chose them because of their vicinity to the beach and town and were not disappointed. We found the bathroom/laundry a bit of a worry due to the condensation. But the living and sleeping areas were excellent. The owners were most helpful. As we are from a colder climate (N.Z.) we would have preferred the pools to have been heated. Unfortunately for us, there was a major building project going on, we had our own alarm clock every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

Accommodatin was clean and modern with all the conveniences including washing machiens and dishwashers Mid winter when we went but swam every day at the beach (5 min walk away) and shoped every day (10 Min walk away). Motel pool a little cool but was fine. Great BBQ.
TV should have been larger but would stay there again rather than risk another place to stay. Great place on the whole

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

We stayed here at the beginning of our travels around Australia and could not have chosen a better place. Nice peceful appartments, two minutes stroll to the beach (should you wish to stray from the two beautiful pools they have there).
Good size appartments with all mod cons supplied. It was a little strange to get used to the bathroom also being the laundry room at first but all worked well.
This is a family run business, and the husband and wife team really do help you a lot.
There is A great BBQ area with tools provided and you can sit by the pool at night and eat in peace.
The appartments are a 5 min walk into the main shopping area and could not be better positioned.
We would return if we were in the area again as Port Douglas in itself is an excellent place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Address: 15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.