We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Port Douglas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terraces

Save Saved
You added Beach Terraces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Escape the Winter!!
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Our favourite place in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I think of Beach Terraces as 'our place in Port Douglas'. Whenever we come, we always stay here. My husband loves the beach and it is so close he can go several times a day. Beach Terraces are also close to Macrossan street caffees, restaurants and shops - a pleasant walking distance. The apartments are clean, well maintained, well appointed and surrounded by beautiful tropical greenery. The rooms are spacious, the bedroom and the balcony have lovely outlook. The street is quiet - there are no commercial premises nearby as is the case with many establishments on Macrossan street. The hosts Treveen and George are always very helpful and hospitable.
Port Douglas is a great place to use as a base for day trips to Daintree, the Reef, Atherton Tablelands or even Cooktown. Treveen or George will make arrangements for any trips but we prefer to hire a car and travel on our own (except to the Reef, of course) There is a good and safe garage under the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylors Lakes, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We didn't really know what to expect, but we found the 300 metre walk into town quite relaxing as was the beach. "Beach Terraces" George and Traveen were always helpful with tour arrangements and ready to spend their time even for a short chat. The accommodation was clean and well appointed and our apartment on the 1st floor facing Garrick Street provided a quiet tropical outlook from the balcony. It is just a place that we were relaxed in , and if we return to Port Douglas, we will be return guests. "Beach Terraces" also appears to provide for families with pools and BBQ facilities available.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor facing Garrick Street, our room was quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stay at beach terraces 3 times, beautiful pool area, apartments well maintained and clean, just a lovely relaxed place to stay, helpful and friendly hosts bob and treveen. 1 min walk to patrolled beach and only 5 min walk to shops, will definitely return again next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed at Beach Terraces four out of the six times we visited Port Douglas. We have stayed at other apartments but always tend to return to Beach Terraces for the convenience of being so close to the beach and an easy stroll to Macrossan Street and the Marina. The units are comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. George and Treveen are helpful and hospitable hosts. We always enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: If you like an afternoon snooze, rooms away from the front pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed here for just over a week a number of years ago - way before Tripadvisor - fabulous place to stay and staff friendly and full of ideas of where to eat and what trips to go on.
well deserve staying here - you wouldn't miss out

Room Tip: have a ground floor -you get a little patio to your self
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What made this a great stay was Bob and Treveen, a very nice approachable couple who really looked after us. I was looking for an apartment that had a full kitchen so we could do a few cook-ins which this did.

I would definitely recommend Beach Terraces to friends and family.
It is in a lovely quite street off the highway, very close to the flagged swimming beach, and a short walk to town.The apartment was very spacious and set out well especially for a 1 bedroom

Enjoyed our stay here and would come back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, I think whatever you end up with will be a suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Overall this property deserves a GOOD rating. Not a Very good. There was no GOOD option. The pools are fantastic. The BBQ area is great. The rooms are clean and tidy. The hosts were lovely. But the place is a little tired. The bed had springs coming out of them. The dryer didnt work properly. The loungeroom was nice and big but the couches were uncomfortable and had no cushions so you were leaning against the cane/wicker armrests. If you want to do some cooking you will have to bring just about everything. There was no oil, glad wrap etc. Previous places we have stayed at provide all those things. The location was great (1 block back from the beach). The saving grace of this place is the 3 pools. The are just fantastic. If its noisy in one then just go to another. Lots of shade if you like or full bore sun baking. This place is very nice its just that we expected (for the price which was during easter) a little more. But we had a lovely relaxing time. We love Port Douglas. We probably would look elsewhere next time just for a little more of the finishing touches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Address: 15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.