We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for $, great for families, close to both town and beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terraces

Save Saved
You added Beach Terraces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Escape the Winter!!
Ranked #22 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for $, great for families, close to both town and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at numerous accommodation establishments in Port Douglas - some poor and some great. This was perfect for us - 2 bedroom apartment for my husband and I and our 2.5 year old. It's spacious, very clean, close to the beach and to the main street of Port Douglas. The rooms are well equipped and not just with cheap and nasty appliances (sharp knives, large fridge, dishwasher, heaps of cooking pots and pans, containers etc) The resorts facilities are clean too I.e. bbq, swimming pools etc. Would definitely stay here again and again. Management are great to deal with and are friendly and understanding. A+

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachterraces, Manager at Beach Terraces, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive words they are appreciated, we look forward to meeting you again in the not so distant future!! Best wishes, Treveen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The Hosts running the apartments Treveen and George were very friendly and helpful with a lot of excellent advice on where to go and what tours to book, which they took care of for us (loved the tour to the Great Barrier Reef), The location to the beach and shops is so convenient, that you don’t need to have a car. The apartment was large with 2 bedrooms. Kitchen was fully equipped with all you needed for cooking a meal. The bathrooms were spotless and the unit was fully equipped for washing and drying. We had a most enjoyable stay in a beautiful location. Lots of little restaurants and cafes for all tastes and budgets and the Sunday Market was Fantastic.

Room Tip: veranda over looking the beautiful pool on the East side, Perfect spot for a cupper and a read of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose The Beach Terraces after reading dozens of glowing reviews so we were a little suprised and disappointed with our stay.
True, the rooms are spacious and the location is good - within walking distance to the beach and restaurants - but our unit was very dated, with old fluro lights, 80s style cane furniture and the bathroom and wardrobes were also badly in need of a makeover.
The worst aspect of our stay was the herd of elephants above us. They never stopped stomping around, making sleep virtually impossible (except when they slept).
Pools were quite murky with leaves.
Apartment, although dated, was very clean

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Martha. Vic
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were really pleased with the size if our two bedroom apartment, two bathrooms, plenty of living area and nice balcony to relax on of an evening. Very clean, nice pools, great location within walking distance to Macrossan street shops and restaurants and only one street away from four mile beach. A very pleasant and enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beach Terraces was in a perfect location for both going to the beach and heading into town. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the main floor and was surprised at the large size of the living area, bedroom, bathroom, and balcony. The suite had everything we needed to cook dinner as well had ensuite laundry if needed. The pool in the front is nice but there isn't too much room to lounge as the deck area only holds about 6/7 lounge chairs but the pool is great for a dip during the hot days. The owners were very accommodating and helpful. The communal bbq was ideal to have around.

I would recommend to a young couple looking to have a relaxing stay as well as families, would not recommend for young people looking to party.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which had a small view of the pool but was still very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Location location location! We had a wonderful time at the Beach Terraces, our room was spacious and clean. Only negative was that it was on the ground floor near the stairs so we got a bit of morning noise (but not bad). We enjoyed both the pools which most of the time we had to ourselves! It was walking distance about 50m (in bare feet) to Four Mile Beach and the Surf Life Saving Club where they served lovely meals.
We had an issue with the local taxi service not turning up to take us to a wedding which we were rather panicked and upset about.... George (manager) came to our rescue when he realised the taxi hadn't turned up and kindly took us to the wedding himself, which was really nice of him.

I would definately recommend the Beach Terraces for a wonderful stay in Port Douglas!!

Thanks George and Treveen :-)

Room Tip: I would recommend taking a room on the first or second floor.... there was a little noise on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachterraces, Manager at Beach Terraces, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you again in the future!! Merry Christmas and best wishes for the festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beach Terraces is a great place to base yourself whilst in Port Douglas. Good Price, good location and nice pools. Apartment was very spacious and extremely clean. We had a great stay. Only minor minus was that the pool area closed at 7pm. Would have been nice to have been able to have a swim after diner.

Room Tip: Our Apartment on the top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Address: 15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.