We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely townhouse, [--] noise!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas to your Saves list
Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   68 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland QLD 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
NSW
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely townhouse, [--] noise!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Booked through portdouglas.com.au the booking agency woman was very pleasant and seemed throughly pleased with my choice for 2 nights. However, (a big one too!) next door is undergoing renovations and the drilling/sanding noise wakes you at exactly 8am. 2 doors up there is a massive building site for the Matrix apartments and the clanging and banging starts around 8am. Be prepared for your water supply to be off...
Otherwise, and obviously not the fault of Toni and Bruno the managers, the townhouse we were in was very pleasant. Well stocked (with even a small amount of washing machine powder, much appreciated) and tranquil. (Until some Germans were having a massive row next door!). I would say without the painters/decorators/plumbers/electricians/builders/telecoms tradies everywhere it is a very good deal and in a fab location. But next time I think I will stay at those nice QUIET apartments by Beaches Cafe with the sea view. Air con is ACE btw!!! I froze my [--] off.

  • Liked — Cool, roomy and inexpensive
  • Disliked — building noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunothedog, Manager at Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 10, 2008
We would like to thank all our guests for their tolerance and understanding over the past 18 month whilst construction of a resort close by has been undertaken. To celebrate the completion of this building on July 01 2008 we would like to welcome you back to Port Douglas to enjoy the tranquility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

This is the perfect place for families or couples to stay a few days in Port Douglas. It's a small complex but the apartments are clean, roomy and fully self contained. The pool and grounds are beautiful as well. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the beach and from shopping and restaurants. You do not need a car while in Port Douglas. And what makes it even nicer is Toni and Bruno, the resident managers, they are a wonderful, down to earth couple, always willing to give you information and answer all your questions. I highly recommend Port Douglas over Cairns, it's a lot more beautiful, quaint, and less expensive.

  • Liked — The location and the apartments
  • Disliked — The room had a funny, musty odor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

We stayed here 3 nights in November 2006 and can't say enough nice things about the place. The apartments are very nice, comfortable and well equipped. The hosts are wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The pool and grounds are beautiful and the location is the best. Truly steps from the beach and walking distance to everything in town. Loved it and wish I was there right now!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

The ideal town for a tropical experience .. the ideal accommodation without the hassle of a resort. Friendly knowledgeable hosts who know when to leave you alone. Comfortable with a scenic poolside and close to everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed three nights at the Coral Sea Villas in Port Douglas and was extremely pleased with the place. It is not the Sheraton or the five star resorts and does not have the view of the sea. However, it is located at the quiet end of the shopping/restaurant strip and and just 4 minutes away from the beach. The villa is a self contained apartment with two bedrooms that can sleep four people comfortably. It has a well equipped lounge room, kitchen, washing machine, dryer and the all important air conditioning through out the apartment for those hot days. The pool is clean and adequate. The facility manager, David is very friendly and helpful. We recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Port Douglas. The website is --------------------

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas

Address: 68 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland QLD 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine holiday accommodation situated 75 meters from Four Mile beach in the main street of Port Douglas Queensland. The 9 multi-level holiday villas are located just 3 minutes walk to the main retail and restaurant precinct of Port Douglas. All holiday apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchen and laundry facilities. The lounge area has cable TV, DVD player and a sofa bed. All rooms have air-conditioning and free off street undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sea Villas Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.