We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Plaza Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Central Plaza Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Central Plaza Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for two weeks over Christmas and New Year and can't recommend this property highly enough for anyone looking for a spacious, clean apartment with great facilities. I love the convenience of having washer/dryer, beds are great and the unit has everything you need for a comfortable holiday.

As hosts Fiona and Iain are very friendly and accommodating, no request is too difficult and they go to a lot of trouble to ensure that everything in the complex is as it should be.

My family and I have stayed here numerous times and have never been disappointed by choosing Central Plaza. It honestly just keeps getting better :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    53
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
95
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and was completely impressed, as a family from Cairns we found Central Plaza an excellent facility, close to Macrossan st, wonderful apartments, clean, modern with two bathrooms in a two bed apartment. We will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimbulah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The two bedroom apartment with spa bath ensuite and second bathroom was enormous, as was the swimming pool. At $140 a night, the value was amazing. This is our second stay and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beach and town 5 minute walk. Clean. Comfortable. Modern. Spacious. Well appointed kitchen. Nice beds. Washer/dryer. Good air conditioner. Nice pool with grill. Super folks that own and operate the property (Ian and Fiona). Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We booked at the Central Plaza Port Douglas after finding a great deal online and reviewing the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews weren't wrong, it was exactly what we needed for our stay. Big, clean apartments. Fully stocked with utensils and cooking supplies, nice big balcony, great pool and a BBQ to top it all off. We loved being able to cook our own meals and also be close to restaurants. This was our first trip to Port Douglas so we didn't know anything about the distance to the beach and town before we booked, and we ended up finding the location to be perfect. We will definitely be back. Great Value, Great Apartment, Great Location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was surprised by the quality of the bedding (nice sheets, very comfy mattresses, good new pillows) and the very white bath towels in plentiful supply for our weeks stay. Our 2 bedroom apartment/ 2 bathrooms apartment with balcony was very spacious with enough room to invite our travel companions over for dinner or lounging about. Its simple-in a clean, uncluttered way-but has everything you need including great washing machine and dryer, dishwasher etc.

The pool is a great feature-Big, clean and with a spa. The 2 big outdoor shaded tables are perfect for when you want to eat by the pool-Or just be sitting up at the table instead of lounging about-You can easily just camp out all day this way-bringing down your drinks or meals...and there's a BBQ with all tools and condiments provided and even a fridge, by the pool. I particularly like that there's a small grass and shady bit of the poolside, which gives a little restful zone to the poolside-for shade or for the kids to roll about on.

I'd recommend this place for any families who don't want over priced holidays but get a good clean modern place, with a great pool-And You don't get the big winds blowing off the sea as the sea front places seem to suffer from. Its just a 5 mins walk to the beach and to the shops.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies out to the pool could help you not feel so hidden away in comparison to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Port Douglas was very busy due to people coming to view the solar eclipse. We could not stay where we had previously stayed, due to accommodation being booked out, so booked Central Plaza, which was a good move.

We had a nice large cool apartment for a week. The Central Plaza is in a good location, and has a pool, small spa and bbq area. The apartment also has a washing machine, dryer and stove.

The owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza
Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Plaza Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.