We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Plaza Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Central Plaza Port Douglas to your Saves list
Central Plaza Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay. Apartment was spacious, clean and well appointed. The only downside was having to drag our luggage up 2 flights of stairs, but this is only a very minor point. We would definitely stay there again. Port Douglas is a fantastic place to stay. When planning a trip to Far North Queensland, our advice is to stay here for more nights than you do in Cairns.

  • Liked — well appointed facilities
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    63
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
101
51
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Best place we stayed during our 5 week tour. Not 5 star luxury but then you are not paying for that. Clean, great facilities - cable TV, and a fantastic location. Added to that personable owners who realy want you to enjoy your stay. Cant believe the previous two reviews and more importantly nor can the kids who also thought it was great (james' words)

Port Douglas is a fantastic place, laid back and relaxed and this place personifies everything that is good about it.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

After reading all the wonderful reviews and having never been let down by trip advisor before, we were very disappointed in the apt/hotel.

Upon arrival, It looked like something from he 1960's from the outside. The rooms were very basic and tired. The door locks were very stiff, curtains were hookless and screens had rips in them, not much of a deterrant to even a half hearted mosi!. We didn't see Iian but whilst Fiona was nice enough, we always felt that she was in a rush and felt guilty if we asked a question that was more than a 5 second answer. The pool was salt water which isn't stipulated and we would not have booked this place it if we had known that as my son has exzema and cannot put his face into salt water.

The rooms are clean but that is about it! The building is fairly near to the town and the lovely beech, and Port Douglas itself is charming, but we passed far nicer places to stay along our transfer in. Don't go if you don't want to clean the apartment, empty the bins and wash up and put away before you leave, that was a surprise. There aren't any lifts either, so not for the elderly or infirm without being on the ground floor. We were a family of five travelling around Australia for 3 weeks, staying at 7 different aprt/hotels along the way and this was by far the worst, infact all the others were great.We will never go back!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We chose Central Plaza apartments after such wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, and stayed for 7 nights with our 2 children. After reading about the noise problem with apartments on the main road, we had requested one away from the main road when we booked online with the previous managers last year. Upon check-in we were very disappointed to find we were on the main road, which is VERY noisy. The traffic starts at around 6.30am with construction trucks, and continues all day. Our son is a light sleeper, so woke early every day, whilst we resorted to ear plugs. On check-in Manager Fiona noted we hadn't paid our deposit- which we had- and we had to go back through our visa records to show it had been paid.
The apartments are well equiped, the bathrooms and furniture are tasteful and comfortable. The positioning is good for both restaurants and the beach, however there is plenty of similar accommodation in the area.
The pool is slightly larger than the average, although the spa did not work while we were there and the pool appeared quite cold.
We had friends who stayed at another resort at the same time we did, and they had a spa on their balcony, a swim up apartment and mid week service, all for only a couple of hundred more than we paid. We know where we will be staying next time.

  • Liked — Facilities in apartment
  • Disliked — Positioning on main road and apathetic management
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

If you want to relax and enjoy the hospitality of Port Douglas then the Central Plaza is one accommodation I would strongly recommend. It is located within walking distance from a fantastic beach (4/5 minutes) and the small picturesque town of Port Douglas (8/10 minutes). The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard with the centrally located pool area ideal for relaxing or meeting other clients. Port Douglas is perfect for visiting the local Rain Forest or Barrier reef and all local tours or trips can be booked from the hotel reception. The staff are helpful, knowledgeable and above all real nice people which makes your stay at the Central Plaza even more memorable. My wife and I are already saving for a return visit.

  • Liked — Felt like you were at home.
  • Disliked — Nothing the Hotel ticked all the right boxes
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed at the Central Plaza for 8 nights, and it was great. It is good value for money, and within walking distance of everything Port Douglas has to offer. Our only gripe was that our room overlooked the main road and was very noisy first thing in the morning! The apartments are well maintained and have all of the amenities you would expect. You can also hire beach towels for $5 per person for your stay, which we certainly would have done if we had known!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

When it comes to Cairns and Port Douglas, Australia, the hotel and sightseeing choices can be mind-boggling. That's why we were so grateful to Fiona and Iian, managers of Central Plaza Port Douglas, for going the extra mile and ensuring that our stay was absolutely wonderful. While we were still in Sydney, we e-mailed Fiona at least a dozen times asking for information about the Barrier Reef—the weather, which charter boats to book to best see the Reef, etc. etc. etc. Each time she would reply immediately, in a friendly, professional manner. This is SO important when it comes to enjoying a stay. She and Iian booked two sensational excursions for us before we even arrived, and we are enormously grateful. Their accommodations are within easy walking distance to the lovely town of Port Douglas, and the two-bedroom apartment we stayed in met all our needs. Port Douglas is a rather upscale (yet comfortable) Barrier Reef town, and prices can be all over the map. I would highly recommend Central Plaza for families looking for a little extra space at rates that won't deplete the bank account.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Plaza Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.