We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, and oh so comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Villa San Michele
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   39 - 41 Macrossan Street | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct and save 25%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, and oh so comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This tasteful resort that looks brand new in the centre of Port Douglas is a real gem. You are literally just steps from everything on the main street and an easy five minute walk to the gorgeous Four Mile Beach (which has to be one of Australia's best). Apart from that the accommodation is ideal for a beach holiday - comfortable with everything you need and all in sparkling condition. The resort itself offers two smallish pools for the times you want to take a dip but don't want to walk to the beach. We found the management 100% on customer service in helping us with any enquiries and making tour bookings.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on street level and some are on the same level as the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for a top review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your time spent on our gorgeous Four Mile Beach. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    110
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
168
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have spent fantastic 9 days in july in port Douglas. We got everything we wanted by staing in Villa st Michele: heated swimming pool, walking distance to the beach, sunday markets, marina and shops.We arrived on saturday and were able to buy fresh food at the markets for the whole stay. We walked everywhere and had relaxing experience without need for the car.Staff members were very informative and helpful us with transferes from aiport, best reef trip, best choce of the restaurant. We had small inconvinience with the noise from italian restaurant on the first night. We like quiet place and were given room far away from the noise with balcony and garden view. We spent most of the time in pool or walking on the beach. I loved functional kitchen for easy food preparations.I am very grateful for the every staff member we had and their undestanding of our needs.Thanks for fantastic time Villa st Michele. Before you book your accomodation always phone in to specify your room and location requiments to avoid dissapointments during your stay. We will choose to go to port Douglas on every ossasion we can.

Room Tip: Call hotel and ask them to accomodate your preferences before you book the accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Great to hear you had such a nice stay and plan to return. We’re glad you enjoyed the heated swimming pool and our fantastic central location! We thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We liked it so much we would stay forever, if we could. We got huge apartment with 2 bedrooms, living room with kitchenette, 2 bathrooms and balcony. Close to everything. Maybe 15 min. to marina. We parked car in a garage and forget about it for 2 days. You can stroll everywhere you need from this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review - we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious 2 Bedroom Apartments. And that you made the most of our central location by walking everywhere! Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our travel agent told us about Villa San Michele after I told her we did not want to rent a car in Port Douglas. We wanted to be near everything, within walking distance. This was definitely the place to stay. It was near wonderful restaurants, the marina, and the beach. The place was hidden and you felt like you were far away from everything. Our third floor 2 bedroom apartment had a balcony that made you feel like you were in the woods. The master bedroom was roomy and had its own bathroom and TV. The living room was comfortable with a small kitchenette. The dining on the balcony was private and roomy. This was amazing vacation spot and we came home with all clean clothes after using one of the two free facilities, just bring your detergent. Every staff member went out of their way to make this a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: It was difficult to climb the 2 flights of stairs to the third floor with our heavy luggage, but wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
On behalf of all the staff at Villa San Michele thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location in the middle of Port Douglas with all the fabulous cafes, restaurants and shops right on our doorstep. Also great to hear you found our 2 Bedroom Apartments so comfortable and made use of the complimentary laundry facilities! We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Loved the addition of the heated pool - only place I've been able to swim in NQ believe it or not!!

This is by far the best accommodation in Port Douglas for the price - so central, spacious and love the mediterranean feel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for another great review! Was great to welcome you back for a second visit! Glad to hear you enjoyed the heated swimming pool - it is proving very popular during these cooler months. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metung, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We chose Villa San Michele on the basis of Trip Advisor comments - it was about the only self-catering property in our price range than didn't have more cons than pros! We were not disappointed. We arrived after reception closed and found the directions to our apartment - if only we'd read them properly! As it was, it took us a bit of casting around to arrive at the right place. However, once there, we were very happy with what we found - a spacious, very clean and quite well equipped apartment (even if some of the fitout is rather old fashioned). The complex is can be a bit noisy early in the evening (& when youngsters are playing in the pool) but it quietens down completely at night. The pools are small but very enjoyable - particularly the heated one in July. The location is terrific - right in the middle of Port Douglas, close to supermarkets and bottle shops (we were there for 9 nights and so were eating in quite a lot of the time), as well as restaurants. We'd booked a weekly service, but - sensibly - this was done in the middle of our stay, rather than towards the end. Best of all the reception staff - Karen and her colleagues - were extremely friendly and helpful. They advised on tour operators and booked tours for us, with payment put onto our hotel account to be settled at the end. Only two quibbles: the underground parking is limited and the spaces are tight (but it's free!) and the weekly service did not replenish bathroom and other staples.

Room Tip: Apartments on the south side face the garden and are quieter than those looking into the courtyards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for your review and great to hear you chose Villa San Michele on the basis of previous guest reviews. This year we were the proud recipients of a 2012 Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor! As you stated in your review we do offer both weekly and daily service rates and the weekly service (which is provided on all stays of 5+ nights) is always done in the middle of your stay. Although the tea and coffee supplies, along with bathroom toiletries, are not topped on a weekly service, other necessary items such as toilet paper and tissues are always replenished. Thanks again and we do hope to see you again at Villa San Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Was really impressed with the accomadation at Villa san Michele, the room had all the facilities you need even if we wanted to eat in and was clean when we arrived. It was also a nice touch after arriving late from the airport to find the lights left on for us.
I was a little bit worried as the type of room we would get as we booked through wotif - the room was exactly as pictured in the photos and although we didn't get a 'pool view' room the 'tropical garden view' was secluded and it was amazing that even though you are right in the middle of the main street of Port Douglas the rooms are very quiet. Less than a 5 min walk to the supermarket, heaps of different eateries nearby and the beach and marina are also within an easy 10 min walking distance.
The staff at Villa san Michele were always helpful and it was no issue arranging a trip to the reef and transfers back to the airport.
I had read a review that people found it concerning there were no windows in the bedroom and that the rooms were dark. The way the rooms are set up there isn't alot of natural light and you do need the lights on during the day but we didn't find this to be an issue. We also had friends staying at different accomadation but with exactly the same set up for their 1 bedroom apartment.
The pools are smaller than what I thought - more just for a dip or for the kids to play in but that hardly matters when the beach is so close.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa san Michele only down side I can think of was that the bed wasn't all that comfortable after we had been sleeping on it for a week...but then it's hard to find a bed as good as your one at home!

Room Tip: Rooms above ground floor would have much more sunlight in the room and on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review Villa San Michele after your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our self-contained apartments and found our central location to be nice and quiet. As you stated we do have pool view apartments and tropical garden view apartments. We also have street front apartments where you can watch the world go by on Macrossan Street. Great to hear our staff met your expectations. We are small team who strive to welcome and assist all of our guests! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan Street | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include complimentary Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, kitchen facilities, ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.