We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart kanagroos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas

Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas
Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
07 4099 3235
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$331*
and up
Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise...
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wildlife Habitat in Port Douglas is an immersion exhibit - an open and interactive environment for guests and animals to mingle in a spacious natural setting. Visitors wander along elevated boardwalks as birds fly and roam freely. Experience wildlife from the surrounding Rainforest, Wetlands, and Grasslands environments, and learn with our guided tours and presentations. Enjoy Breakfast with the Birds or Lunch with the Lorikeets as birds wander freely amongst the tables.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I heart kanagroos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Wildlife Habitat is really well done and I consider it a must-see in Port Douglas. Only a few of the animals are in enclosures. As a visitor, you walk through different habitats and the animals are just around you. It is possible to feed the kanagroos ans wallabies - I would suggest going first thing in the morning to do this as they are more active at this time of day. We got lots of great pictures of the birds and other wildlife. They do talks and tours which were very interesting. When you buy your ticket it allows you re-entry for free for the two following days so this is great for families. So schedule to go earlier in your visit so you can go back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    279
    51
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were told that the Breakfast with the Birds was a highlight - we had Lunch with the Lorikeets instead, but I wouldn't call it a highlight. Its a bit expensive for an average lunch and a few birds flying around, we walked through the different sections of the habitat. It is probably a great attraction for people travelling from overseas to see kangaroos etc.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaPTA_Group, Owner at Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our “Lunch with the Lorikeets” experience. Please keep in mind that the cost of $45 per adult (or $22.50 per child) includes general admission to Wildlife Habitat, which itself is valued at $32 per adult (or $16 per child). So in a sense, lunch is only an additional $13 on top of park entry, which some would see as excellent value for money for a hot and cold buffet.

As a result, the overall experience is more than just lunch with a few birds. Across the park, we have over 120 kangaroos, wallabies and pademelons, and over 500 birds, 160 mammals and 90 reptiles and amphibians - a total of over 750 diverse animals, also including koalas, cassowaries, and crocodiles. You can also see the world exclusives such as the only breeding pair of Black-necked storks in captivity, and the rare Lumholtz Tree Kangaroos and their breeding centre.

It sounds like you didn’t join any of the free guided tours and presentations on offer throughout the day, which enhance the overall experience. Further value is added by the fact that you can come back and visit again over the next 3 days.

- Ben Woodward, Family Owner & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a great way to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went here on our honeymoon last month and we had so much fun. We had lunch with the birds, so there was just birds everywhere you looked. The kookaburras were laughing and there was a lady bringing round a black cockatoo so everyone could hold it. The lunch was an all you can eat buffet with free tea and coffee which was quite nice. The staff were more than friendly and were very informative on all the tours etc. The place just has so much stuff you can see and it is a place "not to be missed" They give you a 3 day return pass as well so if you are still in the area you have the chance to go back and have breakfast with the birds. I took some really great photos at this place as the birds were so used to having people around you could get so close to them. I have been telling all my friends and family about this place, and I would come back if I am ever in Port Douglas in the future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing family day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Immersive environment, lots of birdlife and a great tour around the enclosure. Good selection of food at breakfast with the birds. Crocodile enclosure mostly closed on the day we went.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun experience... baby storks and Cassowary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lots of unique animals and the Wallabies and Kangaroos were fun. Buy the Roo food at the entrance..... and look out for the ducks :-),

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.