We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Aqueous On Port to your Saves list
Mantra Aqueous On Port
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice apartment, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was surprised about the big size of the apartment. An open kitchen, a nice bathroom, a wonderful bedroom and of cause the spa pool on the balcony were more than I had expected it. The hotel is in a good condition, it only could be a little bit cleaner in some courners.
The reception service was always helpful and very friendly.
A five minute walk to the beach and one minute walk to the main street make a good location in my opinion.
I would have expected that WiFi is included in the costs.
All in all I can recommend Mantra Aqueous on Port for every type of person.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I will pass on your feedback to our team members. In regards to WIFI, I appreciate your suggestion, and another option for guests are the two complimentary internet kiosks in the foyer.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    135
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
70
204
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to stay with helpful staff. There are 4 large pools for the 62 rooms so plenty of room swimming. Television is difficult to operate and identify channels...clear picture though. Shortage of sharp knives in kitchen. Good sofa bed and main bed(s). Recommend this apartment hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you GerryNZ for taking the time to pass on your positive experience from your recent stay at Mantra Aqueous on Port. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the cutlery and TV navigation.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel is in a great location so just a short walk to restaurants. Rooms were good and clean, but there was a strange musty smell to the corridors, although this might just have been the after affects of the cyclone. Spa bath on balcony was excellent and having kitchen and laundry was good. Staff were friendly, although some better instructions (like a map with layout) for those weary travelers that arrive in the middle of the night would have been appreciated but that is the only negative in the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you Rachael M for your taking the time to pass on feedback from your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time here, and we have noted your suggestion regarding some clearer directions available for late arrivals.
Cyclone Ita did cause some strong windy rain in Port Douglas, which in turn left a lot of moisture around the common areas of the resort. It dried up relatively quickly, but for a time after the event it did indeed leave a slight musty smell in these open areas. Our regular professional carpet cleaning of hallways will also be occurring in the next week, which will no doubt have these areas back to its usual state after all the rainfall we have received.
We look forward to having you back at Mantra Aqueous on Port in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at Mantra Aqueous for a week, the staff were really great; helpful and pleasant.

This was during the Cyclone Ita threat and the hotel was well organised, with regular information updates, it was quite impressive. There definitely was a musty smell in the hallways after all the rain.

The negative was no free wifi, we had to purchase internet time and then had problems with the connection, which meant time on the phone to the service provider, definitely not how I like to spend my holidays.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff, and I'll ensure this is passed on. Please accept our apologies regarding your wi-fi issues that were encountered. We also have 2 terminals in our foyer for internet that are complimentary to use.
We look forward to seeing you again in Port Douglas in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed in the Mantra for four nights room not bad but we where kept awake all night with a faulty safe beeping started at one thirty in the morning had no way to contact any staff and no way to stop it when I spoke with the manager in the morning he didn't seem to be very interested he said its not his fault I disagree with regular changing of the batteries this problem wouldn't have happened.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and again our sincere apologies that the low battery alert for your safe sounded during your stay. We definitely understand that this was not a welcomed noise at that time of the night.
Included in our welcome letter given to all guests, a sign located on our front desk, and inside our compendium located in rooms, is the information for guests to dial 9 to reach reception, which will divert to our after hours support team if reception is closed. Please accept our apologies if their was any confusion with which number to dial if in need of urgent assistance after reception closes.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great location in the Main Street
Bit of a musky smell in halfways
Nice rooms
Aircon didn't work but they got it working straight away
Good hotel overall
Nice and helpful staff
Beautiful pools
Great spa on the deck
Next door to brumby bakery

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here in Port Douglas, and we look forward forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed in March for 7 days We were greeted at reception by a lovely smile and most helpful young lady Chloe and after enqiring upgraded our 1 bedroom apartment to a swim out room Wow! The room was
great,even better than what we were expecting fully equipped and the pool sparkling clean. Staff were always very pleasant and most helpful. There was no daily room service which was of no concern to us it was no problem if anything
was required. Great position for close proximity to walk to beach and shops. We definitely

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you luckyfor1 for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us at Mantra Aqueous on Port. Our 1 Bedroom Apartments are all self-contained and equipped with all the necessities needed when away from home and in the perfect location within walking distance to the centre of town and the beach. I will be sure to let Chloe and the rest of the team know your kind feedback about their great service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Aqueous on Port in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqueous On Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.