We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Aqueous On Port to your Saves list
Mantra Aqueous On Port
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great 4 night stay in June, in a swim out one bedroom apartment.
The location was excellent, within close walking distance to everything. Check in was very easy and efficient which was great as we arrived at 1130pm.
The bedroom and living spaces were great and very comfortable. The fully equipped kitchen could have used a few more utensils, sharp knives etc, not what I would call fully equipped.
The bathroom was nice, but overall needed a bit more attention to cleaning.
We found the reception staff friendly and helpful with the few issues we had come up.
Overall it was a great stay.
We got a great deal that worked out to about $185 a night, not sure it would be worth the full rate for the room.

Room Tip: In hot weather, the swim out rooms would be invaluable. During winter months, the pool was a bit col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
HI Laurencrambridge,

Many thanks for your quality assurance review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    135
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
70
203
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor. The apartment was clean and roomy, with a deck over looking the pool. We had a problem with the safe and the staff , who we found to be helpful and friendly, didnt hesitate to sort it out. The Mantra is located within a very short walking distances from the beach and the town which is very convenient, maybe a little too convenient as the shops keep calling.
We loved our stay at the Mantra Aqueous but had a couple of things that detracted from an otherwise great property. Our room backed on to the back of the shops which at night time was very noisey with refridgeration and air conditioning units continually running. Had to close the doors and put on our AC unit to drown it out. The other thing was we were only given two towels and when requested for new ones they said they are only changed every 4 days. When the temperature is as hot as it is and having a couple of showers a day I feel they should of been changed daily or at least been given more so that we could of washed them in the laundry.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the opposite side from the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
HI DMitchy

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday and that the location and staff have created the ideal experience for you. We thank you for your feedback which we can use to assist our future Guests. The apartment rooms are fitted with washers and dryers for your towels and linen and of course if extra s are required we offer these complimentary.
For future guests that are particularly light sleepers the Southern Side of the Resort should be requested away from Macrossan street. We do find however that our Northern side closest to Macrossan street is the most popular given the welcome of the early morning Sun.
Sincerely
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I have just had 5 nights at Mantra Acqueous in a one brm apartment on the top (2nd) floor. Our particular apartment was clean and very well-appointed. We enjoyed the flexibility of having the full kitchen so that we could prepare a meal if we didn't want to eat out sometimes. The spa bath was a bit small and due to govt regulation you can't have it particularly full but we used it a couple of times - don't really need it in such a warm climate though! The loction was the big winner for us - a few paces and you're amongst the eateries but vitually no noise disturbance. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
HI gregclinch

Thank you for your review titled Such a Great Location. By highlighting the proximity to town and eateries “but virtually no noise disturbance” you have clearly define our position and tranquillity.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Sincerely
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First trip to Port Douglas... Did a lot of research and chose the Mantra Aqueous on Port...Stayed 8 nights and wish it was longer. Stayed in the 2 bedroom swim out ( room 8, which is 8a and 8b) Rooms large clean bed was king size ( 2singles joined) and was the most comfy hotel bed I have ever slept in, a fully equipped kitchen with microwave/oven, hotplates large fridge etc...BBQ on deck, washing machine dryer flat screen TV dvd player and IPod docks own bathroom. Second room which is hotel room attached has small fridge and has its own TV dvd and bathroom. Has 2 spas one on each deck( a little small for groups to sit in).. Location fabulous 4-5 mins walk to beach and shopping strip 1 min walk... Staff super friendly and nothing was a bother. Only downside was pool was slightly cooler than I like but once in it was fine... Would definitely recommend.. Cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
HI TropicGal71
Perhaps a job with us in marketing? Your depiction of the in room services really paints a picture for our potential Guests. Great to see you have done your research and passed with flying colours selecting the “Best Resort accommodation in Port Douglas” 3 years in a row.
Sincerely
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathurst
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Just around the corner from main shops but without the noise. Has four pools and we had a spa as well. Beds are uncomfortable and pillows quite flat but if you use two you have a stiff neck, these both need upgrading as we stayed for a week and both of us ended up with sore backs. Best time of year before school hols start.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
HI rechargebat
As suggested we have now added Mattress toppers and purchased new pillows so all requests have been filled. Please return to experience the new comfort.
Sincerely
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

this resort is one of the closest to both macrossan st & to 4 mile beach which made it perfect for my husband and me.

property is well kept and is very quiet and the pool areas are lovely.

being in such a central location a car wasnt a necessity with everything in port douglas within walking distance unlike some of the large resorts which are a bit out of town.

will definitely be staying here next time we go to port douglas....loved it and the weather was perfect

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
HI currumbingirl85
Yet Another Fantastic Review for Mantra Aqueous on Port. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. Upon checking in the following problems were noted. Neither of the 2 outside lights worked, the toilet continually dripped, the fridge made the most annoying loud noise as it tried to maintain temperature, the fan was so noisy we couldn't use it, the face washer had holes in it. The noise from other apartments was incredible - no sound proofing. We were awoken each morning at 6am by children running around upstairs and chairs being dragged across the floor.
The Aqueous is very tired. It requires lots of work to upgrade it. There was absolutely no storage for our clothes, one tiny, narrow wardrobe, no drawers, and 3 coat hangers for 2 people.
Staff were lovely, position excellent and street appeal great. They were the only 3 positives.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
HI Overeaters,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay although it was disappointing to read that you had a varied experience. We have recently updated our carpets, lighting, HI FI, and bedding comforters and continue to identify new ways to improve on our guest’s experience. You have mentioned some maintenance issues from your room. Our onsite maintenance policy is to maintain our product outside of Guest tenancy although on occasion for example when a light bulbs go out we will need to attend the room.
.
It is worth mentioning that we have a variety of room types designed to meet different lengths of stay. Having stayed 4 nights I would have recommend a 1 bedroom apartment that does have an extended wardrobe draws multiple hangers and a separate living space and dining room. Further to this suggestion it is always an idea to book directly with the resort to ensure that all of your requests are met.

Sincerely
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqueous On Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.