We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Aqueous On Port to your Saves list
Mantra Aqueous On Port
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“January 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My second stay at this accomodation and I have no doubt i will be back.
I had asked for particular rooms and was impressed with the effort they made to make it happen. Fantastic and very friendly service.
easy to see why they have won Port douglas accomodationl of the year 3 years in a row.

Room Tip: The swim out rooms are worth paying extra. Bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
HI Tanya,

It was fantastic to welcome you back this January. We offered some great weather again this year. I am sure that the word will quickly spread through New Zealand and our southern States that January has become a perfect time to make tracks to paradise in Port Douglas.

We would like to thank you for your time in posting a review. We are very proud to be the multi Award Accommodation Resort in the heart of Port Douglas and appreciate your recommendations to our next arrivals.

Best Wishes

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    135
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
70
204
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wooroolin Qld
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you walk into your room you feel as if you're in another world far removed from the working world that you've just come from. I thought I would have to go to an overseas resort to leave my working world behind but this piece of paradise had the same atmosphere. You can be entirely self sufficient in your unit which has all the comforts of home and just do a little shop at the supermarket nearby or take the short stroll to the restaurant strip and dine out. We enjoyed the pool just outside our room, just dive in from the deck and then cool off in your lovely AC room. We just had a great relax, caught up on some reading, watched a few movies, went for a sunset stroll on the beach, ate out, slept in late (the shutters on the windows black out all the light and deceive you into thinking its still night) and relaxed- first class. Congratulations to Shannon and the friendly and courteous staff at Aqueous. Loved it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
HI Wendy,

This is such a lovely review. You have been able to capture so many of the unique elements that make Mantra Aqueous on Port the "Best Accommodation" in Port Douglas.
We are delighted that Mantra Aqueous on Port was selected to provide the perfect base for your holiday.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family and friends back to the Resort into the future. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly to create your next booking.

Kind regards'


Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I found Mantra Aqueous hotel to be an extremely good clean hotel, the pools (all 4 of them) were well maintained, the outside terraces and BBQ area were spotless at all times (barring from when other inconsiderate guests left their rubbish around, which was not often).
Rooms were of a good size and well appointed, with a high standard of kitchen equipment, including dishwasher, microwave, washing machine and a drier. The room was made available earlier than expected, which was a nice touch when checking in, on inspection, the room was absolutely spotless, the balcony having a spa bath was also spotless.
Location wise, the Aqueous is towards the beach end of the main street in Port Douglas and in my opinion the best end, as the noise from outside bars and restaurants and not to mention the bird life in the early evening can be a bit much at the other end of town.
All staff I met and had any dealings with, were extremely friendly and more than happy to assist in making bookings, arranging for travel back to airports and with recommendations on where best to eat.
We both had an extremely pleasant stay in the Aqueous hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Port Douglas.
Only one point of note, the lack of Wifi is annoying as you have to go to one of the various places along the high street, however, I believe the hotel are looking into this.

Room Tip: With pools all around the hotel everyone has a view, the swim out rooms are probably the best but ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
HI Bobrennie,
XMAS 2012 was a brilliant time to be in Port Douglas. Some fantastic weather as seems to becoming the norm and a buzz of atmosphere around the seaside town.
We are all very proud to read your review with great positive experiences of your time with us at Mantra Aqueous on Port.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Mantra Aqueous in Port Douglas. I was really happy with everything about my stay. I stayed in a 1 bedroom swim out room. It was spacious, clean, light, cool, very comfortable, had everything I needed. Staff were really friendly and helpful, from the initial booking of my room through to helping me with advice to book tours and transport. Also a fantastic location, just next to macrossan st and 4 mile beach.
I will definately stay there again when I return :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
HI rdehavil,

Thanks for the Fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Please don't hesitate to contact myself directly to organise your next stay with Mantra Aqueous on Port.

Best Wishes

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here over valentines interesting place as has its own pools on either side. It is a an apartment type hotel and had a nice spa bath on the balcony of our room very good.
Because of the time of year most of the eateries were closed but having facilities in the room was very useful.
Reception staff helpful and there was plenty Information on things to do.
Booked a great trip on the catamaran Sailaway via the hotel.
Interesting place well worth a visit

Room Tip: Room with spa bath great fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
HI CarefreeK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Mantra Aqueous on Port. We look forward to welcoming more of your friends and family from the UK in 2013. Such a great destination for the international and domestic traveller, so much to do and see and relaxation plus.
From all the Team - Happy travelling,

Kind Regards
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My mother and I spent 10 days at Mantra Aqueous Port Douglas from 18 Dec 2012. The room was the right size and clean and being a 1 bedroom swim out room, it was just perfect for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly and if there was something we needed we just had to ask. The pool was very clean and inviting and if we were not out touring, we were in the pool.
We enjoyed our stay here and if I ever make it back to Port Douglas and there is vacancies here I will be back. Thank you again Mantra Aqueous Port Douglas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
HI Margaret M,

Thank you for your 5 Star rating of the Mantra Aqueous on Port Resort.
It is wonderful that your mother and you have been able to select the perfect holiday experience. From your review other travellers will now have the opportunity to make a booking at Mantra Aqueous on Port and enjoy the same rewards that you have for their needed getaway.

From all the Team we enjoyed having you stay with us and welcome another opportunity to see you back here in Tropical Paradise.

Kind Regards
Shannon Exelby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Mantra Aqueous On Port in early Dec, 2012. We were a party of 4 - three adults and a 13yo.

This was a great time to visit Port Douglas as the weather was great and all of the resorts, bars and restauarants were very quiet.

We enjoyed this resort very much.

The resort is easy to find and also very close into the main town, shopping, restauarants and the beach.

We received a warm welcome when arriving and checkin was very quick and efficient.

Our room (2 bed apartment) proved to be very comfortable, spacious and clean. It contained all of the advertised facilities, including the balcony spas (more on that later).

The facilities were first class and well maintained. 4 spacious pools, lounges, tables/chairs, umbrellas and BBQs (regularly cleaned) made for easily filled days (of doing not much). When you're after something to do, just wander around to the town for whatever you feel like doing.

When we visited the resort was very quiet and all of the facilities were freely available. We had any pool we wanted to ourselves most of the time, so didn't even use the balcony spa.

All in all we had the trip we were after. Great weather, quiet when we wanted, and plenty to do when we wanted that as well.

Room Tip: If you can get a ground floor, it will be a swim out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
HI GS1960 and Family,

It is a pleasure to have had the opportunity to view your comments on your recent stay with Mantra Aqueous on Port. Your reference to a "Great Stay" is our Teams Goal as service providers and we find much reward in your detailed leisure experience while staying with us in Tropical North Queensland.

We wish you Best wishes for the New Year and look forward to welcoming yourself or friends in the future.

Best Wishes
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqueous On Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.