We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Aqueous On Port to your Saves list
Mantra Aqueous On Port
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Mantra Aqueous in Port Douglas. I was really happy with everything about my stay. I stayed in a 1 bedroom swim out room. It was spacious, clean, light, cool, very comfortable, had everything I needed. Staff were really friendly and helpful, from the initial booking of my room through to helping me with advice to book tours and transport. Also a fantastic location, just next to macrossan st and 4 mile beach.
I will definately stay there again when I return :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
HI rdehavil,

Thanks for the Fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Please don't hesitate to contact myself directly to organise your next stay with Mantra Aqueous on Port.

Best Wishes

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    135
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
70
204
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here over valentines interesting place as has its own pools on either side. It is a an apartment type hotel and had a nice spa bath on the balcony of our room very good.
Because of the time of year most of the eateries were closed but having facilities in the room was very useful.
Reception staff helpful and there was plenty Information on things to do.
Booked a great trip on the catamaran Sailaway via the hotel.
Interesting place well worth a visit

Room Tip: Room with spa bath great fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
HI CarefreeK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Mantra Aqueous on Port. We look forward to welcoming more of your friends and family from the UK in 2013. Such a great destination for the international and domestic traveller, so much to do and see and relaxation plus.
From all the Team - Happy travelling,

Kind Regards
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My mother and I spent 10 days at Mantra Aqueous Port Douglas from 18 Dec 2012. The room was the right size and clean and being a 1 bedroom swim out room, it was just perfect for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly and if there was something we needed we just had to ask. The pool was very clean and inviting and if we were not out touring, we were in the pool.
We enjoyed our stay here and if I ever make it back to Port Douglas and there is vacancies here I will be back. Thank you again Mantra Aqueous Port Douglas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
HI Margaret M,

Thank you for your 5 Star rating of the Mantra Aqueous on Port Resort.
It is wonderful that your mother and you have been able to select the perfect holiday experience. From your review other travellers will now have the opportunity to make a booking at Mantra Aqueous on Port and enjoy the same rewards that you have for their needed getaway.

From all the Team we enjoyed having you stay with us and welcome another opportunity to see you back here in Tropical Paradise.

Kind Regards
Shannon Exelby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Mantra Aqueous On Port in early Dec, 2012. We were a party of 4 - three adults and a 13yo.

This was a great time to visit Port Douglas as the weather was great and all of the resorts, bars and restauarants were very quiet.

We enjoyed this resort very much.

The resort is easy to find and also very close into the main town, shopping, restauarants and the beach.

We received a warm welcome when arriving and checkin was very quick and efficient.

Our room (2 bed apartment) proved to be very comfortable, spacious and clean. It contained all of the advertised facilities, including the balcony spas (more on that later).

The facilities were first class and well maintained. 4 spacious pools, lounges, tables/chairs, umbrellas and BBQs (regularly cleaned) made for easily filled days (of doing not much). When you're after something to do, just wander around to the town for whatever you feel like doing.

When we visited the resort was very quiet and all of the facilities were freely available. We had any pool we wanted to ourselves most of the time, so didn't even use the balcony spa.

All in all we had the trip we were after. Great weather, quiet when we wanted, and plenty to do when we wanted that as well.

Room Tip: If you can get a ground floor, it will be a swim out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
HI GS1960 and Family,

It is a pleasure to have had the opportunity to view your comments on your recent stay with Mantra Aqueous on Port. Your reference to a "Great Stay" is our Teams Goal as service providers and we find much reward in your detailed leisure experience while staying with us in Tropical North Queensland.

We wish you Best wishes for the New Year and look forward to welcoming yourself or friends in the future.

Best Wishes
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When you book accomodation over the internet, it is very hard to know what you are getting. The Mantra Aqueous however surpassed or expectations. We booked two rooms with a swim out and could not have been happier with the facilities. we Had an infant and two bigger kids so they got their private area and so did we, but also alot of family time in the pool and i was still able to swim while bubs was asleep in the afternoon, as the gate was at out back door. It felt like a small home. So thankyou Mantra and look forward to bookoing with you again.

Room Tip: we had a unit that for some reason was a little seperate to the 3 story complex and we enjoyed it. r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Kellie g,

Mantra Aqueous on Port are very proud to have accommodated such a "wonderful" holidaying experience for yourself and family. You have stayed with our signature room type in a 2 bedroom Swim Out Apartment.
Tip: This is a very popular choice so we reserve many of these rooms to sell from the property direct. If other travellers are shopping for this room and finding it difficult to find availability, it is best to call the Resort as we are likely reserving 1 or 2.
See you again soon.

Best Regards
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our 2nd visit and won't be our last - friendly and helpful staff, lovely apartment and facilities and perfect location! Last time we had a swim out - this time a top floor apartment - both were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi jenwayne,

Great to see that you will be back to enjoy the delights of Port Douglas again soon. We are really enjoying our return Guests heightened experiences and further development for your love of the Far North. Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to extend your recent experience to the travelling community.

Kind regards
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed last week for 4 days. Whilst we fell in love with port Douglas, we won't be going back to mantra aqueous.

The good:-
- friendly reception staff and ground staff
-location
-free easy parking
-pools - there are 4 and nice sun beds around it. Also a BBQ area x 2 which is great.
-excellent water pressure in shower.
-Nice, clean bathroom. Had no issues with cleanliness in the room.
-full foxtel channels inc sport
-free Internet in reception.

The bad:-
-very dated corridors and our room wasn't great. Very small and not room even to store a case.
-it wasn't an apartment as didn't have cooking facilities in our room but wasn't a hotel room either and therefore wasn't serviced so no clean towels etc in 5 days;
-the phone didn't work, nor did the main overhead lights so lighting was poor;
-the sheets/bed linen were so old and awful it was really itchy and you could feel the mattress. Not hotel quality. More a hostel.
-I chose it for the hot tub on the balcony. They aren't really as private as they look and from the second floor people can see you from the pool.

And the ugly:-
The pool we overlooked had a problem with the chlorine and salt consistency so it was pretty ugly to overlook. I was glad I hadn't paid the extra for a swim out room as I wouldn't have wanted to swim in it, not many people did! But there are three other lovely pools so you still enjoyed a swim.
- paper thin walls so could hear our neighbors and door slamming was particularly bad. I don't usually complain about minor things but it was these things that made us glad to move on.

Port Douglas itself was beautiful. I just wouldn't recommend the mantra aqueous for the rooms. I assume the apartments are less dated and would be a better option but haven't tried them myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
HI Poshw5,

As you are an experienced traveller staying predominantly with 5 Star Resorts across the globe, I would have liked the opportunity to have recommended your stay in an Apartment had you booked directly with the Resort. It was disappointing to view your response however the report is quite constructive an opportunity to increase further the opportunity to accommodate all Guest expectations.

In regards to the Linen we receive our Linen at the same quality from the same suppliers as all other 5 Star Hotels in Port Douglas. Our Resort rooms are often featured as supreme quality and excellent services so I am unsure on your mentioning this element on your experience.

We take much pride in our Swimming Pools and during your stay we had closed one Pool for increased cleaning measures as we have sequenced all our Pools for this purpose in a lead up to Christmas break. I apologise that this was not communicated to you better during your stay.

Thank you for your review although disappointing we did not meet your expectations.

Regards
Shannon Exelby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqueous On Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.