We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Aqueous On Port to your Saves list
Mantra Aqueous On Port
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at mantra. The room was spotless and roomy and the spa on the balcony was a great hit with our six month old. The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel grounds meticulously maintained by friendly staff. Will definitely be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
HI Joide3678,

Thank you from all the Team at Mantra Aqueous on Port for your recent stay. Port Douglas looks forward to welcomig you back again soon. Please don't hesitate to contact myself directly to help coordinate your next stay at Mantra Aqueous on Port.

Thank you for your Great review of our Property.

Warm regards.
Shanon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    135
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
70
204
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved the resort - very friendly, helpful staff. Location cannot be surpassed - 2 mins to shops, cafes, beach and yet there is still privacy and tranquility (unlike many of the resorts). We had a 1 b/room apartment - very spacious, loved the spa on the balcony. Woke each morning to very vocal birdlife. Quiet and had privacy. Suggest the 2nd floor as being the best choice.
You do have to pay an extra $5 a day if you want fresh towels (although beach towels provided free).
Helpful suggestion to staff: floors need to be mopped after each guest leaves, rather than vacuumed only. Also - dishwasher should be cleaned every so often. Needed rinse aid.
Instructions on use of washing machine obviously needed, as I see some guests before us had tried to put powder in removable top!
Not complaining though ... it was a terrific place to stay.
Kiwigirl, Wellington, New Zealand

Room Tip: 2nd floor great, no noise of people above you.More privacy too. 33A was a great apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
HI kiwibabyboomer56,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Aqueous on Port.
We look forward to seeing you back again next year.


Kind regards
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caringbah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Mantra Aqueous is a fantastic hotel. We had the hotel style room with spa on the deck with a fridge, sink, kettle, toaster and all dinnerwere, cutlery, glasswere and plastic were for two people. Only a stone throw away from the main strip of Port Douglas with plently of dining, bars and tour facilities. Friendly staff, modern apartments, well equipped and clean pools. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
HI Hroberts07,

Thank you for your recent stay and your giving the time to apply your positive experiences online.
We look forward to having you back again next year for more fun in the sun!

Kind Regards
Shanon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Awesome, a gem of a hotel! If you like staying in hotels with breakfast provided and a lot of TLC then this is not for you. It is self catering but the rooms are fantastic each with a personal jacuzzi and if you are on the ground floor you can access the pool from just outside your room with you own sundeck. Rooms were nice with basic facilities and there is a shared BBQ facility if you want to cook a hot meal. The location is just at the side of the main high street and in walking distance from both the beach and harbour so there can't be many better placed hotels (there is also a nice bakery Brumbys located next door!).

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor appartment so that you have the increased pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi Chrisp82,

Great to see your response on line. A wonderful review and from all the Team at Mantra Aqueous on Port we would like to thank you for taking your time to publish your experience for other travellers.

Happy Holidaying and look forward to seeing you back in the Far North sometime in the future.

Warm Regards

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our 8th visit to Port Douglas but our first time at Mantra Aqueous. The one bedroom, swim up apartment was a very good size for 2 people staying for 10 nights - we had plenty of room. The kitchen had everything you need for basic cooking. It was great not having to climb stairs as is the case with most apartments. It was very handy being poolside in a swim up room and apart from 1 day out of the 10 when there were very noisy poorly behaved children in the pool, it was very quiet and relaxing to be poolside. The apartment was clean and functional and the location is excellent, especially if you don't have a car and want to walk around Port (the best way to get to know this beautiful location in our opinion).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi MargaretZ,

Congartulations on your 8th Visit to Port Douglas. This is a realy good review for other travellers given the number of Resorts that you might have stayed with. A real Gem of a review, cheers Margaret and we look forward to seeing ou again next year and again for your 10th anniversary of Port Douglas.

Warm regards
Shanon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were a little hesitant about staying here having read some less than positive reviews. our Travel Agent was reassuring and we are pleased we stayed for nine days in Apartment 34. The apartment was spacious, clean and well appointed with everything you need to self cater. We were pleased to have so much space to move about. The pool was great, and the staff always greeted us in a cherry manner whenever we met them anywhere on the property. There were no issues with noise from Macrossan Street or anywhere else. This property is ideally situated within walking distance of everywhere. No need for a rental car. Having seen other properties around Port Douglas, the Aqueous ticks all the boxes for us

Room Tip: swim up, swim out or 2nd floor apartment ...all have their merits. ... Just a matter of choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi Wazzap54,

Thank you for your sincere review on trip advisor. We all had enjoyed your company during your recent visit and your personal thanks to the team durinupon departure was well received by each staff member.

As you have depicted Mantra Aqueous on Port is sincerely truly a Great option for any traveler to enjoy Port Douglas.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a bit of an 80's looking hotel, but in a good location.
We stayed in a poolside suite, which was generously sized and well fitted out.
The pool was great, large and clean.
We generally enjoyed our stay, but one night sat on the couch to watch TV, and quickly
got 20 to 30 small bites to the underside of each thigh, which are still itchy 5 days later.
As we were checking out, they seemed to be arranging taking the couches out,
maybe they'd had previous complaints ? No problem with the bed, but the couch was nasty.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool side rooms and suites are great for people who like to swim. The pool is nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
HI M/M Simpson,

It is disappointing to read your response online at Trip Advisor.

As part of a routine upgrade of furniture installed through 33% of the property Lounges were installed on Thursday 19th July 2012. I can assure you that there is no association between a properties initiative to ensure the best and up to date lounges and the protection and safe environment of our guests. All of the lounges replaced went to a local community charity for continued use. As such it should be understood that these couches remain in quality condition for extended use.

The irritation that you have described is consistent with midgee or sand fly bites. These insects that are very common to tropical areas can bite the person without any real irritation. However rubbing on these bites such as the creases of arms and legs through the wearing of clothes or sitting on a couch for example will commence the irritations process. We recommend however that you do see your Doctor to have a professional diagnosis.

I hope this helps clarifies any initial concerns you have raised.

Mantra Aqueous on Port was built and opened in 2005.

Kind Regards
Shannon Exelby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqueous On Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.