We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Villas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Villas Resort to your Saves list
Bay Villas Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed and easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Such a lovely large room for my husband toddler and I. Close enough to town to walk to restaurants and cafés or all the amenities to stay in and do dinner at home. There is a full size bath tub making it even easier if you have kids. Hiring a bike to ride on 4 mile beach is a must. One of the pools is heated which was great in the cooler winter months.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    83
    21
    12
    2
See reviews for
42
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at Bay Villa from 15 to 20 July 2014.

Good: staff very friendly and helpful, close to 4 miles beach and town centre (walking distance), quiet enough for a good night sleep, efficient aircons in all rooms, good range of cooking tools, washing machine (which can be a bit noisy).

Hmm..: when booking, ask which floor is the apartment - there is no lift and can be a struggle to lug luggage up 2 storeys (and for older folks). Also struggled with 2 adult males in a queen bed but that is our fault as we should have checked earlier. Sometimes had to park on the road during busy period. Initially thought the apartment a bit small but got used to them.

Did not use the pool or barbecue area. Hired bikes from reception to ride up the 4 miles beach. Took advantage of the great seafood in PD (crays, prawns, scallops, coral trout, etc) and cooked a lot in the apartment. Borrowed a hammer from staff for the mud crab...yum.

Room Tip: No lift to 1st and 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife, adult daughter & I stayed at Bay Villas for 10 x days 16-26 June.
We had a 2 x bedroom apartment which had everything we required. Each room had an aircon unit, plus had a fan. We had an out door area the unit was well equipped for self catering if required. Another bonus was washing machine & drier.
We also used the outdoor BBQ by one of the pools several times.
Above all the apartment was we clean & well appointed.
To walk to Four Mile Beach is 5-6 minutes as is to the main street shopping area and approx. 10 mins to the mariner. (we did not have a car)
The staff at the Villa are very friendly and most helpful, plus offer good advise and can book any trips you may wish to do.
Over all we found Bay Villas had everything we required in the accommodation we wished for.
If you want room service ,porters, butlers & silver service stay at the Ritz !!
Thank you Bay Villas for helping make our stay more enjoyable , especially Vicki.

Room Tip: We had a down stairs room ,in a corner ,couldn't see much but was cool & roomy close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great Location; excellent services in the rooms... Friendly, helpful staff who have a desire to ensure a good stay. I would recommend Bay Villas if you're wanting a relatively inexpensive place to stay that's close to the Main Street of Port Douglas

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place is the best to stay in Port Douglas. Value for money. The location is only a 10 min walk to the shops or beach. The apartment overlooked the pool. The staff were amazing, and helped us with things to do around Port Douglas. If I go back to Port Douglas, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

In my opinion is a fantastic place to stay in Port Douglas. Not only is the location convenient but the service and the quality of the accommodation is outstanding.
This service and information we received was helpful and accommodating and made our holiday one of the best yet.
The level of amenities inside and outside of the complex our first class.
In reading some of the other comments I find them to be unfair I have now stayed there on three occasions and have found the staff,the rooms and the amenities to be equal to what you would find at its properties charging 3 to 4 times the price.
I have travelled the world and normally staying at the Park Hyatts.
I have no hesitation in recommending this to business so shirts if anyone else wanting the most fantastic holiday in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as I have stayed in several rooms over my time spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our second stay at Bay Viilas. We find the location convenient, the apartment looked over one of the two pools & was well appointed,very clean,& roomy. The staff were & friendly helpfull. A great place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bay Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.