We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment in beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Meridian Port Douglas to your Saves list
Meridian Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We absolutely loved the Meridian, after the hustle and bustle of Sydney we appreciated the relaxed and quiet surroundings. The apartment was spotless and furnished with everything we could possibly need. The jacuzzi on the balcony was a godsend after a long day sightseeing. The village of Port Douglas is beautiful with boutique style shops and fantastic restaurants - we would particularly recommend Mango Jam and Salsa. We booked a couple of tours through the reception desk at the Meridian - a Quicksilver Helicopter tour over the Great Barrier Reef which was amazing and a boat trip on the Lady Douglas during which we saw two crocodiles! The Meridian will be our first choice of place to stay when we return to Port Douglas in hopefully the not too distant future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and peaceful location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Fantastic ice cream shop just round the corner!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    111
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
376
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Meridian on our recent trip to Australia. We found it to be a very nice choice. The property is only a few years old, so all fixtures and furniture had modern styling and were in excellent shape.

We stayed in one of the "studio superior" rooms. These come with either a private outdoor spa attached to the room, or a balcony from which you can jump right into the large, lagoon-like swimming pool. (Ours was one with a spa. It was on the first floor, and the spa was on a large outdoor patio with lounge chairs.) I would recommend upgrading to one of these rooms -- ours was spacious, and we loved being able to sit outside and watch the lorikeets land in the trees outside the building!

The Meridian seems to be geared mainly toward couples -- kids are not allowed, it's generally very quiet, and the privacy of guests is respected. These were all positives to us, though you will obviously want to look elsewhere if you are traveling with children.

The Meridian's location is excellent: a very short walk (only about 100 m) to Macrossan St (the main street in Port Douglas), and a little bit longer walk (maybe 7-8 minutes) to the beach. Port Douglas has too many restaurants to count, and I don't think we had a bad meal while there, though some of the restaurants are a bit pricey. All of them are within easy walking distance of the Meridian. We found the location to be a definite advantage--lots of the resorts (Radisson, Sheraton, etc.) are a ways out of town, requiring a bus or taxi into town.

The front desk booked our tours directly, which was a nice service. We took a snorkeling tour of the Reef with Calypso, and the Train/Skyrain combination to Kuranda. The Reef tour was outstanding, and we found Calypso (much smaller than the huge Quicksilver boats) to be a nice choice, as we visited three different locations on the Reef and were able to get personal attention for getting snorkel gear, ordering pictures, etc. We were warned that Kuranda was touristy, which turned out to be very true. The train ride up and the Skyrail down were very nice, but other than that we were a bit disappointed with the town itself. We also visited the Tjapukai Cultural Park (adjacent to the Skyrail station), which I would recommend. It was a great way to learn about Aboriginal culture.

From walking around Port Douglas, there appear to be a lot of nice accommodation choices. Because of this, I can't say that this is the best place to stay in town, but I can say that the Meridian is in excellent condition, has nice rooms and good service, and is in an excellent location.

  • Liked — Location, excellent condition of rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

We have just returned from a fabulous 8 night stay at The Meridian.
I was a bit worried as we went with two other couples and me being a travel agent was the one to organise our accommodation. It was our third trip to Port Douglas and a destination I sell often so I knew a few of the properties and took a gamble on this one, I'm so glad I did as it was fantastic.
In the past we have stayed at The Regal and Hibiscus Gardens, both ok but The Meridian was perfect. In saying that we all had rooms with decks onto the pool and I believe this is what made it so enjoyable. I would recommend people upgrade to these rooms if you can as it is well worth the money. The resort and rooms are very clean and tidy. 1 bedrooms are spacious with full kitchen, lounge and seperate bedroom which can be closed off. Studio rooms are your basic studio set up. Both room types had a spacious patio area with deck to the pool.
Other reasons for booking this property were location (easy walk to the beach, shops, restaurants & bars), no children (big seller!!) and the fact that it is a smaller property meant there were not so many people which is especially good around the pool area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to my clients.

  • Liked — no children, pool deck rooms, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — upgrade to the pool deck rooms, they're worth it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

We stayed for 5 nights at the Meridian at the end of a 6 week trip for pure relaxation and we loved it. We stayed in a superior studio with a decking that took us straight into the pool and the room was spotlessly clean, modern with good facilities. We actually liked the fact that the room was not serviced in stays under 7 days as we got total privacy and were able to sleep in when hungover! The Meridian has a fantastic location close to the beach, the marina and Macrossan Street, and we found the Management extremely friendly and efficient.

As regards Port Douglas, we would definitely return. There are some fantastic restaurants and bars, I feel I must mention the 'On the Inlet' restaurant close to the marina where we ate superb seafood while the sun set over Cape Tribulation and 'Table 41' on Macrossan Street where we had an unforgettable seafood platter.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We just stayed for 7 nights and I really enjoyed it. Granted, the studio was fairly basic, but it had everything we needed - fridge, air con, hair dryer, television with some pay TV channels. We weren't in the room much anyway, as the location is fantastic. It's close to the beach, the cafes and shops on Macrossan St and the marina.

The manager was very helpful, giving advice and offering to book tours for us. She could learn to smile though; it would make her seem a little more friendly.

My only complaint is that the spa in the room roared like a diesel engine and some of the jets were way too hard. Other than that, a great place to stay while you explore Port Douglas and its surrounds.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noisy spa bath
  • Tips/Secrets — There's a handy toilet/shower next to the swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

Our recent stay at the Meridian was a perfect way to end a hectic few weeks touring New Zealand, (Well we couldn't very well come home without a tan!!). We spent 10 nights in the deluxe honeymoon suit, which exceeded expectations, with loads of space, well equipped and fantastically clean. The whole process of booking, (Direct with the property), airport transfers and arrival was conducted with great professionalism. We were given all necessary information on arrival and the staff were helpful throughout. They also very considerately arranged to service the room on a day we were out snorkelling, so as not to compromise the wonderful privacy. All in all a wonderful base to explore Port Douglas and the surroundings. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Overall facilities
  • Disliked — Sun deck was very shaded
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at 2Fish - Amazing seafood and other meals
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.