We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely property.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meridian Port Douglas to your Saves list
Meridian Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely property.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a really good place to stay, only one block from Macrossan St shops and 2 scenic blocks from the beach. The 1 BR standard is a very nice apartment with quality fittings. I had a small issue with my room and they moved me wtih no charge to a room more to my liking on the 2nd day. The kitchen is well fitted with good appliances although some salt and pepper in the shakers would have been a nice touch! Sheets are good quality and the couch is comfy. It's very quiet too. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    102
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
354
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We're currently staying at the Meridian. Yes, the pool was on the cool side a couple of days ago, however is warmer now. Management explained the heating problem was a minor mistake caused by the pool servicing agent.
Great complex, location and excellent courteous service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This apartment complex is very well positioned and provides adequate accommodation for a couple looking to spend a few days away. Longer stays are not recommended.

The complex advertises a heated pool but this was not the case. The water temperature was cold and uncomfortable. In fact, the water temperature down at the beach was far more enticing! The complex manager was advised of this fact but the problem was not resolved.....the pool remained very cold and uncomfortable for the entire stay. The complex continued, however, to be advertised as having a heated pool even after the manager was notified that it was not. This is not the first time that a customer has complained about the cold water temperature (also on this website). The manager is either cutting corners to save money or the heating system is inadequate. Either way this is false advertising and requires immediate retification for the benefit of current and future guests. May I suggest the Meridian adopt suitable quality control measure to rectify this on going problem. (i.e monitoring water temperature daily)

Don't pay full rate for this property. If you are looking for something special, (honeymoon) spend a little more money and stay elsewhere for a more memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMeridian, Manager at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
As the manager on site I agree with this guest that there was a problem with the pool heating on this particular day but I was only made aware of it by this guest.
No one else had complained at this time. Immediately the problem was investigated and established that it was necessary to call a tradesman which did take a little while as is was a Saturday afternoon. I advised the guest that this has been done and would endeavour to remedy the problem as soon as possible. The problem was located later in the after noon and the pool heating was then functioning again. The suggestion that management control when the heating is on is incorrect as the heating is thermostacilly controlled to maintain the desired temperature. This was simply a mechanical problem that was resolved as soon as was possible. Other comments regarding the pool's temperature were made prior to the heating being installed and thus the reason for going to the vast expense of installing pool heating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This was our second holiday to Port Douglas and having stayed at Meridian we loved the location being only 5 minutes from the beach, marina and village for shopping and restaurants so we thought we'd give them another try. Meridian was better than ever! The owners John and Sue are still there and ever-willing to help with bookings and transfers, as well as remembering us from last year. Their well-known meticulous attention to maintenance and cleanliness means the rooms look brand new and the garden and pool area are still like an oasis.

We arrived on a day they were photographing for a new hotel brochure and John was handing around champagne (not unusual!) while we watched the filming and chatted to the other friendly guests about what next to do in Port Douglas. (There is always something going on in "Port" whether it's the Wine and Food festival or Theatre Festivals or the creative local markets and the locals invite you along to everything!)

That is one of the best things about Meridian, there is a no children under 16 or 18 so the pool and free BBQ (if you don't want to go to a restaurant for a night) are relaxing and you can either sit back in the spa or rest by the pool in peace and quiet.

If available try and get a room with the deck right onto the pool so you can slip straight in for a swim or relax with a glass of wine/drink directly from your fridge while still having a lovely view of the gardens and pool which are beautifully lit at night!

Overall we have found our place in Port Douglas and because it's so friendly and relaxing we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Beautiful room in a beautiful town. Everything very clean and modern. Staff all very helpful. Carparking available under the apartments. Clean and quiet pool area. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

We spent four nights at The Meridian in a first floor studio apartment. The apartment was well appointed and tastefully furnished to a high standard. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The pool area was particularly attractive and well laid out, being surrounded by beautiful gardens.

The accommodation was very quiet - perfect for a relaxing break. Located less than five minutes walk from the main shopping area of Port Douglas, the Meridian is ideally situated for a stroll to the beach, harbour or one of the numerous restaurants the town has to offer.

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They assisted us in choosing which excursions to book (very helpful when on a tight timescale) and made the bookings for us.

If we are ever lucky enough to return to Port Douglas, we wouldn't hesitate to book The Meridian again. Many thanks John and Sue!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed at the Meridian for 5 days in February and found it to be excellent. We had a ground floor Superior Studio which gave direct access to the pool. The owner, John, and his wife were very helpful and friendly, organising the airport transfers and our trip out to the Barrier Reef. The location was ideal, just a short stroll from the main street which has a good selection of restaurants, and about a 10 minute walk to the Marina. The only let-down was the lack of any room service, not even clearing of rubbish, unless your stay was for 6 days or more. I find this totally unacceptable in an establishment that was costing 82.50GBP per night and has been given a 4.5 star rating by the AAA. I also consider charging A$3 for the hire of a towel rather mean in an hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.