We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Meridian Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Was our first trip to PD and we were without a car so booked this place based on the reviews about 'great location'. And it is! It's not a big resort or anything like some others around it, but its clean, modern, the apartments have all the facilities you could need and there's a lovely pool area.The staff were also really helpful.Really nice place to stay for a serviced apartment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    94
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
328
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for two nites during our visit to Australia and was pleasantly surprised. The location was very good, near the beach and the main strip and the room was very big, with a kitchen and huge porch. Everything was very clean and well kept. The service was excellent too, as the ladies in reception helped us to plan our days and even transportation. It was super convenient.

Only negative thing I would say wouldn't be about the hotel. It was me and my gf and we are in our early 30s with no kids. We don't "go out" big time much anymore, but port Douglas was a bit too relaxed for us. The beach wasn't that great (even had "stinger nets" out, so limited swimming area) and the town was asleep about 11 it seemed. We spent one nite in cairns and it was a lot more happenin'. Anyway, it was nice and relaxing though!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived late but I was texted the code to open the safe at the entrance to access our keys which included a personalised note with clear directions to our room. The local map with the Meridian's location handwritten was a thoughtful touch! We had a room with a small balcony facing the pool and the room itself was very modern, clean and nicely decorated. We found the front desk to be friendly and extremely helpful. It was fairly quiet over the weekend we stayed and pool was only used by two other couples. There are a few loungers around the pool, perfect for reading a book in the tranquil setting. A BBQ is available in the pool area - great to cooking up fresh catch from the Marina. This was our first visit to PD and the Meridian's location is perfect - a very short walk from Macrossan St (the main st) and an easy stroll to the wharf and the beach. Living in the city, we're not use to the noises of nature so were woken up a few times by croaks, whistles and screeches but absolutely nothing you can do about that! Thanks John and Sue for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Meridian for the week of the total eclipse of the sun in November 2012. Top location if you happen to be without a car - the main street is a 2 minute walk away but just a little further and you'll find the marina restaurants which are much more picturesque.

The Meridian itself was very good. We were initially booked into a Studio Superior apartment - this was very small and had a microwave only - we were not looking forward to spending 7 nights in it. However we there was a 1 - bedroom apartment available due to a cancellation so we took this and we were very happy that we did. The pool access and private jacuzzi were great and the pool itself was a peaceful haven. This is an apartment hotel and no "services" are offered so you have to be completely self-sufficient. The reception staff were all very helpful and offered sound advice on choices between the hundreds of tour options on offer.

Great place to stay for a short break.

Room Tip: If you are planning to use the room for anything other than sleeping then avoid the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had 10 nights at the Meridian for our honeymoon and it was amazing, beautiful, clean, bright and comfortable. We have young children which we left behind with family, so having child free time was great and even better knowing that the Meridian is pretty much for adults only. To be able to swim In the pool and not be splashed by children was great. The staff were great and always helpful. We highly recommend this resort. It is also very close to Macrossan street so nice to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. We were even given a bottle of chilled champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Meridian has an excellent location, easy walk to town and waterfront. Our room was smartly decorated and outfitted. We found the front desk rather preoccupied and impersonal upon our arrival. We had a room facing the road, very quiet and very enveloped by trees. It was a comfortable stay, but think that next time we would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: poolside rooms might be over-rated, happy with road side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were very happy with all aspects of our stay at The Meridian. Upon arrival we were advised we had been upgraded, a lovely surprise! We were in a pool facing apartment, which made the balcony a nice place to relax. Plenty of sun lounges by the pool, and space, something that can be hard to come by in other centrally located Port Douglas hotels.
3 min walk to the main street and beach, perfect. Another nice aspect, no children under 16 allowed....nice quiet place to be.

Thanks to John, Sue and lovely Kelly on the front desk. Very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.