We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Port Douglas Retreat to your Saves list
Port Douglas Retreat
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Almost perfect......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everything very good EXCEPT the Air conditioning was SO NOISY!
Otherwise the bed was comfortable, the pool was lovely, the amenities were fine for a serve yourself apartment. David and Joyce were very helpful with booking trips and local knowledge, etc. Close to everything
If visiting Port Douglas in peak season - when you only need the fan (not the AC) this place is perfect.
I only wish I could give it 5 stars - but the ACon was too noisy!

Room Tip: Room 30 ("tree view") is away from the pool, so more private (even though overlooking anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays so much and also enjoyed the tours we recommended for you. You came at at very special time to witness the total solar eclipse and we are glad that you were able to be here. We are also glad that you found us almost perfect.

We are sorry that you found the aircon not to your liking, but also happy to read in Room Tips that you are recommending guests to stay in the same apartment you stayed in. Perhaps the operational noise was just the normal sound of its function. We have many guests mention that they like the tree view apartments for the same reasons you found.

It is good that we can offer two types of apartments.For some, the open pool view apartments are just what they want and enjoy, while others enjoy the tree view apartments.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    75
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
125
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hillam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Convenient location, comfortable well equipped apart hotel syle rooms and lovely grounds and gardens. For us, as long stay travellers in Australia with a degree of self catering in our routine, the barbecue area overlooking the beautiful pool, the kitchenette in the apartment and laundry facilities were an important draw.

Room Tip: Balance your priorities and state them when you book. Lovely corner room tree view room also has b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to Port Douglas as a jumping off point to snorkel and visit Daintree National Park. We had our own car, so the location was great. You can easily walk to the many nearby restaurants in town and is 5 minutes from marina for snorkeling (You can walk there too, but we were picked up) The units are clean and have adequate kitchen for fixing breakfast, but we didn't use it.Think it would be difficult to make dinner as pretty tight. This is not a hotel, but a room with cooking facilities - no service to change towels or make the bed. OK for our needs, but after a long flight from the USA would have preferred a little more luxury, but his does not seem to be available in this location. If you want to be on the beach book elsewhere, although you can easily walk to the beach, nicer sections are further away. The staff here is helpful in terms of driving and info. without being pushy and trying to sell anything. Parking is free. The pool is lovely, but we had our days booked with other activities. Never heard any noise from pool or elsewhere at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and we cannot praise this highly enough,from the accommodation to the help and advice from the managers. Just a great place to stay.
This was a taste of tropical paradise for our holiday.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What can I say? This was on of the most relaxing places I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The room was nice and neat and with the neighbouring pool's "waterfall" sound at night, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had while on holidays! There is no daily service of towels and bed being made up, but who cares, you're on holidays so it doesn't matter anyway! My only small criticism is being asked to remove rubbish from the bins into an outside bin at the end of your stay, which was unnecessary in my opinion, as well as having to do any dishes. But still highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooking a neighbouring pool was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so happy to read that you have had the "best sleep on any of your holidays. This would mean you were relaxed and able to enjoy your holidays in Port Douglas.

We receive many positive comments about the presentation of the apartments and how much this has contributed to the enjoyment and relaxation of our guests.

Our self serviced apartments provide our guests all that is needed for their well deserved holiday. Thank you for offering your "highly recommended" endorsement.

We do hope that if you are in Port Douglas again, that you allow us the honour of offering you another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

For our first time to Port Douglas we were recommended to stay at Port Douglas Retreat, for the price you could not find better accommodation. Walking distance to pubs, shops and the beach. The facilities were exactly what you needed, a beautiful BBQ area, tropical well maintained pool with beautiful quite gardens. David and Joyce keep the place immaculately maintained and were fantastic with any questions or advice. They gave unbiased advice of things to do or places to go in Port Douglas. Port Douglas Retreat is the best 3 star accommodation I have stayed in around the world, I would not stay anywhere else in Port Douglas, you could not get any better value. The place was booked out while we were there yet the place remained quite and pieceful. I recommend choosing a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Thanks David and Joyce, we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second loos overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you to Caitlin for your review.

We are very happy to read your review of our accommodation. We are also happy to read that we could contribute to your enjoyment of beautiful Port Douglas and the area.

We are also glad that you found us to be so well located and that you could walk to the beach restaurants or the shops. Being able to walk everywhere certainly makes it easy to get around.

It was good to read that you were able to use our suggestions and tips for your holidays. We enjoy sharing with our guests, tips and suggestions as we feel that this makes the difference to their holidays. Local advice will always beat the guidebooks.

We have so many wonderful comments from our guests about the gardens and pool area. It is a very popular location to sit back and relax. We see many of our guests talking, laughing and sharing with other guests about their experiences in the evenings around the pool area.

We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again, the next time you are in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best value in Port Douglas near to town and a short walk to Four Mile beach. Lovely pool and garden the resort is well maintained and run by David and Joyce. Ideal for couples who want a quite holiday or base to explore from. We've stayed there for four years each time for longer.

Room Tip: There's an excellent pool, nice to overlook it. Self catering so expect to use the BBQ and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
So happy to read of another guest who enjoys staying with us at Port Douglas Retreat.

We receive many positive remarks about our pool and BBQ area. We see many of our guests sitting around in the late afternoons talking with our other guests, discussing their tours and experiences. It is a popular place to sit back and relax.

As noted in the review, Port Douglas Retreat is 'ideal for couples', we have many couples choosing to stay with us. As we only have studio apartments with double beds, it is very rare that we have children staying with us.

Again, we thank our guests for such a positive review, we always enjoy seeing our guests relaxing and enjoying themselves during their well deserved holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.