We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Retreat

Save Saved
You added Port Douglas Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Port Douglas Retreat
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hillam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Convenient location, comfortable well equipped apart hotel syle rooms and lovely grounds and gardens. For us, as long stay travellers in Australia with a degree of self catering in our routine, the barbecue area overlooking the beautiful pool, the kitchenette in the apartment and laundry facilities were an important draw.

Room Tip: Balance your priorities and state them when you book. Lovely corner room tree view room also has b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    63
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
106
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to Port Douglas as a jumping off point to snorkel and visit Daintree National Park. We had our own car, so the location was great. You can easily walk to the many nearby restaurants in town and is 5 minutes from marina for snorkeling (You can walk there too, but we were picked up) The units are clean and have adequate kitchen for fixing breakfast, but we didn't use it.Think it would be difficult to make dinner as pretty tight. This is not a hotel, but a room with cooking facilities - no service to change towels or make the bed. OK for our needs, but after a long flight from the USA would have preferred a little more luxury, but his does not seem to be available in this location. If you want to be on the beach book elsewhere, although you can easily walk to the beach, nicer sections are further away. The staff here is helpful in terms of driving and info. without being pushy and trying to sell anything. Parking is free. The pool is lovely, but we had our days booked with other activities. Never heard any noise from pool or elsewhere at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and we cannot praise this highly enough,from the accommodation to the help and advice from the managers. Just a great place to stay.
This was a taste of tropical paradise for our holiday.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What can I say? This was on of the most relaxing places I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The room was nice and neat and with the neighbouring pool's "waterfall" sound at night, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had while on holidays! There is no daily service of towels and bed being made up, but who cares, you're on holidays so it doesn't matter anyway! My only small criticism is being asked to remove rubbish from the bins into an outside bin at the end of your stay, which was unnecessary in my opinion, as well as having to do any dishes. But still highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooking a neighbouring pool was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so happy to read that you have had the "best sleep on any of your holidays. This would mean you were relaxed and able to enjoy your holidays in Port Douglas.

We receive many positive comments about the presentation of the apartments and how much this has contributed to the enjoyment and relaxation of our guests.

Our self serviced apartments provide our guests all that is needed for their well deserved holiday. Thank you for offering your "highly recommended" endorsement.

We do hope that if you are in Port Douglas again, that you allow us the honour of offering you another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

For our first time to Port Douglas we were recommended to stay at Port Douglas Retreat, for the price you could not find better accommodation. Walking distance to pubs, shops and the beach. The facilities were exactly what you needed, a beautiful BBQ area, tropical well maintained pool with beautiful quite gardens. David and Joyce keep the place immaculately maintained and were fantastic with any questions or advice. They gave unbiased advice of things to do or places to go in Port Douglas. Port Douglas Retreat is the best 3 star accommodation I have stayed in around the world, I would not stay anywhere else in Port Douglas, you could not get any better value. The place was booked out while we were there yet the place remained quite and pieceful. I recommend choosing a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Thanks David and Joyce, we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second loos overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you to Caitlin for your review.

We are very happy to read your review of our accommodation. We are also happy to read that we could contribute to your enjoyment of beautiful Port Douglas and the area.

We are also glad that you found us to be so well located and that you could walk to the beach restaurants or the shops. Being able to walk everywhere certainly makes it easy to get around.

It was good to read that you were able to use our suggestions and tips for your holidays. We enjoy sharing with our guests, tips and suggestions as we feel that this makes the difference to their holidays. Local advice will always beat the guidebooks.

We have so many wonderful comments from our guests about the gardens and pool area. It is a very popular location to sit back and relax. We see many of our guests talking, laughing and sharing with other guests about their experiences in the evenings around the pool area.

We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again, the next time you are in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best value in Port Douglas near to town and a short walk to Four Mile beach. Lovely pool and garden the resort is well maintained and run by David and Joyce. Ideal for couples who want a quite holiday or base to explore from. We've stayed there for four years each time for longer.

Room Tip: There's an excellent pool, nice to overlook it. Self catering so expect to use the BBQ and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
So happy to read of another guest who enjoys staying with us at Port Douglas Retreat.

We receive many positive remarks about our pool and BBQ area. We see many of our guests sitting around in the late afternoons talking with our other guests, discussing their tours and experiences. It is a popular place to sit back and relax.

As noted in the review, Port Douglas Retreat is 'ideal for couples', we have many couples choosing to stay with us. As we only have studio apartments with double beds, it is very rare that we have children staying with us.

Again, we thank our guests for such a positive review, we always enjoy seeing our guests relaxing and enjoying themselves during their well deserved holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location - Perfect!. Right in the middle of the main street and the beach.
Room - Clean and tidy but nothing flash. If you are wanting anything above a 3 star this isn't for you but if you want a simple room with TV and easy access to everything you need then it's fine. The beds and bathroom are dated but perfectly adequate. Don't look too closely at the grouting etc cos that's not a priority. Our room was near reception and it was noisy at all hrs.
Pool - Fantastic. Slightly heated and well maintained. There needs to be a few more deck chairs tho. Had to go early to get one.

Room Tip: Get as far away from reception as possible. Wooden decks and noisy guests means you get disturbed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
So happy to read that our guests enjoyed their holidays so much.

Actually, our location is one street back from the main street, but as written close to everything.

The pool decking has all the pool furniture for guests to laze by the pool, but I think if we had enough furniture for everyone staying with us, there would be no room left to walk. However, as we are only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, it normally isn't something that people worry about.

The walkway to the pool is locked off at 10pm and reopens at 7:30am. Our guests apartment was on the walkway to the pool, so I am not sure what why our guest felt it was noisy "at all hours". By 10pm it is very quiet and no one is walking around on the decking as it is locked.

Many people choose to stay with us as our apartments are just what they are looking for. Clean and tidy apartments, close to everything and offering our guests an alternative than having to stay at the luxury 5 star properties.

We hope if our guests travel to Port Douglas again, we have the opportunity to provide them another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.