We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay anywhere else in Port Douglas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Retreat

Save Saved
You added Port Douglas Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Port Douglas Retreat
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not stay anywhere else in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

For our first time to Port Douglas we were recommended to stay at Port Douglas Retreat, for the price you could not find better accommodation. Walking distance to pubs, shops and the beach. The facilities were exactly what you needed, a beautiful BBQ area, tropical well maintained pool with beautiful quite gardens. David and Joyce keep the place immaculately maintained and were fantastic with any questions or advice. They gave unbiased advice of things to do or places to go in Port Douglas. Port Douglas Retreat is the best 3 star accommodation I have stayed in around the world, I would not stay anywhere else in Port Douglas, you could not get any better value. The place was booked out while we were there yet the place remained quite and pieceful. I recommend choosing a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Thanks David and Joyce, we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second loos overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you to Caitlin for your review.

We are very happy to read your review of our accommodation. We are also happy to read that we could contribute to your enjoyment of beautiful Port Douglas and the area.

We are also glad that you found us to be so well located and that you could walk to the beach restaurants or the shops. Being able to walk everywhere certainly makes it easy to get around.

It was good to read that you were able to use our suggestions and tips for your holidays. We enjoy sharing with our guests, tips and suggestions as we feel that this makes the difference to their holidays. Local advice will always beat the guidebooks.

We have so many wonderful comments from our guests about the gardens and pool area. It is a very popular location to sit back and relax. We see many of our guests talking, laughing and sharing with other guests about their experiences in the evenings around the pool area.

We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again, the next time you are in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    63
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
106
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Foster, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best value in Port Douglas near to town and a short walk to Four Mile beach. Lovely pool and garden the resort is well maintained and run by David and Joyce. Ideal for couples who want a quite holiday or base to explore from. We've stayed there for four years each time for longer.

Room Tip: There's an excellent pool, nice to overlook it. Self catering so expect to use the BBQ and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
So happy to read of another guest who enjoys staying with us at Port Douglas Retreat.

We receive many positive remarks about our pool and BBQ area. We see many of our guests sitting around in the late afternoons talking with our other guests, discussing their tours and experiences. It is a popular place to sit back and relax.

As noted in the review, Port Douglas Retreat is 'ideal for couples', we have many couples choosing to stay with us. As we only have studio apartments with double beds, it is very rare that we have children staying with us.

Again, we thank our guests for such a positive review, we always enjoy seeing our guests relaxing and enjoying themselves during their well deserved holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location - Perfect!. Right in the middle of the main street and the beach.
Room - Clean and tidy but nothing flash. If you are wanting anything above a 3 star this isn't for you but if you want a simple room with TV and easy access to everything you need then it's fine. The beds and bathroom are dated but perfectly adequate. Don't look too closely at the grouting etc cos that's not a priority. Our room was near reception and it was noisy at all hrs.
Pool - Fantastic. Slightly heated and well maintained. There needs to be a few more deck chairs tho. Had to go early to get one.

Room Tip: Get as far away from reception as possible. Wooden decks and noisy guests means you get disturbed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
So happy to read that our guests enjoyed their holidays so much.

Actually, our location is one street back from the main street, but as written close to everything.

The pool decking has all the pool furniture for guests to laze by the pool, but I think if we had enough furniture for everyone staying with us, there would be no room left to walk. However, as we are only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, it normally isn't something that people worry about.

The walkway to the pool is locked off at 10pm and reopens at 7:30am. Our guests apartment was on the walkway to the pool, so I am not sure what why our guest felt it was noisy "at all hours". By 10pm it is very quiet and no one is walking around on the decking as it is locked.

Many people choose to stay with us as our apartments are just what they are looking for. Clean and tidy apartments, close to everything and offering our guests an alternative than having to stay at the luxury 5 star properties.

We hope if our guests travel to Port Douglas again, we have the opportunity to provide them another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you want a place to relax in tropical comfort and feel like you are alone in the world, this is the place! We read reviews and viewed the photos but were unprepared for just how beautiful this place really is. We had room 4 overlooking the barbeque roof and the pool with the lush vegetation surrounding us. It felt so absolutely private and serene. Our room was so spacious and the bed looked out into the trees. With the blinds tilted properly, we could have the glorious glow of light without losing privacy yet the balcony roof shaded us from too much intense sun. We swam in the soothing saltwater pool, a real treat to have no chlorine treatment, and the lush vegetation made it feel like we were in a lagoon up in the rainforest. We Americans were enthralled with the exotic tropical birds and could not get enough of the unique Australian plantlife. The location of The Retreat was perfect: only five minutes (literally) to the most spectacular beach you could ever imagine; five minutes in the other direction to the interesting and active shopping/restaurant district; ten minutes to the wharf area with some fantastic restaurants with open-deck dining overlooking the ocean; and large, public recreation fields across the street that kept street noise to a minimum. David and Joyce were attentive to our needs and willingly helped us with bookings and planning of activities. We had door-to-door bus service back to the Cairns airport and never had to feel that we were totally on our own. (One "small," but meaningful, service was the easily accessible laundry facility. We actually did laundry and enjoyed it!!!) We stayed five days in Port Douglas and loved every minute, much of it because of our little "home" at Port Douglas Retreat. You would be hardpressed to find a better place in Port Douglas for the price. If we were to ever come back to Port Douglas, it would be back to the Port Douglas Retreat. It truly lives up to its name.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We thank our guests for such a lovely and honest review.

We are happy that we were able to offer you accommodation that suited you so well and that you were able to enjoy our pool and BBQs and our 'lush' gardens.

It seems from reading your review that you left Port Douglas extremely satisfied and that you "loved every minute of it".

We are so glad that we could not only offer an enjoyable holiday, but we could 'show off' to our American friends, just how pretty Port Douglas and the region is.

We hope if you or your friends are planning another Australian holiday, that we can offer again to you, some wonderful accommodation so you can enjoy this beautiful region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed in apart 24 several times which directly overlooks the pool but remains private, the pool is really beautiful and tranquil, there are mainly couples at the retreat hence the pool isn't noisy.
The rooms are furnished well with everything you need, sure there isn't a full kitchen but there are two sparkling BBQ's by the pool which are free to use.
The location is central to everything ie marina, shops and beach and you don't really need a car.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so happy to see guests return. Obliviously, they love holidaying at Port Douglas Retreat.

We love seeing our guests enjoy their holidays so much and having them return again and again gives us confidence in how we present the apartments and how we treat our wonderful guests.

We have many guests return and holiday with us and we hope that many more will be able to return and enjoy everything we offer at Port Douglas Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The port Douglas retreat gave us great first impressions. It looked great, secure indoor parking, lovely pool and landscaped surrounds, great BBQ area. The room we had was overlooking the pool upstairs. The decor was basic and dated but the furnishings were functional and nearly everything worked. There was a cute little balcony overlooking the pool but it was designed in such a way that if your neighbours were outside as we'll, there was no privacy. In fact you could see them whilst sitting inside on the lounge. Outside on the balcony there was an old window mount style air conditioner. It worked but was that noisy and vibrated so much the sliding glass door did nothing but rattle all night and loosen your fillings. Consequently we used the fan for the rest of our stay. Lucky for us it was winter. The kitchenette was really small and not functional unless you were buttering bread or doing cups of teas. The extractor fan was nothing more than ornamental and just filled up the room with smoke etc. The bathroom was ok, medium size but smelt like something was growing in the drains if closed for a while. The shower cubicle was pathetically small. When you bend over to pick up something on the floor you keep accidentally opening the door, it's that small. The hot water temperature also was dangerously hot on full blast. A recipe for 3rd degree burns when first getting in the shower. Its a shame a second set of towels isnt thrown in as its a bit hard to get a week out of a pair of towels. the charge for the 2nd set seemed like a bit of a money grab to us and a bit off. The unit itself wasnt filthy, but could have done with a really good clean, but I suppose we all have different standards there. Maybe the extra towel revenue could be used to upgrade the cleaners. On a good note the bed was comfortable. This may seem like I am bashing this place, but when travelling you have basic expectations of a 3 1/2 star property, especially in this country. On our second last day after my wife making a comment to the manager about a pool toilet the day before that was foul, the manager was rather rude about the whole thing. A little unprofessional was the vibe there. Anyway, for the week we stayed here, it was ok, with only minor glitches. The location was perfect with lots of great things to do and see.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The place is clean and it's got everything you need, a cable tv, pool, AC, small kitchen area. basically close to the 3 main things in port douglas: the beach, marina and macrossan st. We got the ground floor by the pool, not to bad. But, bed is too soft - bad for my back. if you're looking for a helpful host, this isn't for you... I personally think the service is not personal, a bit distant. the host usually pretend to be busy when we asked something... i dont know what we did wrong!?!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.