We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out on the Reef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Lady Fishing Tours

Dragon Lady Fishing Tours
Berth C8, Meridien Marina | PO Box 743, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877 , Australia
0429 372 466
Website
Improve this listing
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great day out on the Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The trip out to fish near the reef on the Dragon Lady is one not to be missed if you are a keen angler like I am, on board around 0815 to depart at 0830 or a bit earlier if every ones on board. Head off out of the Inlet for a 1.5 hr trip to the first of many fishing locations, they are not scared to pull up the anchor and move if you cannot catch a fish, on the way out to the reef is a good opportunity to get to know the rest of the people on the boat for the day. Once the anchor has been dropped and settled every one drops their lines to the bottom and hopes are high for the first fish into the boat, and it doesn't take long before some one is hooking a fish. At the end of the day if you are unlucky enough to not catch a fish don't worry as there is normally plenty for all to take some home as some people like myself couldn't be bothered cleaning and cooking whilst on holiday.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great day and great sharks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a full day trip with my brother and even though the fish were not plentiful we had a brilliant time. The skipper moved many times and tried very hard to find fish but this was just one of those days. We did find the guys who had been before or were local and had knowledge caught the most. We had a lot of fun watching the sharks who always seemed to be there when we stopped. The deckie kept us interested by feeding the sharks and we got some fantastic gopro shots. I was lucky enough to have hooked a spanish mackerel but this was short lived as a shark took it and I had an unbelievable battle for a few minutes before it broke off. Still had a few fish to take home to eat and they were delicious!

The food and drink on board came in with the price of the trip and was adequate and plentiful. Make sure you have long sleeves a hat and sunblock as its a long day in the sun if you don't get into the shaded part of the boat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great day. The crew looked after us and we caught some great fish as well as snorkelling on the reef. Best part of our holiday.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Fantastic day out fishing"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Dragon lady has a great crew who do their best to help out in any way. Our captain took us to some great spots and we brought home heaps of fish. I would recommend Dragon Lady for a awesome day out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“B oth trips cancelled due to wind - one at 6.40 pm tjhe night beofre despite the forecast being bad for days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Didn't actually get to go out but a friend recommended them and said they provided a great day out. The trips got cancelled due to bad weather which is fine but late notice when on holidays when the forecast had been bad for days was unfortunate when you want to play other activities. They need to do communication better. The counter at our resort did say when we were talking about fishing that this was the windiest time of the year here so those wanting offshore fishing need to bear that in mind.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Lady Fishing Tours also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Dragon Lady Fishing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Lady Fishing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.