We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cayman Villas to your Saves list
Cayman Villas
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   35 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Cayman Villas for the first time on this trip. Our 2-bedroom apartment was beautiful: clean, modern, well-furnished, nice and cool, and we especially liked having en-suite bathrooms for both bedrooms. The swimming pool was great: very clean, and partially shaded in the afternoon. We were without children and in spite of the many kids in the complex it wasn't 'kid noisy', which impressed me greatly. Sue was always friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location is fantastic for Port Douglas' restaurants and market, and for the beach. We'll definitely consider this place for a future return visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from 9 nights at these wonderful apartments . If you're looking for comfort with all the facilities you'll ever need ie washing and ironing ,fully equipped kitchen .then look no further . Your hosts John and sue are two lovely people with a wealth of knowledge for the area and nothing is too much trouble for them . The apartments are situated a few hundred metres from the outstandingly beautiful four mile beach and in the other direction a few hundred metres from the marine . Shops and restaurants a few steps away . Perfect . We were so happy in the apartment with its massive terrace that we used the communal barbie and ate in ..again the barbie was spotless ...like everything else here .. Wonderful stay .thanks John and sue .

Room Tip: A pool view room is good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week at cayman villas with our 2 yr old. Great access to shops, restaurant & beach.

The apartments were a great size, furnished well with a lovely semi- enclosed balcony. The kitchen was perfect for self catering.

Pool and BBQ area was also perfect. Other kids were around but the noise level was very reasonable.

Sue was also particually helpful and organised airport pick up with a baby seat for us.

Can't fault it and it made for a very relaxed family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of 6 friends. The location of the apartments was within walking distance of the beach, restaurants, marina and shops. We hired a car from the airport which was cheaper than the transfer for the 6 of us, there was free parking if required. The apartments were spacious and had everything we needed for our stay- the kitchen was well equipped and there were washing facilities. There was 1 large bedroom with tv and huge en-suite with bath and shower and two smaller rooms with shared bathroom. Travelling as 3 couples the sizes seemed a little until unfair, but would be ideal for a family. The pool area was good with plenty of loungers and a bbq. Sue was a friendly host and organised transfers back to the airport on our behalf. Overall our stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at Cayman and it was wonderful again. We had a 3bedroom villa overlooking the pool for our family of 4. I found it extremely family friendly and the pool is a magnet for all the young children. This is part of the charm of staying here, it is very family friendly. The children laugh and squeal and throw balls and have fun. I have stayed at other so-called family resorts where this is discouraged.
Sue was delightful and by far the biggest improvement I noted from our last stay. Nothing was a bother and she was a wealth of knowledge. The rooms had been updated (new furniture and plasma tv's) and were clean and comfortable. Cayman is a great location for a walk to town or the beach and compared to many places I have visited around Port Douglas it is leagues ahead. Thanks Sue!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Thank you Sue for your wonderful hospitality during our stay last week at Cayman Villas. You made us feel very welcome, and had a personal touch and warm friendly manner that made us feel right at home. The villa was perfect for our family of 5, plenty of space and with every modern convenience required. The location is fantastic for families we walked everywhere and the kids didn't even mind. The pool is beautiful and we enjoyed many hours reading and relaxing on the lounges while the kids played and swam. We wish we could have stayed here for the full 9 day holiday as our 3 nights elsewhere were certainly not as enjoyable as the 6 at Cayman. We hope to be back next year, maybe with some grandparents in tow! Cindy and Tim Orchard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just spent 4 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment with 5 friends. Great rooms, fantastic pool, really friendly staff. Always willing to help out with anything. And it is perfectly situated. You are no more than 5 minutes walk from anything. Beach, restaurants, Marina, shopping etc. Will be back again next year and the year after and the year after that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Villas

Address: 35 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cayman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman Villas Port Douglas offers you the ultimate luxury tropical experience with the relaxed lifestyle of the Caribbean. Accommodation features, sumptuous living areas, large tropical balconies, air-conditioning and ceiling fans, fully-equipped kitchens with granite bench tops & spa bath in the master bathroom. The large one, two and three bedroom villas have been completely refurbished and updated to provide understated elegance, with their tropical shutters and broad terraces, terracotta tiled floors, timber furnishings featuring contemporary soft furnishings, and smart granite and stainless steel kitchens. Each villa has a spa and the two and three bedroom villas have two bathrooms, all units have their own laundry. There is a large horizon outdoor pool with shallow end for children, spa and gazebo with pool-side BBQ`s surrounded by tropical gardens and secure basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Cayman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Villas Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayman Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.