We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd concept” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bazaar

Bazaar
87-109 Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 8900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: After a well-earned hiatus, the buzzing restaurant reopened in late March, with a reinvigorated menu bursting at the seams with the freshest, trawler-to-table and paddock-to-plate produce that Far North Queensland has to offer. Pairing the infectious energy of the inspired international street stall, souks and bodegas, with QT sophistication, Bazaar has been running at full steam since opening 18 months ago, serving up a veritable mosaic of foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner to thousands of guests and Port Douglas locals alike. QT Port Douglas is a unique designer resort that celebrates an eclectic design environment and bold entertainment to create an intriguing yet relaxing guest experience. A beacon for design, art, style and luxury, QT Port Douglas resort has been operational since May 2012, has since positioned itself as the Far North's very own purveyors of fun, leaders of style and masters of indulgence.
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An odd concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This review pertains to New Year's Eve dinner. Lovely staff at The host desk greeted us upon arrival and confirmed our pre-reservation. From there we were given a brief orientation to the dining room and their self-service concept. We were seated at a long communal table which was a bit odd. In general, the staff were great but we found that the food fell short of expectation. I don't think the self-service concept was for us.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    42
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gimmick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had dinner at the Bazaar at the QT Port Douglas on our recent holiday there. The experience was sold as an interactive bazaar and was $65 per head. We werent sold on the theme as all that was different from a buffet was having all the fresh food on display and the chefs out the front. We were told you could order steak, salmon and other seafood to order; the steak we ordered was over cooked. The salmon and steak were ready in quick time but when I tried to order scallops I was told it would take 20 minutes. I had the impression that they didnt want to serve me scallops. In fairness the people we went with thought it was OK but I certainly wouldnt go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very accommodating to the kids....cooked up fresh carbonara for them, staff were great, chef very friendly, wonderful selection of foods

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Probably the best buffet in Cairns region but Too many mosquito & inadequate serving staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Food variety is good but taste is not excellent as other TA members suggested - the 3 chefs on duty during my visit were rather young. Quality of pizza, asian food and steak were so-so only.

It's true that the chefs are very accommodating but my experience was - the attention was somehow on one group of customers the entire evening, not equally to all others in the restaurant. E.g. We (a number of small tables sitting close to the "special" group) were not informed that we can order tailor-made steak or salmon until we saw the chefs deliver the meals to the lucky group. Even we went to the open kitchen to order the same items later, we were told to collect our meals from the kitchen while the special group had their food delivered to the table by the chef and a friendly chat.

The hotel definitely need to do something (pest control) to reduce the number of mosquito near the pond area coz the restaurant is right next to the pond and both my husband and I had 30-35 mosquito bites while we had dinner there. The resort we were staying also have fish pond but no mosquito at all.

Finally, inadequate serving staff for drinks. The bar is located in another restaurant therefore waiter and waitress all went there to order and wait for drinks. Until they return our with the drinks, we only has one waitress at the reception most of the dining time. Many customers just run to the fridge restaurant to get water bottles themselves. We left without our desert wine and coffee butt still had to wait for a while to pay our bill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best buffet ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was dubious booking a buffet for 4 for New Year's Eve But this restaurant exceeded our expectations. Chef wanted to cook anything we requested and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were blown away by the service and the amazingly fresh food and the fact that nothing was a bother. Well done we will be back again and again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazaar also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.