We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfront Terraces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beachfront Terraces to your Saves list
Beachfront Terraces
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
brisbane
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here with our 3 kids for a week and wished it was longer. We absolutely loved it. The unit was clean, lots of room- we could watch the kids in the pool from our back deck and on the beach from the front. Staff were helpful, friendly but really unobtrusive. Gardens were beautiful and being able to play a game of tennis so close to our unit was great. We will definately be booking in next year. Thanks for a lovely break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had a one bedroom on the ground level across the street from the beach. We were a bit apprehensive having our patio door open to the garden and out to the street. It was unfounded! Port Douglas has a lovely safe feeling and we had direct access to the beach in a minute. We even rented paddleboards and stored them on our patio making us feel very local.
The tennis court was available during our stay and the pool was often all ours.
The staff at the front desk were very accommodating.
The apartment was well designed and very clean. We enjoyed having our own parking spot right outside our door making it easy to unload and load the car.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull,UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and the best I can say is that they are average! The next night we checked into a hotel down the road that was 100% better and less that half the price. even though we did ask to stay another night here they said that they had already discounted the price and could not go any lower .. Shame as there are so many better place than this and only good point was a washer and dryer in them. Good beach location but much nicer if you take a look....

Room Tip: All rooms have beach front views but first floor gets a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy998, Public Relations Manager at Beachfront Terraces, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear guest,

I am really sorry that you have had such a disappointing experience on your recent visit, I would like to apologise on behalf of Latitude 16 team. After this school holidays the property will be undertaking a refurbishment.

As walk-ins you would have had a chance to view the room before deciding to stay, which then should have met expectations, and we were fairly heavily booked due to the school holidays. We do however offer discounts when it is not a peak holiday time.

The 1 bedroom apartments are on the ground floor, and the 2 bedroom beachfront apartments are townhouse style with the 2 levels. It is in a premium location close to Macrossan Street, with beach and ocean views, well appointed - self catering with private laundry facilities.

Please contact me directly when you find yourself in Port Douglas and I will ensure that your reservation is taken care of.

Kind Regards
Lynette Lai
Business Development Manager
Latitude 16 Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

These units have had their day and should be demolished.Our 1 bedroom ground floor unit was dirty,crockery dirty and bathroom grubby with 5 cockroaches in 6 days.Couch was about 35 years old and difficult to sit on as cushions kept sliding off. TV too small.King sized bed in a matchbox bedroom ridiculous.Washing machine and dryer were both faulty.Overpriced.Only redeeming feature is the position directly opposite the beach but have to contend with motor homes and combie vans parked opposite often sleeping overnight.When cockroaches were mentioned to management was told that was expected in the tropics ,so why weren't we told what to expect?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed here in october as it was the only place we could find with a 2 bed appartment. It was very quiet and we hardly saw anyone else around, although it seemed a bit busier next door at latitude beaches, with which you share facilities and reception.

We had a 2 bed ground floor garden appt. which looked out onto a tired tennis court. The back entrance was a bit overgrown, which made it a bit dark inside. The actual rooms had a well equiped kitchen and small laundry cupboard with a washing machine and drier. Unfortunately, although everything was clean, it was all a bit tired and the whole place felt like it seriously needed renovating.

Couldn't fault the location though, just a few seconds from the beach and just a short walk to shops and marina. The staff at reception were also good, helped us book a few tours and transfers with minimum fuss and sorted out a noise problem very promptly.

Overall cheap and chearful, if you're going to be out a lot of the time, you could do a lot worse, but don't expect any more than very average 2/3 star accomodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville,VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Beachfront Terrace during an admittedly slow part of the season. It was great. The pace was very slow and relaxed at Terrace. At check in, we were advised of an animal park and had another tour booked for us through reception. The animal park was awesome!! We had planned to go on an overnight dive boat and were told we could leave our luggage in the room and keep the keys without having to check out and back in afterwards. This was great. The only issue we ran into was a group of green tree ants on the handle to the gate to the pool. (Their bite REALLY hurts) They were taken care of immediately after we reported them. Thanks Beachfront Terrace for a great time. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Quiet and friendly
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

We booked this hotel due to the fact that it had a beachfront location. Not that there were any views from the two rooms we stayed in. The first room for one night smelt of cigarrette smoke and the bed linen had an overpowering smell of eucalyptus - so much so that I my clothes smelt and and I could not sleep properly. The best thing about the room was that it had a relatively new bathroom. This was not the case in the second room we stayed in - the bathroom was tiny and was mouldy. The basin was really small like in a public toilet and did not have any kind of cabinet. The stove and fan did not work properly either.
The best thing about this hotel was the location so that we could walk directly across the road to get to Four mile beach. However I would forgo the location to stay in a better hotel - Port Douglas is small and everything is just a short walk away.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Terraces

Address: 17 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Terraces 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Terraces has an excellent beachfront location on The Esplanade, at Four Mile Beach. The sand and sea are only metres from your front door. A short stroll is Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The beachfront apartments have magnificent views of Four Mile Beach and the Coral Sea. The garden view apartments overlook the tropical gardens and swimming pool. The property offers a range of facilities including outdoor swimming pool, full size tennis court, BBQ facilities and lush tropical gardens. Off-street undercover parking is available for all guests. Reception is open at Beaches Resort, next door to Beachfront Terraces. From here, you can also arrange any tours to the tropical Great Barrier Reef or associated islands, Daintree rainforest, Cape Tribulation and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beachfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Beachfront Terrace Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfront Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.