We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments to your Saves list
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Leicester, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

Mandalay Apartments were absolutely brilliant. Close to the sea and the centre of Port Douglas. A lovely pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. The apartments are beautiful, clean and classy. It was a wonderful week - part of an amazing month long trip to Australia with our children (aged 5 and 7). The whole trip was organised very efficiently by Trialfinders.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    52
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
178
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

we stayed at mandalay/shalimar apartments for a week in October after picking them out from comments on here. The apartment was fantastic, everything was in great condition and they are in a good position for the beach and town. from what i saw i think they would be hard to beat. I actually had people coming up to me as i was walking in to the grounds form the beach asking how i had booked them and what did they cost as they were so envious.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mandalay apartments during an all too short trip to Australia last Easter. I can honestly say the apartment was the most beautiful we have ever stayed in. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made the right choice. The kitchen, bathroom, bedroom were all lovely and it was tastefully furnished and immaculate throughout. Port Douglas is a lovely, peaceful place and this was a good place to stay, a short-ish walk from the centre of town and near the long, natural beach. The only downside was the limited hours of the Reception. I would also say that the Reception staff were not that helpful, you almost felt they felt they didn't need to try as the accommodation sold itself and they were probably right.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2005

Our family of four had 3 great nights here in July 2004. The staff were extremely helpful & obliging, to the point of contacting the company who we were visitinf the reef with & asking them to send a speacial bus at extremely short notice to pick two of us up who thought we were too ill to visit the reef & changed our minds 20 minutes before the boat was due to leave. The apartment was very well maintained & had far more than we expected. We had a lot of e-mail contact from England before we went & they were always very quick in replying & got us some good deals on trips.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.