We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, spacious and nicely appointed units in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments to your Saves list
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious and nicely appointed units in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The 2 bedroom unit was perfect for our family of four and the location was great too. We could easily walk to restaurants and the beach. The pool wasn't huge, but it was very relaxing. We would recommend and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    53
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
183
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Massive luxury apartment walk through to the pool. Right across from Four Mile Beach and minutes to Macrossan Street. Modern decor with everything you could want while away. Absolutely loved it and would be booking here next time for sure.
Friendly staff on hand. Rooms aren't serviced unless requested but thats all OK.
Best few nights sleep I've had in ages. Port Douglas is beautiful!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ground floor and being able to walk straight through to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the Mandalay. It was extremely spacious, very clean and cool (very welcome given the outside temperature) the kitchen was large and very well equipped including large fridge freezer and dishwasher. The washing machine and drier were very useful as we were on a 4 week holiday with 23kg of luggage!! We went for the weekly clean rather than daily clean which worked well and saved money.. On arrival there was a huge basket of fruit which was delicious - a lovely thought. We had a balcony which was lovely to sit out on at sunset with a chilled glass of wine. There were two pools which could get rather busy during the day but early morning and in evening you could have them to yourselves. The location was superb, 1 minute walk out of the back gate to the beach and about 10 minutes to the shops and restaurants and 15 minutes to the port. There were a lot of great restaurants catering for every taste so the fact the Mandalay had no restaurant facilities was not an issue. There were two gas BBQ areas on site which we used on several occasions and there were also tables there if you did not want to take back to your room. There is a Coles supermarket in the town and also a good butchers - highly recommend the beef sausages and the Roo Burgers!!
The staff were friendly and extremely helpful - printing boarding cards, booking transport etc. All in all a perfect place to stay in Port Douglas - would definitely go back - only request - free Wifi please. We had to camp outside the White House Hotel to get it!!
Things to do - Barrier Reef introductory Scuba on Silversonic, hire a car for the day (Port Douglas Car hire was best value at time we went) and drive up to Cape Tribulation - very easy drive - can't get lost-only 1 road!! with lots of interesting stops along the way. So much cheaper than an organised tour and you can do exactly what you want.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have returned after an idyllic week in tropical North Queensland, and found the Mandalay a very comfortable place to stay.
Near enough to the main shopping restaurants and cafes, it is only separated from 4 mile beach by a little-used road and a narrow strip of vegetation.
We were given exactly what we requested, an upper-floor room facing West.
The welcome bowl of fruit was substantial enough to provide us with breakfasts for five days.
Staff were obliging though the hire bicycles have seen better days.
That echoes a little through the complex with some repairs of a minor nature needing attention.
Just looking a bit tired.
The trees screening your balcony from the rest of the world were home a variety of birds, including a species whose plaintive cry is the title of this review

Room Tip: Rooms on the West are quiet and have afternoon sun, those facing East reverse the comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the mandalay apartments with 2 small children and were extremely impressed. We had a poolside ground floor apartment which was perfect for our needs. The apartment exceeded our expectations. It was huge, modern and clean and we could not have been happier with the location - minutes walk to the beach and close enough to the action in town but quiet and peaceful too.
We are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the apartments were first class in respect of facilities cleanliness & location, reception was very pleaseant & helpful, port douglas is a beautiful place we hired a car & visited gossman gorge very impressive, also the reef is a must ,very friendly & helpful locals thanks aus

Room Tip: if my room is anything 2 go by any room will be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stayed a week in a 3 bedroom apartment (3 couples). It was spacious and well furnished with a large balcony, ideal for a warm evening's dinner or drinks. Being opposite the beach and a five minute walk from the main street was an ideal location. It is close to everything but far enough away to be very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.