We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments to your Saves list
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Mandalay appartments from 18 Jan for 8 nights. We had origianlly booked a 3 bed garden view, but when we arrived we were kindly moved to a beach view (no view as trees in the way) which overlooked the pool and was perfect. It was very clean and had everthing we needed for our stay. Our children spent most of the holiday in the pool, which has shaded areas which is great when it is hot. To get to the 4 mile beach you just have to walk through a few trees and you are there and the town centre is about a 5 minute walk away, which has some great restaurants I would recoment On the Inlet (amazing seafood dishes and great service) and Salsa, which is a bit pricey but worth it on a special occasion. It really is the perfect location and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. My son wanted to bring Milo the dog home with us! We wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: A balcony area gives you more privacy, although a terrace means you have direct access to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    69
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
209
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spacious, clean apts. Very friendly, helpful concierge. Two minute walk to the beach. Five minute walk to town shuttle or ten minute walk to cute downtown with many boutiques, restaurants and grocery store. Nice pool with canopies over it so you don't get sunburned as you hang out in the water. And you go to sleep and wake up every evening and morning to wild exotic birds like none I've ever heard or seen. Quiet because it's off the main highway. Never heard any neighbors even though the building was fully occupied. Only good things to say and we would go back. Great for families with any age kids. No restaurant. Ignore the rating as site will not let me undo!:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently spent 5 days at the Madalay Apartments. The 3 bedroom apartment was very clean,spacious & comfortable. Fantastic location very close to all shops & restaurants and a 2 min walk to Four Mile Beach. We highly recommend it. We are already planning to come back for at least 2 weeks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue bell, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo at the Mandalay. It is a great place and a terrific base for the region. The condo is spacious clean and well equipped. Plenty of space and plenty of storage. The pool is great, shaded, and heated just right. The beach is just a very short walk and it is beautiful! We swam in the netted area and had no problem with stingers. We used bikes (on the beach!) and tennis rackets and courts, all at no extra expense. When I left jewelry in the room, they mailed it back to me in the USA. Everything as truly terrific and a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in this accomodation and it was wonderful.
Very clean, large and bright space. Short walk to the beach. Short walk to McCrossan street (but far enough to be away from noise). Very nice pool and private patio overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Request a ground level room to be able to walk from your patio to the pool easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Mandalay Apartments over the new year. The apartment was very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic location for Four Mile beach and only a few hundred metres from the main shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family of 4 just spent 4 nights in Port Douglas and we were very happy with our choice of the Mandalay apartments. The staff are extremely helpful, the 2-bedroom apartment we had was great (spacious, comfortable, clean and stocked with everything we could need), the pool is perfect for an afternoon swim (small, but somewhat covered/shaded so nice on a hot day) and the location was great - a short walk to the main street in town and practically next to the beach. I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.