We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable appartment & informative helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra in the Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Mantra in the Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra in the Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable appartment & informative helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment for 7 days. We found the appartment to be a good size for 2 adults + 2 children, very clean and a great central location in Port Douglas. All the staff were extremely helpful and informative and helped plan our itinery and made our holiday very special. We would be very happy to come back and can recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi Fiona M.

We appreciate your great review and are glad that you enjoyed all that Mantra In The Village and Port Douglas has to offer.

Our staff really enjoy what they do and I am glad they were able to help you plan your stay.

We look forward to seeing you bak again !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently and found the room to be clean and well equipped - we had a nice porch overlooking the side street, across to Watergate restaurant, but when the people above started their spa, the noise echoed around our room...very noisy and we could also hear their shower - and it went on for hours - and couldn't be drowned out by our TV...so the building is poorly insulated or noise is certainly an issue in some rooms. The noise from the street wasn't a problem at all and overnight the resort was quiet.
We've stayed at other Hotels with spa and jacuzzi facilities, like the Regal, and even though you can hear a distant rumble, it was nothing like this...
The pool was also cold - we didn't use it...it might need heating from time to time.
The room was fine - spacious, well appointed and comfortable and the location is excellent - reception were also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hi evansbrown.

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
Thanks also for your time on the phone where you explained to me the noise issue that you had. We have not had any previous feedback regarding this but I have checked the room to ensure it wasn't a matter of a guest in the room above unintentionally leaving the spa or shower running.

You will find that very few resorts have a heated pool in Port Douglas as we get very few months where it is cold , one of the advantages of being in the tropical north at this time of year !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights in June in a 1 bedroom suite. We enjoyed the spa in the suite and it was quiet although it was very central. The staff were very helpful, recommended and booked tours for us. We saw other resorts which were out of town but would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi peteraot13.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mantra In The Village.

Our central location , spa baths and helpful staff are all things that guests find makes for a relaxing , warm holiday in the heart of Port Douglas !

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

we stayed in 2 bedroom apartment which was excellent ,,very clean and well appointed. The house staff were excellent as I found the bed too hard and they did all they could to source a foam mattress topper which did the trick !
Although the room faced over the street the noise wasnt an issue as the louvres on the balcony when closed blocked out any sound . The spa on the balcony was great fun too and perfect at the end of the day to relax in
location is just brilliant everything is right there ,,perfect as well if there are people who cant walk too far or dont want to have to drive after arriving . will recommend this place to others and will stay there again on another visit

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi rennie s.

Great to hear you enjoyed the Port Douglas sunshine while on holiday from Adelaide.

The resort is centrally located and the spa baths are always popular..
I am glad that the staff were able to meet your needs for you bedding and the stay was comfortable as well as relaxing.

We look forward to seeing you back with us again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in a hotel room at Mantra in the Village. The room was very nice and clean and the spa bath was wonderful. The location is also perfect. Having said this, my partner and I wont return. There was absolutely no customer service. When you check in, you are relayed information via phone and collect your own key from a safe. When you check out you leave the key at an unattended reception station. Not once did we see someone who worked for the hotel. The hotel has a reasonable kitchenette. Considering there is no room service at this hotel we bought along our own cereal for breakfast. There were no bowls supplied so we rang reception and asked for two and they refused. It is not that they do not have bowls, it is simply the 'policy' not to provide bowls for hotel rooms. We thought this demonstrated an absolute lack of customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi Amy J.

Thanks you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay with us.
Our reception is manned daily and when staff are responding to guests request or on lunch the phone at reception will connect you through for any requests 24 hours a day.

Hotel rooms have only tea and coffee facilties while the one bedrooms units provide a kitchette with kitchen utensils for your convenience.
We would have been happy to upgrade you to a one bedroom unit had we had one available.
Please contact me dirct and i will be happy to personally look after your booking for a return stay to ensure we better accomadte your needs.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have been three times to this beautiful area. The Mantra is very comfortable with a central pool and spa area with adjacent BBQ. Our room had a balcolny spa very handy if you have a few beers in the fridge.
Good restaurants are nearby and the beach a short stroll away.
One of the world's greatest wonders lies of PD I am refering to The Great Barrier Reef we sailed with Wavelength a smaller boat with a very personel service making the experience of a lifetime. Staying at The Mantra meant we did not need transport for the delights of PD but to go further afield it is advisable to hire a car. You then have access to the Rainforest at Mossman Gorge or another ten minutes to the Daintree River.
The Kuranda Railway an hour away towards Cairns is an absolute must. travel up by train and return by Skyrail above the treetops. After all that excitement back to the Mantra and enjoy the pool amenities.






wave

Room Tip: We stayed at number 21 last time and were well suited although other we stayed in were very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Hi Teljean.

Thank you for the review of your stay here in Port Douglas.

I am glad that you got out and saw all that the region has to offer with some wonderful tours and also good to hear that the resort suited your needs so that you could relax after a busy day.

We look forward to seeing you back again !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here between Christmas and New Years for 3 Nights. It was great that the place was in the centre of Port Douglas and it is also a quick walk to the beach and to the shops. There where five of us and we stayed in a two bedroom appartment it was a great room but the beds are a little hard the spa was nice and there were a few louvers broken so if you wanted to sleep in you couldn't. The pool area is small but nice. We stayed in one of the front rooms and we didn't hear that much noise. All in all we had a great time in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Hi Twistie_666.

Good to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us.
Our central location and spacious units are always popular.

Thank you for the feedback on the window louvers , we have had these fixed so that they will not be a problem for any future guests.

Please let us know when you will return to see us again !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra in the Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village Resort

Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra in the Village is located in the heart of Port Douglas and is designed to enhance the tropical climate, featuring a range of hotel rooms and one and two bedroom apartments. Mantra in the Village offers a Greco-style swimming pool perfect for relaxing in after a full day of activity on the Reef or in the Rainforest. Property facilities include: Direct access to shops and Restaurants, Laundry facilities, Pool, Tour desk, Undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mantra in the Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra in the Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.