We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay! We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved our stay! We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location for this accommodation was perfect for us. All the big chains look good but you would need to drive to go anywhere whereas we could walk everywhere from here. The staff were also very pleasant and the apartments are beautifully appointed with views to the ocean. We also had a full moon which added something special. It was great to have breakfast included and a restaurant if you wanted to stay put. And there's Happy Hour!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear woozal27,
What a lovely review and thank you so much for your time to write your observations. It is heartening to read that you thought the Suites were beautifully appointed and that you thought it was great to have breakfast as a complimentary inclusion - we think a good and wide ranging hot and cold full buffet breakfast is a great way to start a day of touring - or nothing at all!
We really look forward to spoiling you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    115
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
480
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The rooms are very nice and the whole place is color co-ordinated in blues and greens. The bath soaps and amenities are great. Wonderful bar, excellent mixed drinks, nice wine list and the food in room service and in the restaurant was great. Literally 1 minute walk to the enclosed beach and less than 5 minutes to down-town. Excellent staff who takes care of all bookings. Buffet breakfast was not that great but everything else would certainly cause us to stay there again. The sunset cruise was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the jacuzzi tub rooms with a balcony overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Jennifer R,
Sincere gratitude for your full 5 star rating for your stay. it is great to read that you enjoyed the luxurious Appelles soaps and amenities - they really make you feel like you are being spoilt with their mix of Australian herbs and scents. Our restaurant team will be thrilled to read that you enjoyed the bar and that you thought the restaurant was "excellent" - they are such hardworking great team who will smile to read your thoughts.
Thanks again Jennifer R and we hope you took great holiday memories back to NZ with you.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a good weekend exploring the town and surrounds. Rooms are clean, good size, works well. Location is convenient and within casual walking distance to everything on offer in town. Waking up to sunrise over the waters of the Barrier Reef are a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear David B,
I guess the benchmark for a great stay in a hotel is both the quality of the room and its location and we are happy you enjoyed both. We feel spoilt that we are the only Hotel in Port Douglas that enjoys beach and ocean views whilst being ideally located at the quiet and peaceful end of Port Douglas' main street - Macrossan. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and stayed at Peninsula hotel. The location was perfect with a lovely beach outlook from our balcony. Our room was impeccably clean and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear sharon g,
Congratulations again on your anniversary and we are humbled that you chose to spend it with us. Your really nice comments about the view, your room, our hardworking housekeeping staff (who have been with us for many years) and all of our staff who together really make us proud is very much appreciated.
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Location was fantastic and we would book another holiday there for this reason alone. The gardens, pool and outdoor restaurant area were gorgeous. Our room was comfortable but dated with a couple of annoying things to contend with. On day one of our 10 night stay we reported the dishwasher was out of order and the promise to swap it over never happened. Another small annoyance was the wardrobe door that couldn't be opened because the airconditioner was in the way.
Breakfast was included in our tarrif but we only tried it twice. We were very disappointed with various breakfast items in the same Bain Marie - bacon swimming in oily water, same with the scrambled eggs. Most unappetising. We dined only once in the restaurant on the Beef & Reef night and were served gristly meat with extremely over cooked prawns. I suspect that maybe the main chef was not on duty that night.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and the entire venue was beautifully clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our sixth trip here. We, amongst others at the breakfast area, commented about the formula supermarket bread & the passé Kraft jams. Today on our last day, some lovely wholemeal artisan style loaf appeared? Why not every day- Brumbys' bakery is about 200m from the hotel, & they have a wide range. What about all the lovely French jams readily available in Coles?
Also, the usual suspects from Kelloggs feature heavily given the typical demographics of the guest profile; what about some healthy niche brand muesilis?
These are minor gripes, yet we heard one guest lamenting being booked in for a long stay & being sentenced to " formula bread", & you asked us for feedback, I felt obliged to pass it on.
If this is a four star hotel then they need to look at their mattresses; our was a real dinosaur- hard, saggy, no pillow top, & when we inquired of management they said they had non,& no option to change it.. Checkout was a little rough with the wrong tariff entered & bus charge incorrectly entered. These are important things to give return guests- accurate, checked accounts(the amount in question was substantial).
With Coconut Grove now up & running,a continued focus on maintaining an edge would seem important.
The staff are lovely & it is a lovely hotel, all things considered.

Room Tip: Room 20- lovely deck & extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just spent four nights in this wonderfully located boutique hotel in Port Douglas. Lovely aspect overlooking the beach and excellent service with some nice touches. Definitely will stay there again. Only suggestion is that the tile floors were a bit 'gritty' so perhaps a more thorough daily sweep and/or wipe...

Room Tip: A room on the second or third floors overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4½ star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy…All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings.The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 15 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.