We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Lismore Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in a coral sea spa room. Rooms are comfortable but not spectacular but what this hotel has is location. I could see the beach from my shower. It is right in the main part of port Douglas but also right across the road from the beach. The staff were friendly and always helpful. There was a great pool area to swim or relax. Breakfasts were ok but but could be better. The hotel has a great cafe and the food at the restaurant at night was excellent. All up it was a great place to stay, my only negative comment is that it is expensive for what you get. I can get a boutique villa in Bali for the price here, but I guess that's Australia, expensive, but if you want a really good hotel close to everything then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go or a coral spa suite on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear HB00763,
A lovely spoil to shout yourself a Coral Spa Suite and gaze out to the blue water and white sands of Four Mile Beach.
We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Chefs and Waitstaff at our Hi Tide Restaurant - they will be so pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine and service.
We supply so many inclusions in your stay here that it is difficult to compare us to Bali - such as complimentary transfer from Cairns airport (1 1/4 hr drive for 2 people), free laundries, free WIFI, full buffet breakfast each morning, free DVDs, library and pool towels, pluger coffee, fresh milk etc etc.....I would be confident that these wouldnt all be included in a Bali Villa. Overall though, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again up in sunny Nth QLD.
Kind Regards and thank you so much for the time you've taken to review us.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    94
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
391
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we have just returned from staying at Peninsula Boutique hotel in Port Douglas & had a lovely time. The hotel has a family atmosphere to it, the staff are very friendly & it is well located at the bottom of Macrossan Street with all its restaurant & it is quiet plus it overlooks 4 mile beach over a quiet road. Our teenage children were upgraded on our arrival which was a nice surprise, they were booked in a pool room, we were in an ocean room next door. Amanda & Toni were exceptionally helpful and Peeter was very accomodating in the restaurant. The rooms are fine, would have loved some tissues. There isnt an oven only a microwave, I made the mistake of buying pizza from Coles... We dived with Blue Dive while we were there which we booked ahead, they were a professional set up but it was very windy so the diving wasnt great. We also did Tonys tours which we would highly recommend up to Mossman & Daintree for a full entertaining & informative day too.

Room Tip: we were in room 16 & 17 which are both opposite the laundry which I thought would be noisy but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Muscat99,
What a lovely review and we will be sure to pass your feedback onto Amanda, Toni and Peeter - just three of our hard working staff who make us so proud each day.
The Suites do have a unique feature for a hotel - a discreet self contained kitchenette which features a full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, all the pots, pans, utensils etc - plenty of item to make a basic meal.
Just wanted to quickly pointout that there are 2 boxes of tissues under the bathroom sink along with extra amenties just in case you need them. So sorry you didnt locate them or ask one of us to point it out.
Thanks so much for your time to review us ... say hello to our UK friends for us.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Peninsula boutique hotel is in a perfect location which is on the main street of Port Douglas and right across from the beach. All guests were very quiet (over 16y.o helps) and we stayed during the school holiday season.
The room had an adequate kitchen facilities, a neat bathroom (with large hot tub) and also great views of four mile beach.
Amanda was an amazing host, who recommended lots of great activities for our stay.
10/10!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Sharon D,
What a wonderful way to spend 7 days sunbaking on the deck in tropical Nth QLD. So pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your room - thank you.
We are particularly proud of our own Hi Tide Restaurant - we run different specials or theme nights each week based on the days fresh deliveries so there is always something new to try. Reading that you dined with us 5 out of 7 nights certainly assures us that you did enjoy the cuisine and service!
Thanks so much for your time to review us Sharon D and please contact the Hotel directly for a special return guest rate when you next need a break from the big smoke of Adelaide!
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights and had a great relaxing holiday. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a spa suite which was a lovely surprise. We had our own balcony with table, chairs and sun lounges. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The food at the restaurant was excellent and well priced, so much so we ate there 5 of our 7 nights. Loved the theme nights and can recommend the curry night and fish & chip night. We chose this hotel for its no children policy especially as it was school holidays. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Room 23 had a larger private balcony than the other pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

a boutique hotel, with personal service, located at the end of the four mile beach

rooms are very nice, relaxing with good views assuming you get a sea view.
very quiet, and staff are friendly as you would expect
it's a short 3 min stroll to the local town, for good dining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Richiev2009,
As your profile suggests, you seem a well travelled guest and so for us to receive such a complimentary review from you makes it seem like we are on the right track to achieving our aim - to surprise, pleasure and delight you during your stay in beautiful Nth QLD.
Thank you so much for your time to sit and review us - we really appreciate it!

The Management & Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Cafe-Bar-Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The weather was not ideal during our stay, but the staff made up for it. I cannot recall staying at a place where everyone consistently went out of their way to make you feel like an honored guest and a friend. Special requests, attraction bookings, restaurant suggestions were executed flawlessly. Nice location, comfortable rooms and adults only policy make it a very special place.

Room Tip: An ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear bolmar,
So lovely to read your review- all of our team are genuinely interested in making your holiday the one of your dreams and we will try and do everything we can to tailor it just the way you want it!
Thank you so much.
The Management & Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Cafe-Bar-Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fabulous place. A bit more than my usual budget but I feel it was worth it. Extra highlights of the service include free laundry with powder provided, leaving pack of supplies when I requested Do not Disturb all day due to illness, electric bike hire on site, free wifi (still quite rare in Australia), Excellent restaurant. No kids under 16 was great for school holidays and location is a winner. Unique in having close ocean views and sounds, under 100m to sand and ocean and just a few minutes stroll to the main eat street, then a couple more to the Marina. This is so much easier than having to depend on shuttles etc, no matter how good the service.

Room Tip: Large spa bath is an extra nicetie
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Joy H,
Thank you for your observant and lovely review. This is a good chance for us to reiterate to readers about how many free inclusions come when you stay with us - our rate does not include just a place to stay! With free full breakfast for all guests each day, free arrival pick up from Cairns airport if you stay with us for 3 nights or more (this alone saving you $75 per couple! ), free DVDs, pool towels, room servicing every day, plunger coffee, fresh milk, fresh flowers in your room, free laundry facilities etc etc.... some of the reasons why guests do comment that we are excellent value for money. We are also proud of our location and the proximity to the main part of Port Douglas whilst being located in the very quiet end of Macrossan Street where the sounds you will hear will be the lapping waves on the sand of Four Mile Beach.
Thanks so much Joy H - hopefully you will keep us in mind for your next tropical holiday break!

The Management & Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Cafe-Bar-Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4½ star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy…All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings.The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 15 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.