We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Lemont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just spent 5 weeks in New Zealand and Australia. We stayed in many 5 star hotels. Peninsula was near the top of the list. The staff and the owners couldn't do enough for you, and it was genuine. The rooms and the facility were top notch. We ate there several times and the food was excellent. We've been doing a lot of traveling in the last 4 years and this is my first "trip advisor". The Peninsula was so much better then most 5 star hotels, I had to comment about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear GregwLemont,
Thank you so much for choosing us to be your first Tripadvisor response!
We do work so hard on not only the Hotel and offering but the cuisine and service in our Oceanfront Restraurant - Hi Tide. We have a small and friendly team here who do genuinely love to spoil guests on their holidays - it is actually a great part of our jobs!
Though we do make sure to guests that we point out that are 4.5 star...if we climbed to 5 in your opinion, we are certainly happy to oblige!
Thanks so much again...really appreciate your thoughts.
Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    115
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
482
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice quiet location but within walking distance on the main street. Had a spacious room overlooking 4 mile beach. Excellent buffet breakfast, all staff very friendly and helpful. The pool area was quite small but very well set out and the breakfast area is overlooking it.We had not booked and were offered an excellent last minute rate! Did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on that, but we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear mariannegmay,
Thank you for your review and so pleased to read that you enjoyed the full buffet breakfast that is offered to all guests when staying with us as well as the convenient location of being at the end of the main street but overlooking the Coral Sea and Four Mile Beach (actually the only Hotel in Port Douglas that offers this!)
Please send our regards to all of our UK friends and remember where to return to escape your chilly winters!
Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

great place, we ate in the restaurant EVERY night , no problems , good room top floor overlooking the beach no 31 at last a seperate bathrommwith a door I think, nice bedrooms & balcony, pool & waterfall amazing, good breakfasts and the owner Sheryl has her finger on the button , she told us about Bill, what a tour guide, get the helicopter back from reef visit, no children allowed & bottle shop just up the road, we missed the rain during the day but it poured at night

Room Tip: top floor at the end 31 if I remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear peter k,
Such a great compliment to be awarded all 5 stars in all categories plus a lovely title to your review.
We do strive to make sure everyone has the holidays of their dreams and we are so pleased that we seemed to do this for your stay with us. Thanks so much for your time to review us and we hope to see you again one day for another stay.
Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Comfortable rooms, a buffet breakfast, and free guest laundry, make this hotel a good choice for a busy resort town. Also a plus is the hotel restaurant with tables overlooking the ocean serving food that is perfectly fine and a cut above what is offered elsewhere, and great following a busy over-hot January day. While the per-night rate was pretty steep, round trip transportation from the airport in Cairns is included, making the total seem much more reasonable. Also, the hotel is at one end of a busy street, making it a great choice for a quiet night's sleep, but convenient to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Elceegee,
Thank you for such a complimentary review on both the Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant. It is great that you highlight the many inclusions that do make the Hotel great value for money - usually items that are always on-top of the listed Hotel room price.
We will be sure to pass on your comments to all of the team who will be so pleased to read them.
Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It has taken me some time to write this review as I got my thoughts and impressions together. This property is nice- the rooms, the layout, the pool ... it is all... nice. Some of the reviews on this site use the words "luxury", "paradise" and "heavenly" and it was partly based on these reviews, and the property's website, that we booked. There was nothing wrong with the property; it just wasn't the luxury awesomeness that we had expected. It was nice.

The rooms are well laid out with all the bits you need for a stay away but felt a bit ... dated, especially for a property that describes itself as offering "boutique luxury". The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. The pool area is pleasant and we took advantage of the free guest laundry facilities (greatly appreciated). Breakfast was good and the location is great. Oh, the staff were generally excellent.

This is not to dissuade people from staying here- it is comfortable, well-placed accommodation. However, if you are expecting the luxury of a five star hotel, you will be disappointed. If you want the comfort of a four-star holiday apartment, Peninsula will probably be perfect for your stay in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MaxwellSmart86,
We like to call ourselves "tropically stylish" - meaning that we work hard to provide top quality surroundings, furnishings, amenities, toiletries etc whilst maintaining the quintessential Queensland beach holiday feel. We never claim to be a luxury five star hotel and certainly never wish to look and feel like a bland, corporate city Hotel. This differentiates us and really lets our guests relax and feel the spirit of Port Douglas.
As you point out, the feel and quality of the hotel is generally well appreciated by guests and reviews on this site. We appreciate all of our guests comments and can't help the terminology they use - even when its positive and great!
We continually upgrade, renovate and keep everything spotlessly clean and contemporary. We encourage future guests to visit our website, view the pictures and see that our Hotel is "tropical beach classy" - and this is on purpose. With that said, your recommendation that guests do still stay with us affirms you did enjoy your stay and the location, staff, pool area, laundries, breakfast etc was enjoyed and complimented on which we appreciate.
Thanks so much MaxwellSmart86 - we do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Before any report about the hotel , the major mistake we made when deciding to go to Port Douglas was to fail to recognise the importance of the time of the year and climate.
We visited Port Douglas in January 2013 not realising that the north of Queensland is sub-tropical and a rain forest area. At that time of year , it is hot and very humid. We were there for one week and were extremely lucky to pick a week when we had one evening and one morning of light rain. There rest of the time was very warm , sunny but very humid. If we went again , we would go in their winter time from May to October.

See attached website http://www.portdouglas.com/port-douglas-weather.html

The Peninsula Boutique hotel is a delightfully small but superbly situated hotel very close to the centre of Port Douglas.
At the booking stage , we asked for a “quiet , top floor suite with a sea view” and that is exactly what we got. When we arrived at the hotel , we found within the first couple of days that the hotel staff and management are extremely quick to react to complaints and comments from guests and in that respect , the hotel has to be awarded top marks.
We had a chicken wrap for our first lunch there which contained a ring of thick plastic and , having complained , there was no question from the polite young waiter , Alex , who whisked the plate away , replaced the offending wrap with a fresh one and did not charge us for the item.
An evening meal on that same day was treated in similar fashion. A chosen meal of lamb cooked with pea/mint topping , sweet peppers and fried potatoes was served with the meat and potatoes hot but peppers and the topping cold. The resulting complaint about food temperature was received with an immediate question of a replacement dish or something else and a replacement dish arrived in due course. Unfortunately , the lamb in the replacement dish was pretty awful and the complaint about that resulted in no charge for the meal.
A customer cannot complain about a hotel’s customer service under those circumstances ! He may complain about the inherent standard of the cooking but that is another matter ; one then has to decide whether you eat at another restaurant.
Having said that , we ate breakfast there every day and it was plentiful , varied and excellent. It was a hot buffet breakfast including fresh fruits , yoghurts, fruit juices etc etc. If you did not like the poached eggs that were served , you could ask for fried or an omelette. Top marks there ! It was also extremely pleasant to eat breakfast outdoors beside the swimming pool !

Our suite was spacious and very well appointed. Again , the reader should refer to the hotel website for full details but the kitchenette seemed to be a much newer vintage than the rest of the hotel and the range of kitchenware was superb.
We did have problems with one of the doors of the wardrobe as it would only open half-way because of an interfering air conditioning unit on an adjacent wall , a loose toilet seat and a faulty light switch. When we complained to Sheryn (management) about these items the following day , she was very quick to offer a change of room , particularly on account of the wardrobe door. We decided to stay where we were so we declined her offer and the other two items were corrected that day , the toilet seat having been repaired before we even got back to the room !
However , a major problem (for us) was encountered that same evening as we started to prepare to cook our meal ! ..... one of the two electric cooker rings (the modern ultra-fast electric variety) would not work ! Phil (management) was up within minutes but there was nothing he could do about it. We said that we could not now accept the room with this major problem as we would be cooking on 3 or 4 occasions during our stay. With typical speed of reaction to which we had now become accustomed , we were moved to the vacant apartment underneath within about 20 minutes .... which had none of the faults so far encountered ! ...... and the room had an even nicer view of the beautiful blue Coral Sea across the road and through the palm trees opposite us !

There were a number of very nice touches to enhance our stay there. We were given a 50AUD voucher for a meal in the hotel which accounted for the bulk of the cost of a meal for the two of us and we were also given 2 hours free use of the internet.

A thoroughly nice stay , lovely amenities , super location within a few minutes walk of the centre of Port Douglas and attentive , pleasant and efficient staff.
Maybe the restaurant food preparation , quality and presentation needs some more attention. We also found that there was lack of alternative choice on the one night of the week that they held their ‘Curry night’. There were 3 alternative dishes if you did not fancy trying their curry ..... but one of the 3 alternatives was a curry !

The reader should refer to the hotel website for their details of the amenities
http://www.peninsulahotel.com.au

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear TJDSwansea,
We really appreciate all reviews and your certainly is thorough and honest - just the way we like it!
There is certainly a lot of information contained and would love just to address a few very briefly:
1) Yes - Port Douglas is a tropical location - we agree January can be warm and humid but its also the time of year that we get the impressive thunderstorms, there is no waiting in queues for tours / restaurants etc and the monsoonal downpour are amazing to experience (particularly with a cocktail or cold beer in hand!)
2) So pleased to hear the restaurant and hotel staff corrected anything that was highlighted - we rely on all of our guests to let us know if something isnt right and we can fix it immediately! Our full time maintenance team are ready to go!
3) The alternative menu actually has ten dishes on it and yes - one is a curry. This is more for single guests who dont want the full 2 tiered tower of 3 curries and all the trimmings/extras but who still wish to enjoy Curry Night on Wednesday like all other people. We are generally commented positively regarding Hi Tide Restaurant - we are so proud of the cuisine and staff here - very sorry if we let you down.
3) Throughout your review, I am so proud to read that all of our team were quick and responsive.

Over all it is a lovely review - thank you. We will certainly pour over what we can to see if we can improve anywhere and thank you so much for your review - it is sincerely appreciated!

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the peninsula for the first part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi and were overlooking the pool. The staff couldn't have been friendlier showing us round on arrival and booking trips for us. We were in a pool view suite, which was generously sized with everything you could need. This is a really peaceful hotel, perfect for drinks on other balcony. The breakfast buffet had plenty of hot and cold options. The hotel is s stones throw from the beach and at the end of the main street, so its ideally located for trips to the barrier reef, pottering around town and visiting the beach. Great start to the honeymoon!

Room Tip: We had a pool view suite with a jacuzzi, I'd totally recommend the jacuzzi. Also ours was sz cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear fionademp,
We find not only our our Suites that overlook the ocean are popular but also our lovely Poolview Suites..... we dont actually have a single room in the Hotel that doesn't have a beautiful view. The Poolview Suites look out over the multillevelled pool, spa and hot Jacuzzi and up to the beautiful tree lined Flagstaff Hill. Another advantage is not only easy access to the pools from these rooms but also protection from the sometimes overzealous sea breeze and warming afternoon sun to bathe in! So pleased you enjoyed it so much and congratulations on your recent Wedding! Perhaps we can spoil you for your first wedding anniversary.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4½ star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy…All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings.The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 15 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.