We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good but expensive hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very good but expensive hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Pennisular boutique hotel.
It is perfectly located for Macrossan street and overlooks the beautiful white-sand four mile beach.
We had a very comfortable cleverly designed room overlooking the beach. The sleeping area had sliding doors that shut off the area from the rest of the room. There was a nice terrace which although had table and chairs could have benefited from loungers. This especially so as there was very restricted sitting areas by the small pool. The room had a fully equipped kitchenette and the staff encouraged one to stock this with one's own drinks and food which we found refreshing.
There is a guest laundry where one can do one's own laundry free of charge which we found most useful.
Our one disappointment was the pool area. The surroundings were concrete which made it look very characterless and severe. Moreover it was unbearably hot, making it impossible to sit outside for any length of time.
There were no comfortable public rooms where one could sit and relax and the dining room was very small. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant 'High Tide' twice which was excellent. The food was superb although the service was a little slow.
The included breakfast was of a very high standard.
The service was extremely friendly and efficient and Amanda and her charming young assistant could not do enough for us.
Whilst we loved the hotel and service and would thoroughly recommend it, we did not quite feel it justified the high room cost.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear DJFLondon,
So pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff and cuisine were highlighted in your stay.
Our pool area has lots of shady places including a spa grotto - perfect to unwind. Combined with the tropical gardens and 2 levels of sunlounges and umbrellas, you certainly can find somewhere to relax in the shade or bask in the sun. We note that you did stay in December which can experience some warm days - just the way we like it in the tropics! We welcome all guests to look through the photo gallery on our website to see the layout and private areas around the pools and spas.
Many guests are pleasantly surprised by the discreet kitchenette in the suites (as this isn't normally found in Hotel Suites) - everything you need to self cater or have a simple meal is provided including full size fridge, all the pots/pans, utensils, microwave, 2 hotplates etc. Although not all guests take advantage of this, it is nice to have the option if you wanted to.
We will certainly try and derive anything we can improve on out of your review and sincerely thank you for your time to sit and reflect on your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    128
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
30
508
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for a week and booked because of the reviews on trip advisor. Nice little hotel but I would say at least $100 over priced a night. We stayed in a spa suite on the ground floor and next to the restaurant. Not the best of positions. Staff were friendly enough but the room, whilst comfortable was a bit dated and not very private. Like many who comment on here we travel a fair bit and I have given the rating as average based on my own experiences of hotel accommodation both in Australia and abroad. Would I stay here again? Probably not, because I think it is poor value for money not because the hotel is 'bad'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Hoathie,
We are pleased to read that you did generally enjoy your stay with us but are disappointed that you didn't thoroughly love it.
The room you refer to is often requested due to its easy access to the beach, restaurant / bar facilities and of course, the beautiful double spa. I sincerely hope that you gave us a chance to move you if you preferred a different room - our mission is always to make sure you have a spoilt and happy holiday!
As highlighted in an earlier response, I do hope that you got to enjoy all the inclusions that come with your stay and, when combined, generally thought of as excellent value for money. We are not aware of any hotel that includes so many complimentary aspects - we simply sat down as a team and tried to think of every little thing that we ourselves would love to be treated to when on holidays (without always paying extra for everything).
I do hope you stay with us again and let us spoil you with everything we have to offer.

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Loved our stay here and will stay again. Great position, helpful staff, loved the pool area and breakfast was great. Not the cheapest hotel but would not want to be elsewhere, just didn't have enough time to experience all on offer.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with ocean view and verandah with garden area in front, just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear kerenandwayne,
Thank you for all the nice comments and yes - you need at least a week here in Port Douglas to see and do all the adventures - the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda etc etc.... and this is without your well-deserved relax holiday time!
Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Dear All,
I am aware there must be balance with these reviews however my wife and I stayed 5 nights at this property and we could not fault it at all. Rooms were fabulous, food excellent and finally the service was tailored to our needs. ........ And location opposite beach.
We both witnessed the manager of the hotel deal with a difficult personal issue involving a guest and the sensitivity and professionalism shone through the interaction.
These people are brilliant in everyway and will go out of their way to meet your needs.
Please take it from us, this place is ideal for singles and couples. Kids under 16 years are not permitted with the current model set up for this property.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room so had lots of light however a beach side view is also nice but you pay a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Pettswood,
Wow - we are humbled by your title and remarks in your review. Whilst I am sure we are far from perfect (but thank you!), we are proud of the experience we can supply that other large chain hotels and resort cannot. Being a Boutique Hotel, we can personally tailor the holidays of all of our guests but can also give privacy and peace. We get to know the names and preferences of all of our guests - it is your holiday after all and our job is to make sure it is special!
Thank you so much - we are flattered and hopefully we will get a chance to spoil you again one day.

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

By all means stay at the Peninsula. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. The property is quaint and well located. Just don't expect the decor to be new as things are a bit worn and you won't be disappointed. This is the only reason for not giving it a higher rating as it is quite noticeable. The rooms have air-con, but if you prefer a natural breeze you will want an ocean side room as this is the direction the air will flow from. The pool side rooms are nice too, they just don't have the good breeze. Sailed on the Aquarias to Low Isles...classy boat, large catamaran with small amount of people. Excellent coral reef, better than expected guided by the captan/marine biologist.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Explore2262,
Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed sailing the Great Barrier Reef - a truely amazing experience!
A little surprised by your comments regarding decor - we are constantly renovating and keeping up with modern decor ideas - we do however find it difficult at times to supply a relaxing, casual beachside feel whilst not making our rooms feel sterile, dull and corporate. It is a fine balance!
All of the beds, runners, art, cushions, fixtures, tapware, sunlounges, umbrellas, decks and TVs have been replaced in the last 18 months to keep us fresh, new and contemporary. We will however, endeavour to explore any other areas that may need attention and upgrade as needed.
Many thanks again Explore2262 and we hope to welcome you again soon!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Helpful and thoughtful staff, a well appointed hotel with beautiful pool area and magnificent beach across the road. Food was excellent and happy hour cocktails a marvellous institution. A thoroughly delightful experience.

Room Tip: The pool view suite is very handy for the pool and jacuzzi and watching the parakeets in the palms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Roy S,
Such a lovely review! As a hotel, we couldnt be happier that we helped contibute to your enjoyable stay in Port Douglas. Yes - the $10 Cocktails during Happy Hour at Hi Tide Bar are well received as a great way to start your evening!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A superb location to view the total eclipse of the sun. Hotel was excellent all round, room overlooking 4 Mile Beach, great pool, superb food. Buffet breakfast by the pool and also in the restaurant. Staff most helpful. Not the cheapest hotel in Port Douglas but certainly value for money.

Room Tip: It costs a bit extra for a ocean view room but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mardenman,
What a spoil to join us for the spectacular Total Solar Eclipse and to stay with us as the only hotel that had full view of the amazing phenomenon! Your lovely comments regarding the pools, food, breakfast and staff are so pleasing to read.
Thank you also for your value for money note - as we include so many services and things as part of your stay, we believe that we offer great value for money in a great location with a team that we are exceptionally proud of.
We do hope you get to visit us again

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#1 of 45 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy...All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and EasyToBook so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.