We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Loved our stay here and will stay again. Great position, helpful staff, loved the pool area and breakfast was great. Not the cheapest hotel but would not want to be elsewhere, just didn't have enough time to experience all on offer.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with ocean view and verandah with garden area in front, just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear kerenandwayne,
Thank you for all the nice comments and yes - you need at least a week here in Port Douglas to see and do all the adventures - the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda etc etc.... and this is without your well-deserved relax holiday time!
Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    108
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
448
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Dear All,
I am aware there must be balance with these reviews however my wife and I stayed 5 nights at this property and we could not fault it at all. Rooms were fabulous, food excellent and finally the service was tailored to our needs. ........ And location opposite beach.
We both witnessed the manager of the hotel deal with a difficult personal issue involving a guest and the sensitivity and professionalism shone through the interaction.
These people are brilliant in everyway and will go out of their way to meet your needs.
Please take it from us, this place is ideal for singles and couples. Kids under 16 years are not permitted with the current model set up for this property.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room so had lots of light however a beach side view is also nice but you pay a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Pettswood,
Wow - we are humbled by your title and remarks in your review. Whilst I am sure we are far from perfect (but thank you!), we are proud of the experience we can supply that other large chain hotels and resort cannot. Being a Boutique Hotel, we can personally tailor the holidays of all of our guests but can also give privacy and peace. We get to know the names and preferences of all of our guests - it is your holiday after all and our job is to make sure it is special!
Thank you so much - we are flattered and hopefully we will get a chance to spoil you again one day.

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

By all means stay at the Peninsula. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. The property is quaint and well located. Just don't expect the decor to be new as things are a bit worn and you won't be disappointed. This is the only reason for not giving it a higher rating as it is quite noticeable. The rooms have air-con, but if you prefer a natural breeze you will want an ocean side room as this is the direction the air will flow from. The pool side rooms are nice too, they just don't have the good breeze. Sailed on the Aquarias to Low Isles...classy boat, large catamaran with small amount of people. Excellent coral reef, better than expected guided by the captan/marine biologist.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Explore2262,
Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed sailing the Great Barrier Reef - a truely amazing experience!
A little surprised by your comments regarding decor - we are constantly renovating and keeping up with modern decor ideas - we do however find it difficult at times to supply a relaxing, casual beachside feel whilst not making our rooms feel sterile, dull and corporate. It is a fine balance!
All of the beds, runners, art, cushions, fixtures, tapware, sunlounges, umbrellas, decks and TVs have been replaced in the last 18 months to keep us fresh, new and contemporary. We will however, endeavour to explore any other areas that may need attention and upgrade as needed.
Many thanks again Explore2262 and we hope to welcome you again soon!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Helpful and thoughtful staff, a well appointed hotel with beautiful pool area and magnificent beach across the road. Food was excellent and happy hour cocktails a marvellous institution. A thoroughly delightful experience.

Room Tip: The pool view suite is very handy for the pool and jacuzzi and watching the parakeets in the palms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Roy S,
Such a lovely review! As a hotel, we couldnt be happier that we helped contibute to your enjoyable stay in Port Douglas. Yes - the $10 Cocktails during Happy Hour at Hi Tide Bar are well received as a great way to start your evening!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A superb location to view the total eclipse of the sun. Hotel was excellent all round, room overlooking 4 Mile Beach, great pool, superb food. Buffet breakfast by the pool and also in the restaurant. Staff most helpful. Not the cheapest hotel in Port Douglas but certainly value for money.

Room Tip: It costs a bit extra for a ocean view room but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mardenman,
What a spoil to join us for the spectacular Total Solar Eclipse and to stay with us as the only hotel that had full view of the amazing phenomenon! Your lovely comments regarding the pools, food, breakfast and staff are so pleasing to read.
Thank you also for your value for money note - as we include so many services and things as part of your stay, we believe that we offer great value for money in a great location with a team that we are exceptionally proud of.
We do hope you get to visit us again

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This gen of hotel is perfectly situated at the corener of 4 miles beach and the main town street. On one hand we had ocean view from our suite, with the lovely sandy beach within steps from our porch, and on the other stroll to the main town attractions. Our room was lovely and comfrotable, the staff was extremely helpful and effective, the restauramt was tasty and romantic, the pool - though small - was intricate, well designed and great fun. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ocean view on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Rony R,
So pleased you "loved it" and enjoyed both the location of the Hotel, the cuisine in Hi Tide Restaurant, the friendly staff and of course, our famnous Four Mile Beach.

Your tip regarding ground floor rooms is often commented on - simply wander from your room and have your toes in the azure waters of the Coral Sea in just a few steps - so relaxing and spoiling for your holidays!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is located in a superb position. 4 mile beach is beautiful and on your doorstep and the town is just a few blocks away. The staff are all friendly and helpful and do give very good service. We didn't have the best of starts, unforutnatley due to our aircraft getting a technical issue into Cairns our flight was delayed by 4 hours. We didn;t get to the hotel until after reception had closed (not a problem as management had left details and even a snack which was thoughtful). When we woke up in the morning we didn't have an ocean view, it was a view of 2 camper vans. I asked management if we could check out and find another property and initially the guy at the front desk said I'd have to pay my entire stay of 5 nights. He suggested I should have got an earlier flight 'There are 50 flights a day into Cairns, why didn't you get an earlier one that arrived when it was light'.
Customer service!
Anyhow the lady boss came out and showed us a room on the first floor and said of we wanted to check out early there would 'only' be an additional penality of $400! The room was above the height of camper vans and since we didn;t want to throw money down the drain we moved rooms. Therefore my review is tarnished a little by this first introduction to the hotel. As management told me, it is a boutique hotel (what does that mean?) and I must not expect corporate ways of working. There, that put me in my place!
Constructively the hotel has a nice pool area, very pretty but very small deck space which doesn;t matter if everyone is out and about which seemed to be the case. Breakfast is 'ok' nothing to write home about......
....becuase my biggest gripe is the cost. If I'm paying the best part of $400 a night (more than the Shangri La in Sydney!) then I would have expected a bit more for my buck.
Would I ever come back to Port Douglas? YES. Would I come back to this hotel? No.... would shop around more before signing up and be aware that if you don;t like the hotel you will be financially penalised although this seems to be a typical condition from hotels here.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the ground floor if you have booked an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear keith Y,
A mixed review but firstly we would love to thank you for your honesty and time it took for you to review us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary dinner platter as you joined us late in the evening - we do this as we get concerned that guests may not have had a chance to have dinner before joining us late in the evening.
A quick clarification regarding your stay - it seemed that you were unhappy in the original room and so we offered you an alternate room which should have alleviated any wish to relocate. We reserve the room for you upon booking and deny any other guests from booking it to hold it for you. Frequent travellers are aware of cancellation fees for this reason - it is not a "condition of hotels here " - it is actually a standard world wide practice. Many guests request the ground floor rooms - no lift or stairs to worry about - go straight from your room to the sands in 50 steps.
It is also unusual to compare us to the Shangri La ... I would be confident that they didn't pick you up from the airport for free (a two hour return trip), include full hot buffet breakfast complimentary each morning, have fresh flowers in your room, personal tour of the Hotel on check in, plunger coffee with fresh milk, free WIFI, a double plunge bath or a self contained kitchenette in your room amongst other inclusions? Comparison can only be made with similar service hotels and we are two totally different products with different offerings. We are often complimented on this site for our great value for money with all the additional inclusions in mind.

We do sincerely hope that you enjoyed all the other parts of your stay with us and that you visited the beautiful Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest whilst you were here.

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4½ star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy…All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings.The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 15 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.