We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mojitos Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Mojitos Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved the Peninsula and Port Douglas. The staff are outstanding (especially Brigitte) and the hotel is magnificently positioned opposite the beach with an easy stroll into town. The Peninsula is is quiet, private and well appointed. We had an ocean view room on the ground floor which was just perfect for relaxing. Beautiful big bath and extra special touches such as plunger coffee and boutique tea not to mention the invigorating mojitos during happy hour! Great place to share with a group. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Cavacava83,

So pleased you enjoyed the little extras we provide and got to enjoy our peaceful yet central location in Port Douglas. One aspect we are proud of is our close proximity to both the beach / water and central town. It is great to see guests being able to wander easily to both without the need to catch the local shuttle bus as many Accommodation properties need to utilize.
A delicious Mojito is always a welcome treat in the Tropics!
Thanks again for staying with us!
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    115
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
482
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Port Douglas is really special however there are notably few places to stay with a really ideal location in relation to the beach and town. Th ePeninsula ticks all the boxes and the staff make the place extra lovely. They are SO nice its almost odd. My only niggle would be that the pool never stops making its waterfall sound. The waterfall is charming in many ways but not ultimately relaxing to sunbath next to. Fortunately there is beach with lifeguards just seconds away. If we ever return to PD, we'll definitely go back to The Peninsula.

Room Tip: beachside, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear TJM03,
There is possibly not a nicer way to drift to sleep or wake up than to hear the gentle sounds of the waves on the sand and feel and smell the ocean sea breeze. As we are the only Hotel based on the water here in Port Douglas, mother nature supplies all this even before we get to spoil you on holidays!
The spectacular Infinity edge fountain only operates during the day from 9am till 5pm - but of course as you point out, you have the option to choose the many levels around the pools/spa or heated jacuzzi or the white sands of Four Mile Beach which we are located on.
I take the point regarding our very friendly staff as a compliment! So pleasing to read.
Thanks so much for your stay and hope yo see you again.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a five night stay with my parents. It was booked on recommendation and it certainly did not disappoint.
The rooms/suites were well proportioned, spacious and spotlessly clean and there were lovely touches such as a selection of teas and fresh coffee. The bathroom was also great, with a lovely big bath (which I always like in a hotel room) and a good shower.
The breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of different foods to suit every taste, but everything was delicious. Continuing on the food theme, the restaurant was small and friendly with wonderful food and very knowledgable bar staff.
The Peninsula is wonderfully situated right on the beach (which was nice despite the horrible weather) and a short walk to the main street with shops, restaurants etc.
Despite all of these good things, the hotel's main asset is its staff, all of whom are friendly, knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble for them. They helped us arrange all our trips and somehow even managed to make the weather improve for us! Well, maybe not that last one.
All in all, a wonderful hotel, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here and hope to return one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible- the breezes are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Laura3232,
What a complimentary review - thank you so much for all the kind words.
You have summarized all the positive things that we try and achieve as a team here at the Peninsula and we are thrilled to read (with some humour) that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We certainly hope that you do return one day - please call us directly so we can throw some more spoils and surprises in for you!
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We specifically requested this hotel on a recommendation and weren't disappointed. They seem to have thought of everything, beautifully appointed, large rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, excellent and reasonably priced restaurant, and a great location. Even left a complimentary bottle of bubbly in our room to help celebrate my wife's birthday and set a special table on the deck so we could enjoy a quiet dinner overlooking the ocean.
A perfect end to our stay "down under".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear JNBils,
One thing all of our team never underestimates are special occasions and understand the planning that you have already done to travel and visit us here in Tropical North Queensland. From time off work, to flights, tours, airports and all associated costs of going on a holiday, the least we can do is our bit to make your stay special.
We are so pleased we could spoil your wife with some bubbly and a romantic and quiet table on the deck of Hi tide Restaurant - hopefully adding to your memories of a peaceful and relaxing stay with us.
So, thank you for choosing Port Douglas as part of your getaway and I hope our little extras made all your effort and organization worthwhile.
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I take pleasure in writing this review. We had our wedding here on Saturday the 7th April. From the time that we booked the restaurant for our reception until the final guest left we were treated like royalty. Our guests did nothing but rave about the location, food and the staff. The 3 course meal along with canapes we had was amazing. I would also like to take the time to compliment Jeremy and Krystal who looked after us with the professionalism that was enjoyed by everyone. Again thank you to all your staff who were fantastic. We would recommend this establishment ( oh and the cocktails) to everyone .......... Craig and Madonna

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Madonna D,
Not only is Port Douglas the most idyllic place to say "I do" (and have the swaying tropical coconut trees and white sandy beach photos - magical), we have the expertise to organize your special day from the very start. We can personally tailor the wedding and reception of your dreams and work very closely with you to ensure everything is exactly as you want it. We are a proud member of the "Port Douglas Wedding Professionals" a collection of the best providers who can take care of all your wedding needs - everything from horse-drawn carriages to florists to photographers.
Your wedding was certainly a pleasure to cater for on Four Mile Beach and your Reception hosted in our Hi Tide Restaurant . We have passed on your glowing feedback to Jeremy, Krystal and all the passionate restaurant Chefs and Waitstaff. We love to be involved in the planning and hosting of your wedding - we are proud of the area and that we can exclusively set aside the only restaurant in Port Douglas that gets that gentle sea breezes just for you and your guests.
Thanks again Madonna D for trusting your special day with us and congratulations again!
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Peninsula was a great place to stay in Port Douglas. Great location, great food, and a very helpful staff. The rooms were clean an comfortable, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Jon_Spartan,
You have briefly touched an all the elements that need to come together to ensure that guests have a wonderful stay with us - and it sounds by your feedback that we have achieved it with your stay.
Thank you for your feedback - it is pleasing to read we helped you enjoy your stay in Tropical North Queensland.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Peninsular Hotel really was a great find. We felt very pampered with the extra touches in the apartments especially the real coffee and nice furnishings. The breakfasts were the best we have had at a hotel, loved the tropical fruits and the hot food was nice and hot. The restaurant food and service was excellent and a lovely place for a morning coffee overlooking the beach. The location is one of the best in Port Douglas overlooking the beach and at the end of the main street. The staff are friendly and helpful and our hosts Phil & Sheryn went out of their way to make sure we didn't miss our flight due to road closures. If you want to stay somewere you are just not a number, then we would definately recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear MelP10,
Thank you for noticing some of the choices we like to provide to give all our guests the most options to suit their preferences. One of these is the supply of both Bodum plunger with high quality ground coffee as well as the standard instant coffee. Fresh cartons of milk are refreshed daily during your full room servicing and so too are the 7 varieties of both black and herbals teas. Combined with this, we supply both mugs and cups/saucers so you can choose your personal perfect mix of all of these for the perfect tea and coffee. It is your holiday after all!
Just to spoil the guests in our Peninsula & Coral Spa Suites just that little more, we offer them their very own Espresso Machine with easy to use Lavazza pods with 3 types of delicious coffees to choose from - all compliments of the Hotel.
So, with all this in mind and the other lovely compliments you outline in your review, we thank you for your recommendation and pleased you felt so pampered during your stay!
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4½ star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy…All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings.The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 15 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.